Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 9 (9 total).

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)

Annotation: The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) certifies professional speech-language pathologists and audiologists and accredits graduate school programs in these areas. The association conducts research in communication disorders and provides information and referrals to speech-language pathologists and audiologists. Publications include Journal of Speech and Hearing Research, American Journal of Audiology, American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, Language, Speech and Hearing Services in the Schools, ASHA Leader and ASHA Magazine. Some publications are available in Spanish. ASHA also sponsors conference, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Communication disorders, Deafness, Hearing disorders, Language, Medical research, Speech, Speech disorders, Speech pathologists, Speech pathology, Speech therapy

American Tinnitus Association (ATA)

Annotation: The American Tinnitus Association (ATA) supports educational activities and conducts research on the treatment of tinnitus. The association offers information about self-help groups, provides referrals to professionals, maintains a tinnitus bibliography, provides materials in Spanish and publishes a quarterly magazine, Tinnitus Today. The ATA sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Hearing disorders, Information services, Medical research, Spanish language materials, Tinnitus

International Dyslexia Association (IDA)

Annotation: The International Dyslexia Association (IDA), formerly known as the Orton Dyslexia Society (ODS), promotes research and education of dyslexia and encourages appropriate teaching techniques. Publications include a quarterly newsletter, Perspectives, a journal, and many publications useful for parents, professionals, and individuals with dyslexia. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in Spanish. IDA provides information and referral services for testing, tutoring, and effective teaching programs and sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Dyslexia, Health education, Language disorders, Learning disabilities, Medical research

March of Dimes (MOD)

Annotation: The March of Dimes (MOD) works to prevent birth defects and infant mortality through research, education, and advocacy programs. MOD's Pregnancy and Newborn Health Education Center provides information and referral services for the general public and professionals on topics such as preconception health, pregnancy, childbirth, genetics, and birth defects. MOD also produces educational materials on these and other topics such as prematurity, baby care, adolescent pregnancy, folic acid, nursing, and bereavement. A publications catalog is available, and some materials are available in Spanish. Anyone can subscribe to MOD's free electronic newsletter. MOD also sponsors the Prematurity Research Initiative, which provides funding for research into the causes of prematurity, and has developed PeriStats -- an online source for maternal, infant, and child health-related data at the state level and for many indicators at the county and national level (available at http://peristats.modimes.org/). The website can be viewed in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Childbirth education, Genetic disorders, Genetics education, Infant mortality, Information services, Medical research, Patient education, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Professional education, Public awareness materials, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website

National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)

Annotation: The National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) is a grass-roots, self-help, support and advocacy organization of people with serious mental illness and their families and friends. NAMI's mission is to eradicate mental illness and to improve the quality of life for those who suffer from these no-fault brain diseases. Services provided include: a helpline at (800) 950-NAMI to provide information between 8:30 a.m. and 5:30 p.m.; support for research into etiology, treatments, and a cure for neurobiological brain disorders; support groups for parents, siblings, and children of the mentally ill and consumers of mental health services; educational programs such as the "Family-to-Family" Education program presented in localities nationwide; and technical assistance to affiliates at local and state levels who wish to engage in advocating for the improved, non-discriminatory services for neurobiological brain disorders. Events include regional conferences, an annual convention held each July, and an annual Mental Illness Awareness Week in early October. Publications include a catalog, a bimonthly newsletter,The Advocate (available for the annual membership fee of $25), and Decade of the Brain, (a quarterly publication (available for an annual subscription fee of $20). Some materials are available in Spanish. A free publication, Because Kids Grow Up, focusing on children and adolescents is also available to parents by calling the helpline.

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Bipolar disorder, Depression, Hyperactivity, Mental disorders, Mental health, Schizophrenia, Spanish language materials

National Eating Disorders Association (NEDA)

Annotation: The National Eating Disorders Association (NEDA) is a nonprofit eating disorders prevention and advocacy organization, which was formed when Eating Disorders Awareness and Prevention joined forces with the American Anorexia Bulimia Association in 2001. NEDA operates a toll-free information and referral helpline, linking callers to information and treatment programs. The association's searchable database of more than 600 treatment providers throughout the US and Canada is also available on the Web site. Spanish-language materials are available. NEDA distributes school-based programs and curricula, including Healthy Body Image GO Girls!, hosts National Eating Disorders Awareness Week, and sponsers 5-Day Lesson Plan, to school districts throughout the nation. NEDA also publishes a newsletter and sponsors an information clearning house and a national conference.

Keywords: Anorexia nervosa, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Spanish language materials

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders Information Clearinghouse (NIDCDIC)

Annotation: The National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) conducts and supports biomedical and behavioral research and training on disorders of hearing, balance, smell, taste, voice, speech, and language. The NIDCD Information Clearinghouse disseminates information and resources on human communication processes. The clearinghouse operates an information service, develops and distributes materials, and maintains a computerized database. Publications include a newsletter and a catalog. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Institute also provides referrals.

Keywords: Deafness, Balance disorders, Communication disorders, Government financing, Hearing disorders, Information services, Language, Language development, Language disorders, Medical research, Medical research, Self help clearinghouses, Smell, Speech, Taste disorders, Voice disorders

Parents Helping Parents (PHP)

Annotation: Parents Helping Parents (PHP) is a nonprofit, family resource center that benefits children with special needs. This includes children of all ages (birth through life) and all backgrounds who have a need for special services due to any special need, including but not limited to illness, cancer, accidents, birth defects, neurological conditions, premature birth, learning or physical disabilities, mental health issues, and attention deficit (hyperactivity) disorder. PHP's mission is to help children with special needs receive the resources, love, hope, respect, health care, education, and other services they need to reach their full potential by providing them with strong families, dedicated professionals, and responsive systems to serve them. PHP provides assistive technology services through its iTech Center, hosts an online resource directory, and maintains the PHP Community Disability Library, which includes an online catalog.

Keywords: Disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Family resource centers, Health educaton, Learning disabilities, Mental disorders, Parent groups, Parents, Siblings, Spanish language materials, Support groups

Scottish Rite Centers for Childhood Language Disorders

Annotation: The Scottish Rite Centers for Childhood Language Disorders provide diagnostic evaluation, referrals, and treatment of childhood language disorders and associated learning disabilities. These services are available to preschool children and those in early grades who have difficulty speaking, reading, or understanding the spoken word. Centers located throughout the country, making services available to children regardless of race or creed or the family's ability to pay. Publications include a monthly journal, and occasional local conferences and training seminars are sponsored.

Keywords: Language disorders, Learning disabilities, Preschool children

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.