Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Association for Research on Mothering (ARM) is an international feminist organization on motherhood and mothering. It is housed at the Centre for Research on Mothering at York University. ARM is an association for scholars, writers, activists, professionals, agencies, policy makers, educators, parents, and artists. Its mandate is to provide a forum for the discussion and dissemination of feminist, academic, and community grassroots research, theory, and praxis on mothering-motherhood.ARM are committed, in both membership and research, to the inclusion of all mothers, First Nations, immigrant and refugee mothers, working-class mothers, lesbian mothers, mothers with disabilities, mothers of colour, and mothers from other marginalized communities.It offers an electronic newsletterm a journal, and other publications.

Keywords: Ethnic groups, International organizations, Minority groups, Mothers

Annotation: The Carter Center is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that addresses issues of democracy and development, and global health in the United States and abroad. The center has developed numerous programs and projects to help fulfill its initiatives. The Interfaith Health program seeks to improve health outcomes through integrating the strengths and resources of the faith community with public health programs. The program aims to expand the definition of health as understood by public health professionals to take into account the potentials of faith groups as partners, especially in the implications for behavioral and social risk factors. The program also aims to expand the definition of faith as understood by leaders of churches, synagogues and mosques to take into account the potentials of public health science as partners, especially in the implications for prevention of suffering and health promotions as aspects of redemption and wholeness. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information and publications. The program publishes a newsletter, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Conflict resolution, Health education, Health promotion, International organizations

Annotation: The Carter Center is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that addresses issues of democracy and development, and global health in the United States and abroad. The center has developed numerous programs and projects to help fulfill its initiatives. The Interfaith Health program seeks to improve health outcomes through integrating the strengths and resources of the faith community with public health programs. The program aims to expand the definition of health as understood by public health professionals to take into account the potentials of faith groups as partners, especially in the implications for behavioral and social risk factors. The program also aims to expand the definition of faith as understood by leaders of churches, synagogues and mosques to take into account the potentials of public health science as partners, especially in the implications for prevention of suffering and health promotions as aspects of redemption and wholeness. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information and publications. The program publishes a newsletter, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Conflict resolution, Health education, Health promotion, International organizations

Annotation: The Centre of Excellence for Child Welfare is a collaboration of experts from five Canadian organizations, including the University of Toronto, McGill University, l'Universite de Montreal, the Child Welfare League of Canada, and the First Nations Child and Family Caring Society. It provides the Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal for up-to-date research on Canadian child welfare programs and policies, a network of services designed to protect children from abuse and neglect, supports for families in difficulty, and children placed in out-of-home care.

Keywords: Canada, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, International organizations, Prevention programs

Annotation: The Clearinghouse on International Developments in Child, Youth and Family Policies provides cross-national, comparative information and linkages regarding the policies, programs, benefits and services available in the advanced industrialized countries to address child, youth and family needs.  Initial coverage focuses on the countries of the European Union (EU) plus Norway and Iceland, and on most of the Organization for Economic Development (OECD) countries. Expansion to other countries and parts of the world is planned. The clearinghouse serves the U.S. media, public officials and their staffs, public and private agency administrators and their board members, scholars, students, and all English-reading individuals throughout the world with access to the World Wide Web.

Keywords: Children, Clearinghouses, Europe, Families, Health statistics, Information sources, International organizations, Online databases, Program descriptions, Public policies, Youth

Annotation: The FDI World Dental Federation is a federation of national dental associations that works to bring together the world of dentistry, to represent the dental profession of the world, and to stimulate and facilitate the exchange of information across all borders with the aim of optimal oral health for all people. It issues policy statements, offers continuing education, publishes the International Dental Journal and other publications, and holds the World Dental Parliament once a year. The web site is available in English, German, Spanish, French, Japanese, Portuguese, and Russian with many of their publications offered in English and non-English languages.

Keywords: Advocacy, International organizations, Oral health, Statistics

Annotation: Hesperian is a non-profit publisher of books and educational materials that help people take the lead in their own health care and organize to improve health conditions in their communities. Herperian collaborates with health workers, grassroots groups, and community organizations around the world to develop books that are practical, accessible, and appropriate across varied conditions and cultures. The books are written to be understood by people with little formal education. The foundation's "open-copyright" policy encourages organizations to reproduce, translate, and adapt the materials for distribution on a not-for-profit basis. All materials are published in both English and Spanish, and the foundation's Translations Fund give small grants to help organizations translate Hesperian's books and newsletters into other languages. Their website has numerous links to useful organizations in its Action for Health section.

Keywords: International organizations, Public health, Community programs, Cultural sensitivity, Foundations, Spanish language materials, Underserved communities

Annotation: The work of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) is of three main types. Surveillance involves the monitoring of economic and financial developments, and the provision of policy advice, aimed especially at crisis-prevention. The IMF also lends to countries with balance of payments difficulties, to provide temporary financing and to support policies aimed at correcting the underlying problems; loans to low-income countries are also aimed especially at poverty reduction. Third, the IMF provides countries with technical assistance and training in its areas of expertise. Supporting all three of these activities is IMF work in economic research and statistics. In recent years, as part of its efforts to strengthen the international financial system, and to enhance its effectiveness at preventing and resolving crises, the IMF has applied both its surveillance and technical assistance work to the development of standards and codes of good practice in its areas of responsibility, and to the strengthening of financial sectors.

Keywords: International organizations, Financial support, International programs

Annotation: The International Step by Step Association (ISSA) is a non-governmental membership organization established in the Netherlands in 1999 to foster democratic principles and promote parent and community involvement in early childhood education. ISSA publishes a journal, Educating Children for Democracy, semi-annually.

Keywords: Early childhood education, International organizations

Annotation: The International Women’s Health Coalition (IWHC) is a nonprofit organization that seeks to promote the health and rights of women and girls worldwide. Motivated by the belief that social and economic justice can only be achieved by ensuring women’s rights, IWHC’s work is focused on three main priorities: adolescent health and rights, access to safe abortion, and sexual rights for women and girls. IWHC provides sustained technical and financial support to non-governmental organizations in selected countries of Africa, Asia, and Latin America, helping them not only to provide services, but also to build networks for advocacy and support within and across borders. On an international level, IWHC mobilizes groups and individuals for participation in UN conferences related to women, children, and population, and seeks to promote global health initiatives beneficial to women and girls through collaboration with UN agencies such as the World Health Organization, the World Bank, and UNFPA. IWHC also produces multilingual articles, reports, fact sheets, bibliographies, and videos, and informs public debate through its web site, media involvement, and educational events for influential individuals.

Keywords: Advocacy, International organizations, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: The Lullaby Trust provides specialist support for bereaved families and promotes expert advice on safer baby sleep. It was previously called The Foundation for the Study of Infant Deaths (FSID).

Keywords: Child death, Infant death, International organizations, International programs, Professional resources, Public awareness materials, SIDS, Training, United Kingdom

Annotation: The Pan American Health Organization is an agency of the United Nations that works to promote health and prevent disease, to support country efforts to control or eradicate communicable diseases, to extend health services to underserved populations of its member countries, and to promote cooperation among governments in solving public health problems. The organization serves as the World Health Organization's regional office for the Americas. It sponsors conferences and seminars and publishes a catalog and a journal. Materials are available in Spanish, French, and Portuguese.

Keywords: Health education, Health promotion, International organizations

Annotation: The Real Academia Española (Royal Spanish Academy) publishes a dictionary of the Spanish language and a panhispanic dictionary of doubts which addresses rules of spelling, wording, and grammar for the Spanish language.

Keywords: Dictionaries, International organizations, Spanish language

Annotation: Safe Kids Worldwide (SKWW) is a global effort to focus solely on unintentional childhood injury prevention. Each year, more than one million children ages 14 and under die from unintentional injuries such as fires, drownings, and traffic crashes, and many more are permanently disabled. Safe Kids Worldwide was created to meet this challenge by establishing a global network of organizations committed to the prevention of unintentional childhood injury. Services to consumers include inquiry responses, publications (some materials are available in Spanish), and reference Information. Safe Kids Worldwide publishes a catalog and newsletter, and sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Advocacy, Bicycle helmets, Child health, International health, Intervention, Legislation, National organizations, Outreach, Public education, Safety equipment

Keywords: Overseas organization, Child health, Data sources, Fertility, Health promotion, International health, International organizations, International programs, Maternal health, Online databases, Reproductive health, World health organization

Annotation: The World Health Organization's (WHO's) Department of Maternal, Newborn, Child and Adolescent Health was established in 2011 to address key challenges in reducing maternal and child deaths and lead targeted efforts to improve the health of these population groups and support countries to achieve the Millennium Development Goals. The website contains information and resources on maternal, newborn, child, and adolescent health including programming, monitoring, and research; data, statistics, and epidemiology; documents; news and events; and multimedia.

Keywords: International health, International organizations, International programs, International services, MCH programs, MCH research, MCH services