Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 12 (12 total).

American Indian Library Association (AILA)

Annotation: The American Indian Library Association (AILA) is a membership group that addresses the library-related needs of American Indians and Alaskan Natives. AILA was founded in 1979 in conjunction with the White House pre-conference on Indian library and information services on or near reservations. In 1985, AILA became an affiliate of the American Library Association. The assoiation publishes a newsletter, hosts a listservice, and sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Associations, American Indians, Information services, Libraries, Library services

American Library Association (ALA)

Annotation: The American Library Association (ALA) promotes public access to information and provides leadership for the development, promotion, and improvement of library and information services and the profession of librarianship as a whole. ALA provides a variety of resources, educational opportunities, and awards for distinguished service in the field, and advocates for the development of library programs and services that support continuous learning. ALA sponsors online discussion lists, maintains an online store, and publishes a variety of newsletters, journals, and magazines (most of which are available electronically). Membership is open to any person, library, or other organization interested in library service and librarianship.

Keywords: Libraries, Advocacy, Associations, Information services, Librarians, Library services, Professional education

Asian / Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA)

Annotation: The Asian / Pacific Librarians Association (APALA) was incorporated in Illinois in 1981 and formally affiliated with the American Library Association (ALA) in 1982. APALA works to address the needs of Asian / Pacific American librarians and those who serve Asian / Pacific American communities. The association provides a forum for discussing problems and exchanging idea among APA and other librarians; supports and encourages library services to APA communities; recruits and mentors APA librarians in the library/information science professions; and fosters cooperation between APA librarians and other organizations having similar or allied interests. APALA also seeks funding for scholarships in library/information science masters programs.

Keywords: Librarians, Asian Americans, Associations, Library services, Mentors, Pacific Americans, Professional societies, Recuitment

Black Caucus of the American Library Association (BCALA)

Brigham and Women's Hospital

Annotation: Brigham and Women's Hospital (BWH) is a teaching hospital of the Harvard Medical School providing patient care, medical education, and research. The hospital maintains the BWH Health and Education Library which provides access to 400 medical eBooks through the netLibrary; provides online access to pamphlets on over 100 health topics published by BWH; and staffs a reference/referral service. The hospital Web site provides electronic access to Health Topics A-Z, covering topics such as aging and health, adolescent health, sports and fitness, mental health, men's health, and women's health.

Keywords: Hospital libraries, Library services, Education, Electronic publications, Hospitals, Libraries, Medical education, Medical research, Patient care, Patient education, Publications, Reference materials

First Nations Behavioral Health Association (FNBHA)

Annotation: First Nations Behavioral Health Association (FNBHA) was established to provide an organization for Native American indigenous people to advocate for the mental well being of native peoples by increasing the knowledge and awareness of issues impacting Native mental health. The purpose of FNBHA is to provide national leadership to all groups, institutions, and individuals that plan, provide, and access Native American behavioral health services. The association maintains an online resource library.

Keywords: Advocacy, American Indians, Health education, Library services, Mental health, Minority groups

Hardin Library for the Health Sciences

Annotation: The Hardin Library for the Health Sciences disseminates health sciences information to the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Iowa in support of education, research, and health care. The library serves the combined information and research needs of the University of Iowa Colleges of Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Public Health; the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (including related allied-health education programs); and the Department of Speech Pathology and Audiology. The Web site provides electronic access to dozens of biomedical and general databases.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Information services, Databases, Libraries, Library services

National Agricultural Library (NAL)

Annotation: The National Agricultural Library (NAL), created as the library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture in 1862 and designated a national library in 1962, works to increase the availability and use of current and accurate agricultural information among researchers, educators, policymakers, and consumers. Services include specialized information centers, a research collection, the AGRICOLA database, a food and nutrition information center, and publications.

Keywords: Agricultural safety, Libraries, Library services, Online Databases

National Institutes of Health Library

Annotation: The National Institutes of Health Library is an open stacks biomedical research library whose collection and services are developed to support programs of the National Institutes of Health. The library is open to the public on a self service basis; full service is available only to NIH personnel with a current library card. Services include an electronic and print journal and book collection, document delivery, instructional services, informationists or librarians-in-context,a fee-based consultation service, mediated online searching, and translations.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Library services

National Library of Medicine (NLM)

Annotation: The National Library of Medicine (NLM) collects and disseminates biomedical information and serves as a national resource for all U.S. health science libraries. In addition to its collection of journals, monographs, and audiovisual materials, the library has extensive information for scientists, health professionals, and the general public available through its Web site. Lending and other services are provided through the 5000-member National Network of Libraries of Medicine. Services provided to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. The library also publishes a newsletter and a catalog, and provides training materials on using its resources.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Libraries, Library services, Medical research, National Library of Medicine, Online databases, Online systems, Publications, Reference materials

REFORMA, the National Association to Provide Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish Speaking

Annotation: REFORMA was established as an affiliate of the American Library Association to promote the development of library collections to include Spanish-language and Latino oriented materials; the recruitment of more bilingual and bicultural library professionals and support staff; the development of library services and programs that meet the needs of the Latino community; the establishment of a national information and support network among individuals who share the same goals; the education of the U.S. Latino population in regards to the availability and types of library services; and lobbying efforts to preserve existing library resource centers serving the interests of Latinos.

Keywords: Cultural diversity, Associations, Libraries, Library collection development, Library services, Recruitment, Spanish language materials

Special Libraries Association

Annotation: The Special Libraries Association (SLA) represents the interests of information professionals in over eighty countries worldwide. SLA provides learning, advocacy, and networking initiatives for its members and promotes communication, collaboration, and partnership within the information industry. The association strives to strengthen the role of information leaders; shape effective information policy; and add qualitative and quantitative value to information producs and services. A variety of resources, including publications and online presentations, are available to members via the Web site.

Keywords: , Libraries, Advocacy, Associations, Information services, Librarians, Library services, Professional education

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.