Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: 211 LA County provides access to a comprehensive range of human services to the people of Los Angeles County, California. It also provides access to the Taxonomy of Human Services, a classification system for indexing resources in information and referral databases that was developed by INFO LINE of Los Angeles, the predecessor to 211 LA County, and that is endorsed by the national association Alliance for Information and Referral Systems and United Way of America as the standard indexing system for the industry.

Keywords: California, Human services, Information systems, Local initiatives, Referrals

Annotation: 9 to 5 is a nationwide membership association of women office workers established in 1973 that promotes fair pay, career advancement, safer office automation, parental leaves and pensions, job dignity, and other issues of importance to working women. The association currently has 25 chapters and sponsors a summer conference, workshops, and seminars. 9 to 5 operates a toll-free Job Problems Hotline, (800) 522-0925, and publishes a newsletter, 9 to 5 Newsline, five times a year.

Keywords: Ethical/Legal Issues, Ethics, Hotlines, Maternity leave, Working women

Annotation: A Heartbreaking Choice provides resources and support for expectant parents who have received a diagnosis that their unborn child has a serious fetal anomaly or other live-threatening health problem that makes it unlikely that the baby will survive and thrive. For those who have made the decision to end their pregnancy when faced with such a grim diagnosis, this organization provides support groups, an online discussion forum, a confidential list service, an online memorial for grieving parents, personal stories, and feature articles to help these parents cope with their loss.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Support groups

Annotation: ABC for Health (Advocacy and Benefits Counseling for Health) is a Wisconsin-based nonprofit public interest law firm dedicated to ensuring health care access for children and families, particularly those with special needs or who are at risk. ABC for Health's mission is to provide health care consumers with the information, advocacy tools, legal services, and expert support they need to navigate through America's health care financing system.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Health care financing, Legal issues, State organizations, Wisconsin

Annotation: AboutFace is an international organization providing information services, educational programs, and emotional networking support to individuals with facial disfigurements and their families. Membership includes children, adults, and families affected by facial differences, health care and social service providers, dental professionals, and educators. Publications include a bimonthly newsletter, brochures and booklets on medical conditions, treatment issues/plans and socialization issues etc., and a series of educational programs for elementary schools.

Keywords: Apert syndrome, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Congenital port wine stain, Craniofacial abnormalities, Crouzon syndrome, Goldenhar syndrome, Naevus flammeus

Annotation: The Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine (ABM) is an international multi-specialty physician organization, with more than 400 members from more than 25 countries. The Academy has developed a basic physician-training course on breastfeeding, (presented each year at the ABM conference); publishes a newsletter and a peer-reviewed medical journal (Breastfeeding Medicine); and continues to actively develop and share its evidence-based protocols on clinical lactation management. Members of ABM are invited to participate in the international exchange of ideas, teaching methods, and experiences on the ABM Listserv.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Lactation management, Professional societies

Annotation: The Academy of Nutrition of Dietetics (AND) is the advocate of the dietetics profession serving the public through the promotion of optimal nutrition, health, and well being. The association is involved in the credentialing of competent nutrition and dietetic professionals and provides continuing education for nearly 70,000 members. Key areas of interest include obesity and overweight (with a focus on children); healthy aging; nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics; Integrative medicine (including supplements and alternative medicine; and safe, sustainable, and nutritious food supply. Through its Knowledge Center, ADA provides current food and nutrition information for consumers, health professionals, and ADA members. Until 2012 it was known as the American Dietetic Association (ADA)

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Consumer education, Dietetic technicians, Health promotion, Hotlines, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Professional societies, Public health nutrition, Publications, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The ADA National Network (formerly the Americans with Disabilities Act Regional Disability and Business Technical Assistance Centers) consists of 10 regional centers that provide local assistance and foster implementation of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) throughout the United States. The regional centers focus on the specific needs of the residents who reside in their service area. The Network develops projects and events of national significance and works closely with national partners. It conducts research, provides training, and produces a variety of publications. The ADA Knowledge Translation Center, which is also part of the Network, conducts systematic reviews of the current state of ADA related research and translating findings into plain language summaries for policymakers, technical reports, publications in peer-review journals, and presentations at national conferences.

Keywords: Federal legislation, Accessible facilities, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Technical assistance

Annotation: The U.S. Administration for Children and Families (ACF) administers programs focusing on the well-being of children and the self-sufficiency of families. Some services at ACF include programs involving persons with developmental disabilities, child care, child welfare services, prevention and treatment of child abuse and neglect, runaway and homeless youth, Head Start, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), and child support enforcement issues. ACF also supports an Healthy Marriage Initiative which focuses on low-income married couples with children, the Fatherhood Initiative, and the Family Violence Prevention and Services Program. ACF provides consumers with referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. The agency also publishes newsletters, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child care, Child support, Domestic violence, Family centered care, Family economics, Family relations, Family support programs, Fathers, Head Start, Spanish language materials, Training materials, Young children

Annotation: Advocates for Youth is dedicated to creating programs and advocating for policies that help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health. Advocates provides information, training, and strategic assistance to youth-serving organizations, policy makers, youth activists, and the media in the United States and the developing world. Advocates publishes newsletters, as well as provider- and consumer-oriented publications on adolescent reproductive health. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Decision making skills, Information sources, Life skills, Peer education, Programs, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials, Women

Annotation: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) supports research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services. AHRQ supports the National Guideline Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines; the National Quality Measures Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets; the Patient Safety Network, a collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources; and the Effective Health Care Program, a collection of research centers working to provide evidence on health care interventions.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Safety, Clearinghouses, Clinical medicine, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Health disparities , Health policy, Medical technology, Patient care management, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, Research, Service delivery, Spanish language materials, State Children', Training, Treatment outcomes, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: Aiding Mothers and Fathers Experiencing Neonatal Death (AMEND) offers support and encouragement to parents who have lost an infant. Bereaved parents have one-to-one contact with a trained counselor who has also experienced a loss due to miscarriage, stillbirth, or neonatal death. Several local chapters exist without formal national affiliation. St. Louis AMEND was established in 1974. Los Angeles AMEND was established in 1977 and can be reached at P.O. Box 30, Harbor City, CA 90710-0030; (818) 887-7999. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Grief, Neonatal death, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion, Support groups, Parent support services

Annotation: The AIDS Alliance for Children, Youth, and Families, founded in 1994 as the AIDS Policy Center for Children, Youth and Families, is a national organization focused on the needs of children, youth, and families living with, affected by, or at risk for HIV and AIDS. Since its founding, the organization has been an advocate for children, youth, and families affected by HIV/AIDS. While continuing with policy analysis and advocacy activities, the organization has expanded its mission to include education and training for consumers and providers. The organization offers local and national training, technical assistance, and publications.

Keywords: AIDS, Advocacy, Children, Education, Families, HIV, Listservs, Training, Youth

Annotation: AIDSinfo, formerly the AIDS Clinical Trials and Treatment Information Service, is a central resource for current information on federally and privately funded clinical trials for AIDS patients and others infected with HIV. AIDSinfo is a service of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. AIDS clinical trials evaluate experimental drugs and other therapies for adults and children at all stages of HIV infection -- from patients who are HIV positive with no symptoms to those with various symptoms of AIDS. As the main dissemination point for federally approved HIV treatment and prevention guidelines, AIDSinfo provides information about the current treatment regimens for HIV infection and AIDS-related illnesses, including the prevention of HIV transmission from occupational exposure and mother-to-child transmission during pregnancy. The website can be viewed in English or Spanish.

Keywords: AIDS, AIDS related complex , HIV, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Alagille Syndrome Alliance is a support network for individuals and families with this liver disorder. The alliance publishes a newsletter, Liver Link, and other informational materials. It also provides networking (the Alliance hosts a chat room and electronic bulletin board); parent matching services; and consultation through a medical advisory board. The Alliance also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Liver diseases, Support groups

Annotation: The Alaska Health Education Library Project (AHELP) is an electronic clearinghouse of current health promotion and health education resources that are specific to and available in Alaska. It contains information on health promotion programs, projects and materials, key contact people in health promotion program areas, a calendar of health observances and health promotion training and events, and resource organizations at the state and national level. AHELP has an online discussion list (listserv) for professionals involved in health education and health promotion.

Keywords: Alaska, Clearinghouses, Health sciences libraries, Listservs, State agencies

Annotation: The Alaska State Library provide reference and research services to state agencies and the public. Services include daily tracking of federal legislation and regulations, on-line computer searching, production of subject bibliographies and checklists, and current awareness services. The collections include a full depository of Alaska government publications, selective depository of federal and Canadian government publications, research materials on Alaska history, and a periodicals collection emphasizing topics of concern to state government.

Keywords: Alaska, Libraries, State agencies

Annotation: The Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing is a membership-based information center on hearing loss, emphasizing the use of technology, speech, speechreading, residual hearing, and written and spoken language. AG Bell focuses specifically on children with hearing loss, providing ongoing support and advocacy for parents, professionals and other interested parties. AG Bell publishes books and brochures on the subject of hearing loss, auditory approaches in education, advocacy, employment, and advances in hearing technology. AG Bell also publishes a magazine, Volta Voices, and a scholarly journal, The Volta Review, and offers resource-referral services to individuals with questions about hearing loss and auditory approaches. AG Bell provides financial aid to qualifying applicants for mainstreamed, auditory-based education at the preschool, school-age, and university levels. Regional conferences and biennial conventions are held to educate both members and non-members on issues relating to hearing loss. AG Bell also provides governmental and education advocacy services through its state chapters, children's rights coordinators, and international affiliates.

Keywords: Deafness, Family support services, Hearing disorders, Lip reading training, Professional training

Annotation: The Alliance for Aging Research supports and works to accelerate the pace of medical discoveries to improve the experience of aging and health. The Alliance advocates for increases in research dollars for age-related diseases and supports federal legislation that will advance medical breakthroughs. The alliance also conducts grassroots education campaigns for health professionals and the public on diseases which disproportionately affect the elderly; sponsors the Paul Beeson Physician Faculty Scholars in Aging Research Program; conducts studies and surveys that examine important medical, behavioral, and social issues associated with longevity; serves as a clearinghouse for information on the health and well-being of older people; and creates and disseminates health education materials to consumers in a variety of formats.

Keywords: , Public awareness campaigns, Advocacy, Aging, Clearinghouses, Consumer education, Fellowships, Geriatrics, Information sources, Legislation, Longevity, Medical research, Research, Studies, Surveys

Annotation: The Alliance for Early Success (formerly the Birth to Five Policy Alliance) provides leadership, funding, and curates technical assistance to improve state policies that lead to better health and economic outcomes, especially for the most vulnerable young children. The alliance brings state, national, and funding partners together to improve state policies for children, from birth through age 8. The website provides information about partnerships and grants. Resources address three policy areas (health, family support, and learning) and three policy foundations (standards, screening and assessment, and accountability). The alliance also published a blog.

Keywords: Child development, Collaboration, Family support, Grants, Health policy, Leadership, Learning, Public private partnerships, Socioeconomic status