Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: Peers for Progress is a program of the American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation and supported by the Eli Lilly and Company Foundation. The program was founded in 2006 to promote peer support as a key part of health, health care, and prevention around the world. Activities include promoting peer support programs, developing a global network of peer support programs, and hosting a global web page to circulate program materials and curricula.

Keywords: Information networks, International programs, Networking, Peer counseling, Peer education, Peer groups, Peer support programs

Annotation: The Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) is a bipartisan public policy institution focused on strategic issues such as trade, finance, politics and America's external geopolitical role. It conducts research into emerging issues and trends. It conducts non-classified analysis for the government and private business. The Center produces a newsletter, journals, and many reports and publications. The Center also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: International programs, United States

Annotation: The Centre of Excellence for Child Welfare is a collaboration of experts from five Canadian organizations, including the University of Toronto, McGill University, l'Universite de Montreal, the Child Welfare League of Canada, and the First Nations Child and Family Caring Society. It provides the Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal for up-to-date research on Canadian child welfare programs and policies, a network of services designed to protect children from abuse and neglect, supports for families in difficulty, and children placed in out-of-home care.

Keywords: Canada, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, International organizations, Prevention programs

Annotation: The EQUATOR (Enhancing the QUAlity and Transparency Of health Research) Network is an international initiative that seeks to improve the reliability and value of published health research literature by promoting transparent and accurate reporting and wider use of robust reporting guidelines. Resources are provided in English, German, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Keywords: Guidelines, International programs, Medical research, Non English language materials, Reports, Research methodology, Spanish language materials

Annotation: Great Kids Inc. is a nonprofit international training and consulting organization dedicated to developing early childhood and home based programs for families with children 0-5 years. It provides training materials, support services, and curricula for child care providers and program staff (including home visitors). Materials are available in both English and Spanish.

Keywords: Curricula, Early childhood, Home visiting, International programs, Parenting education, Pregnancy, Professional training, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: Hesperian is a non-profit publisher of books and educational materials that help people take the lead in their own health care and organize to improve health conditions in their communities. Herperian collaborates with health workers, grassroots groups, and community organizations around the world to develop books that are practical, accessible, and appropriate across varied conditions and cultures. The books are written to be understood by people with little formal education. The foundation's "open-copyright" policy encourages organizations to reproduce, translate, and adapt the materials for distribution on a not-for-profit basis. All materials are published in both English and Spanish, and the foundation's Translations Fund give small grants to help organizations translate Hesperian's books and newsletters into other languages. Their website has numerous links to useful organizations in its Action for Health section.

Keywords: International organizations, Public health, Community programs, Cultural sensitivity, Foundations, Spanish language materials, Underserved communities

Annotation: The work of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) is of three main types. Surveillance involves the monitoring of economic and financial developments, and the provision of policy advice, aimed especially at crisis-prevention. The IMF also lends to countries with balance of payments difficulties, to provide temporary financing and to support policies aimed at correcting the underlying problems; loans to low-income countries are also aimed especially at poverty reduction. Third, the IMF provides countries with technical assistance and training in its areas of expertise. Supporting all three of these activities is IMF work in economic research and statistics. In recent years, as part of its efforts to strengthen the international financial system, and to enhance its effectiveness at preventing and resolving crises, the IMF has applied both its surveillance and technical assistance work to the development of standards and codes of good practice in its areas of responsibility, and to the strengthening of financial sectors.

Keywords: International organizations, Financial support, International programs

Annotation: The Lullaby Trust provides specialist support for bereaved families and promotes expert advice on safer baby sleep. It was previously called The Foundation for the Study of Infant Deaths (FSID).

Keywords: Child death, Infant death, International organizations, International programs, Professional resources, Public awareness materials, SIDS, Training, United Kingdom

Annotation: Merck for Mothers is a 10-year, $500 million initiative focused on creating a world where no woman dies giving life. Merck for Mothers works in more than 20 countries around the world, including the U.S.

Keywords: International health, Maternal mortality, Prevention programs

Keywords: Integrated services, International programs, MCH programs, Non English language materials

Annotation: The United States-Mexico Border Health Commission (USMBHC) provides international leadership in efforts to identify key health issues in the U.S.-Mexico border region and develop programs to address specific problems. USMBHC organizes work groups and conferences; advocates for health improvements; and promotes public awareness. The commission also provides news and information on legislative action, immunization efforts, and other relevant topics and provides an electronic newsletter. USMBHC is comprised of the federal secretaries of health, the chief health officers of the ten border states, and prominent community health professionals from both nations. The commission was created as a binational health commission in 2000 with the signing of an agreement by the Secretary of Health of Mexico and the Secretary of Health and Human Services of the United States. In Dec. 2004 the commission was designated as a Public International Organization by Executive Order of the President. Its publications are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Federal agencies, International health, Advocacy, Federal programs, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Legislation, Program development, Public health, Underserved communities

Keywords: Overseas organization, Child health, Data sources, Fertility, Health promotion, International health, International organizations, International programs, Maternal health, Online databases, Reproductive health, World health organization

Annotation: The World Health Organization's (WHO's) Department of Maternal, Newborn, Child and Adolescent Health was established in 2011 to address key challenges in reducing maternal and child deaths and lead targeted efforts to improve the health of these population groups and support countries to achieve the Millennium Development Goals. The website contains information and resources on maternal, newborn, child, and adolescent health including programming, monitoring, and research; data, statistics, and epidemiology; documents; news and events; and multimedia.

Keywords: International health, International organizations, International programs, International services, MCH programs, MCH research, MCH services