Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine (ABM) is an international multi-specialty physician organization, with more than 400 members from more than 25 countries. The Academy has developed a basic physician-training course on breastfeeding, (presented each year at the ABM conference); publishes a newsletter and a peer-reviewed medical journal (Breastfeeding Medicine); and continues to actively develop and share its evidence-based protocols on clinical lactation management. Members of ABM are invited to participate in the international exchange of ideas, teaching methods, and experiences on the ABM Listserv.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Lactation management, Professional societies

Annotation: The Baby-Friendly Hospital Initiative (BFHI) is a global program sponsored by the World Health Organization and the United Nations Children’s Fund to encourage and recognize hospitals and birthing centers that offer an optimal level of care for lactation. The BFHI assists hospitals in giving breastfeeding mothers the information, confidence, and skills needed to successfully initiate and continue breastfeeding their babies and gives special recognition to hospitals that have done so.

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion programs, Breastfeeding, Lactation

Annotation: The Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington (BCW) is a statewide coalition comprised of local coalitions working together to promote, protect and support breastfeeding as a vital part of the health and development of children and families. It is a program of WithinReach and receives funding from the Washington State Department of Health. BCW goals include protecting and promoting a public environment supportive and accepting of breastfeeding; increasing the incidence and duration of breastfeeding; providing up-to-date referral and educational materials to healthcare professionals, organizations and the community at large; advocating for policies in workplaces, educational institutions and childcare facilities to support breastfeeding families in a way that is culturally relevant and sensitive. The BCW offers a free newsletter, Breastfeeding Matters.

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Coalitions, Lactation, Referrals, State initiatives, Washington

Annotation: The Center for Breastfeeding Information (CBI), part of La Leche League International, was established in 1989. CBI maintains a collection of about 40,000 articles on breastfeeding which can be searched at no charge using an online database. The center also provides bibliographies and links to breastfeeding information for consumers and professionals.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Mothers

Annotation: The Human Milk Banking Association of North America has members in the United States and Canada. The association's milk banks not only provide milk to client hospitals but also serve many infants in the home who need milk because of medical conditions such as formula intolerance or feeding issues related to prematurity. Links to related resources are provided on the website and publications on establishing and operating donor human milk banks, as well as information on pumping, storing, and handling human milk can be purchased for a fee.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Associations, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Milk banks

Annotation: The International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners (IBLCE) is a non-profit organization established to develop and administer the certification examination for lactation consultants. IBLCE sets standards that protect mothers and babies; motivates health professionals to broaden their breastfeeding expertise; works to raise the standards of care in lactation management; and protects, promotes and supports breastfeeding worldwide. The organization distributes publications to inform the public, health care professionals, educators, potential candidates, and current IBCLCs about issues governing credentials for certification. Information on continuing education opportunities is also available on the Web site.

Keywords: Certification, Breastfeeding, Consultants, Lactation, Professional societies

Annotation: The International Lactation Consultant Association (ILCA) promotes the professional development, advancement, and recognition of International Board Certified Lactation Consultants (IBCLC) worldwide for the benefit of breastfeeding women, infants, and children. ILCA publishes a newsletter and a journal, sponsors workshops and conferences, and provides referrals, publications, database access, and inquiry responses for consumers.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Information dissemination, Lactation

Annotation: La Leche League International (LLLI) offers a variety of services for parents and professionals. Monthly support group meetings are available for pregnant women and nursing mothers and babies. A phone line, 800 LA LECHE, helps callers find ttheir local La Leche Leader who can answer questions and provide meeting information. International conferences, lactation specialist workshops, physicians' seminars, and area conferences are available. Products include books, pamphlets, nursing supplies, gifts, and more. All or parts of the website have been translated into Chinese, Dutch, French, German, Hebrew, Japanese, Italian, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and Ukrainian. Membership is available to mothers, families, and health professionals. The Center for Breastfeeding Information (CBI) provides research help on lactation topics. Peer counselor training is available and independent study modules for at-home professional learning. Subscriptions to member publications are available as well. LLLI's Web site provides information about services and contact information for groups all over the world.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Mothers, Spanish language materials

Annotation: Lactation Education Resources strives to raise the standard of practice of certified lactation consultants by offering quality training programs and innovative educational materials for those who desire to become certified lactation consultants and continuing education for those who are certified. This program provides information on both on-site and online training opportunities, incuding Web links to self-learning modules, power-point presentations, and counseling protocols. Clinical updates and parent handouts can be downloaded from the Web site.The program is a contuation of the National Capitol Lactation Center at Georgetown University, which was dissolved in 1997.

Keywords: Lactation specialists, Breastfeeding. Consultants, Continuing education, Parent materials, Professional training, Training materials

Annotation: Founded in May 1996, the Massachusetts Breastfeeding Coalition (MBC) arose out of a need for a statewide coalition to coordinate the efforts of many diverse breastfeeding advocacy groups in the Commonwealth. The MBC focuses on improving public health by making breastfeeding the norm through education, advocacy, and collaboration. Activities involve helping health care providers support and promote breastfeeding, prevent breastfeeding problems, and recognize them and solve them easily should they occur. All materials are evidence-based, free from commercial bias, and are available from the website at no cost.

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Massachusetts, State initiatives

Annotation: The National Capital Lactation Center at Georgetown University offers in-hospital services for breastfeeding assistance. The lactation center provides consultation on nursing problems (by telephone) to new breastfeeding mothers. The center exists to support, encourage and clinically assist breastfeeding families from birth throughout the weaning process. Some materials are available in Spanish. Referrals are provided as appropriate.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Lactation, Milk banks