Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Diversity Rx Web site serves as a clearinghouse of information on model programs, policies, and legal issues related to cross cultural health, in collaboration with the National Conference of State Legislatures, Resources for Cross Cultural Health Care, and the Kaiser Family Foundation. Diversity Rx sponsors conferences, produces reports, and hosts an email discussion group for those interested in cross-cultural healthcare news.

Keywords: Languages, Cultural competence, Clearinghouses. , Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Health education, Linguistic competence, Model programs, Program development, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: Girl Scouts of the USA provides recreational and developmental activities for girls ages 5-17. The Girl Scout program focuses on encouraging girls to develop to their full potential; relate to others with increasing understanding, skill, and respect; develop a meaningful set of values to guide their actions and to provide for sound decision-making; and contribute to the improvement of society. Through the Girl Scout Research Institute, the organization conducts studies, releases information, and provides resources for the well-being and safety of girls. Information is provided in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent females, Associations, Child development, Female children, Recreation, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) is the lead U. S. Department of Health and Human Services agency for improving access to health care for individuals and families nationwide. The agency includes the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, which funds the Maternal and Child Health Block Grant, Special Projects of Regional and National Significance (SPRANS) activities and the Healthy Start Program. HRSA produces a catalog, and the HRSA Preview, which provides a comprehensive list of HRSA's competitive grant programs. The HRSA Geospatial Data Warehouse captures grants, scholarship and loan programs, designation of underserved areas, and service demonstration programs and integrates these with data acquired from external sources. The HRSA Information Center provides consumer information and referrals, a catalog of publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Public policies, Access to health care, Child health, Consumer education, Federal agencies, HRSA, Health insurance, Health promotion, Healthy start, Models, Outreach, Policy development, Program development, Public health, Publications, SPRANS, Spanish language materials, Women', s health

Annotation: The Institute for Child Health Policy works to improve the health status of infants and children by integrating intellectual and organizational resources of the state university system to assist in the formulation and evaluation of health policies, programs, and systems. A major division of the Institute is the Center for Policy and Program Coordination, funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The institute sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a newsletter. Topics include Children's Medical Services, Florida's Healthy Kids, Florida KidCare, child health financing and reimbursement, and telehealth. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Public policies, Child health, Child health services, Children with special health care needs, Conferences, Distance education, Florida, Health care financing, Health insurance, Health policy, Infant health, Managed care, Outreach, Program development, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, Training

Keywords: Child development, Consumer education, Dictionaries, Directories, Health promotion, Information sources, Internet, Mobile applications, NLM, Pregnancy, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Women', s health

Annotation: The purpose of the National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) is to increase the capacity of health and mental health programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems. The Center provides technical assistance and consultation, networking opportunities, and information for health professionals and policymakers about designing, implementing, and evaluating culturally competent health services, including services for children with special health care needs and their families. Resources and publications include policy briefs, checklists, self assessments, promising practices, distance learning, and conference information. The center's Web site includes a Spanish language portal for families.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Guidelines, Infant care, Information networks, Information sources, Linguistic competence, National MCH resource center, Networking, Program development, Program evaluation, Publications, Resource centers, SIDS, Spanish language materials, Title V programs, Training

Annotation: The National Hispanic Council on Aging (NHCOA) is a national membership-based organization whose mission is to improve the quality of life for Latino elderly, families, and communities through advocacy, technical assistance, demonstration projects, capacity and institution building, and the development of educational materials. NHCOA informs members of issues significant to Latino seniors, especially those related to health, housing, income, education, employment, building communities, and strengthening families. The council participates in local and national coalitions, task forces, and committees that address these issues and their impact on Latino seniors and collaborates with its local chapters and affiliates to demonstrate programs and approaches to this population.

Keywords: Advocacy, Aging, Community development, Demonstration programs, Educational materials, Geriatrics, Health services, Hispanic Americans, Minority health, Spanish language, Technical assistance, Women', s health

Annotation: The National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) conducts and supports biomedical and behavioral research and training on disorders of hearing, balance, smell, taste, voice, speech, and language. The NIDCD Information Clearinghouse disseminates information and resources on human communication processes. The clearinghouse operates an information service, develops and distributes materials, and maintains a computerized database. Publications include a newsletter and a catalog. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Institute also provides referrals.

Keywords: Deafness, Balance disorders, Communication disorders, Government financing, Hearing disorders, Information services, Language, Language development, Language disorders, Medical research, Medical research, Self help clearinghouses, Smell, Speech, Taste disorders, Voice disorders

Annotation: NCAST Programs develops and disseminates research based workshops, assessments, and intervention programs to promote nurturing environments for young children ages 0-3. Target audiences include nurse home visitors, social workers, researchers, and other service providers. Topics include the Parent-Child Interaction (PCI) feeding and teaching scales, promoting first relationships, promoting maternal mental health during pregnancy, caregiving, personal environment assessments, promoting self regulation and attachment in infants and young children. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Developmental screening, Infant behavior, Infant care, Maternal mental health, Nursing, Professional training, Technical assistance

Annotation: REFORMA was established as an affiliate of the American Library Association to promote the development of library collections to include Spanish-language and Latino oriented materials; the recruitment of more bilingual and bicultural library professionals and support staff; the development of library services and programs that meet the needs of the Latino community; the establishment of a national information and support network among individuals who share the same goals; the education of the U.S. Latino population in regards to the availability and types of library services; and lobbying efforts to preserve existing library resource centers serving the interests of Latinos.

Keywords: Cultural diversity, Associations, Libraries, Library collection development, Library services, Recruitment, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The World Institute on Disability (WID) works to eliminate barriers to full social integration and to increase employment, economic security and health care for persons with disabilities. WID creates innovative programs and tools; conducts research, training, public education and advocacy campaigns; and provides technical assistance.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Advocacy, Disabilities, International health, Public policies, Spanish language materials

Annotation: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers, and Families (formerly the National Center for Clinical Infant Programs) is a nonprofit organization that works to improve the chances for healthy physical, cognitive, and social development of infants, toddlers, and their families and to create a context for improved understanding of early intervention and prevention programs. The organization offers training programs and materials; produces publications; provides technical assistance to administrators at state, community, and program levels; and sponsors seminars and conferences. Other activities include research facilitation to advance knowledge concerning infants and toddlers, communication to foster awareness of the importance of the first three years of life, and leadership development programs. Publications include a catalog, a journal, and over 200 other publications. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Child care, Child development, Child health, Cognitive development, Early childhood development, Early intervention, Infant health, Information sources, Physical development, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Publications, Research, Social development, Spanish language materials