Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 10 (10 total).

Baltimore City Health Department

Annotation: The Baltimore City Health Department advocates, leads, and provides services of the highest quality in order to promote and protect the health of the residents of all ages of Baltimore. Services areas include sexually transmitted infections, HIV/AIDS, Substance abuse, mental health and violence, acute and communicable diseases, chronic diseases as well as animals, bio-terrorism and natural disasters in businesses, homes, and neighborhoods.

Keywords: Health agencies, Local MCH programs, Local government, Maryland

DC Health Resources Partnership (DCHRP)

Annotation: The DC Health Resources Partnership (DCHRP) seeks to expand the community health care capacity for individuals with intellectual and other developmental disabilities in Washington, DC. Funded by the D.C. Mental Retardatrion and Developmental Disabilities Administration, the partnership is a collaboration between a number of community partners, including Georgetown University's Department of Family Medicine, DC Area Health Education Center, Inc., George Washington University Medical Center, D.C. Primary Care Association, Project Action, DC State Policy Council on Family Supports, the Arc of DC, the Quality Trust for Individuals with Disabilities, and the DC Coalition of Service Providers. The partnership, which is administered through GU's Center for Child and Human Development, convenes expert panels (these groups meet four times annually), provides an online database of Washington-area providers, and posts information and publications for consumers and professionals on its Web site.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Regional programs, Collaboration, Community programs, Health care systems, Local government, Online databases, Special health care services

National Association of Local Boards of Health (NALBOH)

Annotation: The National Association of Local Boards of Health (NALBOH) informs, guides, and serves as the national voice for boards of health. NALBOH delivers technical expertise in governance and leadership, board development, health priorities, and public health policy. The website contains governance, accreditation, and partner resources; news; information about NALBOH membership and NALBOH's annual conference; and webinar recordings.

Keywords: Accreditation, Governing boards, Government programs, Government role, Health policy, Local government, Policy development

National League of Cities (NLC)

Annotation: The National League of Cities (NLC) is an association of U.S. municipalities and state leagues of municipalities whose mission is to strengthen and promote cities as centers of opportunity, leadership, and governance. It represents local governments to Congress and federal agencies, develops national municipal policy, sponsors conferences, conducts research and analysis on topics important to cities, and provides training, technical assistance, and information for elected and appointed local government officials. The Children and Families in Cities Project helps city officials to act on behalf of at-risk children and their families by providing direct technical assistance, research and policy analysis, and community support. Publications include a newspaper, Nation's Cities Weekly, and a catalog. Information services are available to member cities through the league's Municipal Reference Service. The organization also sponsors training seminars and conferences.

Keywords: Local government, Policy, Technical assistance, Urban population

New York City Human Resources Administration

Annotation: The New York City Human Resources Administration/ Department of Social Services (HRA/DSS) provides temporary help to individuals and families with social service and economic needs to assist them in reaching self-sufficiency. HRA serves more than 3 million New Yorkers through essential and diverse programs and services that include: temporary cash assistance, public health insurance, food stamps, home care for seniors and the disabled, child care, adult protective services, domestic violence, HIV/AIDS support services and child support enforcement.

Keywords: Health insurance, Local government, Low income groups, New York

Oklahoma City-County Health Department

Profile-IQ

Resource Center for Evidence-Based Prevention and Cross-Sector Approaches

Annotation: The Resource Center for Evidence-Based Prevention and Cross-Sector Approaches offers local health departments guidance for integrating the National Prevention Strategy, Healthy People 2020, The Community Guide, the National Association of County and City Health Officials' Health in All Policies Toolbox, and Community Health Improvement Planning into a uniform approach for achieving health and wellness in the jurisdictions they serve. Topics include evidence-based strategies; cross-sector collaboration; and planning, assessment, and evaluation. The site links to NACCHO's technical assistance site for each program.

Keywords: Resource centers, Collaboration, Community based programs, Healthy People 2020, Local government, Needs assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning

Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs

Annotation: The Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs initiative uses a consortium-based approach to provide technical assistance, expert consultation, training, and resources to assist state and jurisdictions develop evidence based-/informed programs to support women, children, families, and communities. Evidence topics include (1) well-woman visit; (2) low-risk cesarean; (3) perinatal regionalization; (4) breastfeeding; (5) safe sleep; (6) developmental screening; (7) child safety/injury; (8) physical activity; (9) bullying; (10) adolescent well-visit; (11) medical home; (12) transition; (13) oral health; (14) smoking; (15) insurance coverage.

Keywords: Resource centers, Collaboration, Community based programs, Evidence based health care, Healthy People 2020, Local government, Model programs, Needs assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, State government

United States Conference of Mayors (USCM)

Annotation: The United States Conference of Mayors (USCM) is the official nonpartisan organization of cities with populations of 30,000 or more. The primary roles of The U.S. Conference of Mayors are to: promote the development of effective national urban/suburban policy; strengthen federal-city relationships; ensure that federal policy meets urban needs; provide mayors with leadership and management tools; and create a forum in which mayors can share ideas and information. It has programs on numerous health, environment, and other topics focused on the well-being of city residents. It provides publications, videos, a best practices database, and other resources.

Keywords: Community programs, I Model programs, Local government, Policies, Urban population

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.