Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: 9 to 5 is a nationwide membership association of women office workers established in 1973 that promotes fair pay, career advancement, safer office automation, parental leaves and pensions, job dignity, and other issues of importance to working women. The association currently has 25 chapters and sponsors a summer conference, workshops, and seminars. 9 to 5 operates a toll-free Job Problems Hotline, (800) 522-0925, and publishes a newsletter, 9 to 5 Newsline, five times a year.

Keywords: Ethical/Legal Issues, Ethics, Hotlines, Maternity leave, Working women

Annotation: ABC for Health (Advocacy and Benefits Counseling for Health) is a Wisconsin-based nonprofit public interest law firm dedicated to ensuring health care access for children and families, particularly those with special needs or who are at risk. ABC for Health's mission is to provide health care consumers with the information, advocacy tools, legal services, and expert support they need to navigate through America's health care financing system.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Health care financing, Legal issues, State organizations, Wisconsin

Annotation: The Center for Law and Education provides support services on education issues to advocates working on behalf of low-income students and parents. Its mission is to take a leadership role in improving the quality of public education for low-income students throughout the nation and to enable low-income communities to address their own public education problems effectively. Center activities include: advice and collaboration on cases, publications, training, litigation, and assisting parent and student involvement in education. Publications include a journal, and a quarterly newsletter that reports on legal developments in the field and several resources for special education advocates, such as Educational Rights of Children with Disabilities: A Primer for Advocates . A catalog is available. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages and other languages.

Keywords: Education, Legal issues, Low income groups

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Public Health Law Program (CDC PHLP) has these goals: to improve the understanding and use of law as a public health tool; to develop CDC’s capacity to apply law to achievement of its Health Protection Goals; and to develop the legal preparedness of the public health system to address all public health priorities. The program (1) develops practical, law-centered tools for practitioners and policy makers in all relevant sectors; (2) engages practitioners and policy makers in identifying priorities and in developing and applying legal tools; (3) addresses all four core elements of public health legal preparedness: laws and legal authorities; competencies; coordination across sectors and jurisdictions; and, scientific and best-practices information; (4) provides consultation to CDC programs and partners; and (5) establishes partnerships linking CDC and all partners active in public health law.

Keywords: Collaboration, Federal initiatives, Legal issues, Public health

Annotation: The Child Care Law Center (CCLC) is a national non-profit legal services organization that focuses exclusively on complex legal issues concerning the establishment and provision of child care services. The Center's primary objective is to use legal tools to foster the development of quality, affordable child care programs. CCLC combines expert legal services with policy development, advocacy, training, and technical assistance education. The Center publishes a newsletter and sponsors workshops and training seminars. Referrals and publications are provided to consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages.

Keywords: Child care, Legal aid, Legal issues, Policy, Special health care needs

Annotation: The Council for Responsible Genetics (CRG) monitors and analyzes the social impact of the biotechnological industry nationwide and internationally. Members include scientists, trade unionists, bioethicists, environmentalists, public health experts, and other concerned citizens. The council raises issues for public debate, submits comments on pending regulations, provides speakers, and produces educational materials on various biotech issues. Publications include a bimonthly magazine, GeneWATCH. Since 1983, GeneWATCH has covered a broad spectrum of issues, from genetically engineered foods to biological weapons, genetic privacy and discrimination, reproductive technologies, and human cloning.

Keywords: Biotechnology, Public health, Ethics, Genetic engineering, Genetics, Legal issues

Annotation: Founded in 1985 by the American Prosecutors Research Institute in response to a dramatic increase in reported child abuse cases, the National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse (NCPCA) works to improve the investigation and prosecution of child abuse through court reform, professional specialization, and interagency coordination. The center provides training and technical assistance, research services, a national network of child abuse prosecutors (through the National District Attorneys Association), and a clearinghouse on case law, court reforms, legislative initiatives, and trial strategies. Publications include a comprehensive manual, Investigation and Prosecution of Child Abuse, and a monthly newsletter, Update.

Keywords: Child abuse, Advocacy, Child advocacy, Clearinghouses, Information dissemination, Injury prevention, Legal issues, Resources for professionals, Training

Annotation: The National Child Welfare Resource Center on Legal and Judicial Issues (NRCLJI) provides expertise on the legal and judicial aspects of child welfare to courts, attorneys, Court Improvement Projects, and State and Tribal agencies. Areas of focus include permanency decision-making; judicial leadership; training evaluation; legal ethics; the court’s role in child welfare reform; high-quality legal representation for all parties; performance measurement for courts; data exchange between child welfare agencies and courts; education needs of children in foster care; involvement and empowerment of youth in the court process; safety decision-making for judges and attorneys; and adherence to the Adoption and Safe Families Act, the Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act, and other Federal laws. The center assists with agency-court collaborations, identifies legal barriers to best practices and recommended strategies to overcome barriers; promotes legal system stakeholder involvement; helps develop legal and judicial strategies, and provides tailored training and technical support.

Keywords: Child welfare, Legal issues, Resource centers

Keywords: Legal issues, Public health

Annotation: PediaGen provides a searchable database of regional, national, and international laws, norms, guidelines, and policies relevant to both genetic research and clinical applications involving children and minors, as well as a selective review of literature. The materials entered in PediaGen are grouped under six broad themes: Banking, Genetic Testing, Research, Genetic Screening, Gene Therapy, and Pharmacogenomics. Users can search by title, publisher (organization), keyword, country of origin, year published (dating from 1985 through 2009) and language (English or French).

Keywords: Genetics, Adolescent health, Child health, Ethics, Infant health, Legal issues, Online databases, Research