Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 5 (5 total).

Center for Healthy Families and Cultural Diversity (CHFCD )

Annotation: The Center for Healthy Families and Cultural Diversity (CHFCD) is dedicated to leadership, advocacy, and excellence in promoting culturally-responsive, quality health care for diverse populations. The center has evolved from a program focused primarily on multicultural education and training for health professionals, to an expanded and growing resource for technical assistance, consultation, and research/evaluation services. CHFCD sponsors conferences and disseminates information through publications, Web sites, videos, and CD-ROMs, and more than 200 presentations have been given on the subject of culturally and linguistically appropriate services delivery.

Keywords: Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, Health education, Health promotion, Linguistic competence, Service delivery, Technical assistance, Training

CLAS Institute (CLAS)

Annotation: The CLAS Institute identifies, evaluates, and promotes effective and appropriate early intervention and preschool practices that are sensitive and respectful to children and families from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds. The Web site includes a searchable database of culturally and linguistically appropriate materials produced by child education and multicultural experts for use by early childhood/special education practitioners and administrators. The Institute reviews and acquires materals from various national, regional, state and local organizations, grant-funded projects, national, state and local programs, and publishers. The Web site is maintained by the Early Childhood and Parenting Collaborative at the University of Illinois.

Keywords: Cultural competence, Early childhood education, Linguistic competence, Spanish language materials

Diversity Rx

Annotation: The Diversity Rx Web site serves as a clearinghouse of information on model programs, policies, and legal issues related to cross cultural health, in collaboration with the National Conference of State Legislatures, Resources for Cross Cultural Health Care, and the Kaiser Family Foundation. Diversity Rx sponsors conferences, produces reports, and hosts an email discussion group for those interested in cross-cultural healthcare news.

Keywords: Languages, Cultural competence, Clearinghouses. , Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Health education, Linguistic competence, Model programs, Program development, Technical assistance, Training

National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC)

Annotation: The purpose of the National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) is to increase the capacity of health and mental health programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems. The Center provides technical assistance and consultation, networking opportunities, and information for health professionals and policymakers about designing, implementing, and evaluating culturally competent health services, including services for children with special health care needs and their families. Resources and publications include policy briefs, checklists, self assessments, promising practices, distance learning, and conference information. The center's Web site includes a Spanish language portal for families.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Guidelines, Infant care, Information networks, Information sources, Linguistic competence, National MCH resource center, Networking, Program development, Program evaluation, Publications, Resource centers, SIDS, Spanish language materials, Title V programs, Training

National Center on Cultural and Linguistic Responsiveness (NCCLR)

Annotation: The National Center on Cultural and Linguistic Responsiveness provides the Head Start community with research-based information, practices, and strategies to ensure optimal academic and social progress for linguistically and culturally diverse children and their families. The Center provides culturally responsive, user-friendly materials and training for staff and families to use to promote strong language and literacy skills in children’s home language and in English.

Keywords: Cultural competence, Early childhood education, Head Start, Linguistic competence

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.