Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Attention Deficit Disorder Association (ADDA) is a national nonprofit organization that offers information, resources, and networking services to adults with AD/HD and to the professionals working with them. The information and resources provided focus on diagnoses, treatment, strategies, and techniques for helping adults with AD/HD lead better lives. ADDA hosts conferences, provides audio and video materials, publishes a quarterly newsletter, offers networking opportunities, and provides advocacy in the field.

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Learning disabilities

Annotation: Attention Deficit Disorder Resources is a national non-profit organization that helps people with ADD or ADHD achieve their full potential through education, support, and networking opportunities. Electronic news, online articles for parents and adults, and discussion forums can be accessed via the Web site. The organization also offers an online bookstore; maintains a lending library for members and registered library users; hosts Webcasts, free teleclasses, workshops, and conferences; and provides a directory of service providers who specialize in attention deficit disorders. Support groups are also provided in the Puget Sound, Washington, area.

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Learning disabilities, Hyperactivity, Information services

Annotation: CHADD (Children and Adults with Attention-Deficit /Hyperactivity Disorders) is a national nonprofit organization serving individuals with attention deficit / hyperactivity disorder. Through collaboration leadership, advocacy,research, education, and support, CHADD provides science-based information about AD/HD to parents, educators, professionals, the media, and the general public. CHADD houses and administers the CDC'funded National Resource Center on AD/HD, a nation-wide clearinghouse for information, support, and referrals. CHADD has more than 20,000 members in over 200 local chapters. CHADD sponsors an annual conference and publishes a bi-monthly magazine, Attention!, a quarterly newsletter, Inside CHADD, and an electronic newsletter News from CHADD.

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Hyperactivity, Information dissemination, Learning disabilities, Parent groups, Support groups

Annotation: Hardman and Associates are educational specialists in the field of dyslexia, Attention Deficit Disorders, and special learning disorders for children and adults. Hardman and Associates offers referrals, reference information, and diagnostic testing (with emphasis in the areas of language, perception, and attention). Hardman and Associates has developed an entire curriculum, for the bright dyslexic/ADD student, covering reading, math, grammar, and written expression, as well as content/study strategies. Hardman and Associates leads workshops/training for implementation of the curriculum, sponsors conferences, and provides speakers for state and national workshops. Hardman and Associates Teacher Training Course is accredited by the International Multisensory Structured Language Education Council.

Keywords: Dyslexia, Learning disabilities, Medical research

Annotation: The International Dyslexia Association (IDA), formerly known as the Orton Dyslexia Society (ODS), promotes research and education of dyslexia and encourages appropriate teaching techniques. Publications include a quarterly newsletter, Perspectives, a journal, and many publications useful for parents, professionals, and individuals with dyslexia. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in Spanish. IDA provides information and referral services for testing, tutoring, and effective teaching programs and sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Dyslexia, Health education, Language disorders, Learning disabilities, Medical research

Annotation: The Learning Disabilities Association of America (LDA) is a national organization of parents, professionals, and people with specific learning disabilities. The association works to accurately identify and remediate people with learning disabilities and to share innovative ideas and teaching techniques. It also disseminates data, evaluates programs, promotes research, and works to increase awareness of the problems of people with learning disabilities, providing consumers with referrals and publications. The newsletter LDA Newsbriefs is published six times a year. Other publications include a journal and a resource catalog. Some materials are available in Spanish. The association also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Dyslexia, Information services, Medical research, , Learning disabilities

Annotation: The National Center for Learning Disabilities (NCLD) is a national organization committed to improving the lives of those affected by learning disabilities. NCLD's mission is to promote public awareness and understanding of children and adults with learning disabilities, and to provide national leadership on their behalf, so they may achieve their potential and enjoy full participation in our society. Resources include eBooks, videos, podcasts, online expert advice, and a service locator. In addition to age-appropriate guidance, the website provides information on the warning signs of learning disabilities, social and emotional skills, children's rights, schooling, teens and transition, advocacy, and more.

Keywords: Learning disabilities

Annotation: Parents Helping Parents (PHP) is a nonprofit, family resource center that benefits children with special needs. This includes children of all ages (birth through life) and all backgrounds who have a need for special services due to any special need, including but not limited to illness, cancer, accidents, birth defects, neurological conditions, premature birth, learning or physical disabilities, mental health issues, and attention deficit (hyperactivity) disorder. PHP's mission is to help children with special needs receive the resources, love, hope, respect, health care, education, and other services they need to reach their full potential by providing them with strong families, dedicated professionals, and responsive systems to serve them. PHP provides assistive technology services through its iTech Center, hosts an online resource directory, and maintains the PHP Community Disability Library, which includes an online catalog.

Keywords: Disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Family resource centers, Health educaton, Learning disabilities, Mental disorders, Parent groups, Parents, Siblings, Spanish language materials, Support groups

Annotation: Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic is a national nonprofit organization that provides recorded and computerized textbooks at all academic levels to people who cannot effectively read standard print because of a visual impairment, learning disability or other physical disability. The organization's 78,000 volume library contains a broad selection of titles, from literature and history to math and the sciences. Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic also offers individuals and institutional memberships, scholarship programs and a custom recording service. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. A catalog is also available.

Keywords: Blindness, Dyslexia, Learning disabilities, Vision disorders

Annotation: The Scottish Rite Centers for Childhood Language Disorders provide diagnostic evaluation, referrals, and treatment of childhood language disorders and associated learning disabilities. These services are available to preschool children and those in early grades who have difficulty speaking, reading, or understanding the spoken word. Centers located throughout the country, making services available to children regardless of race or creed or the family's ability to pay. Publications include a monthly journal, and occasional local conferences and training seminars are sponsored.

Keywords: Language disorders, Learning disabilities, Preschool children