Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 11 (11 total).

Academy of Women's Health

Annotation: The Academy of Women’s Health is an interdisciplinary, international association of physicians, nurses, and other health professionals who work across the broad field of women’s health, providing up-to-date advances and options in clinical care that will enable the best outcomes for women patients. The academy’s focus includes the dissemination of translational research and evidence-based practices for disease prevention, diagnosis, and treatment for women across the lifespan. Resources include an annual conference, the Journal of Women's Health, a blog, and discussion groups on social media.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Information dissemination, Interdisciplinary approach, Professional associations, Women's health

AIDS Education and Training Centers National Resource Center (AETC National Resource Center)

Annotation: The AIDS Education and Training Centers (AECT) National Resource Center provides education and training resources for the regional AETCs to support their mission to offer timely, high quality, state-of-the-art information to healthcare professionals working with existing and emerging populations affected by HIV. The center offers a virtual library of online training resources for adaptation to meet local training needs; clinical information; journal scan and training materials on new and emerging issues important to HIV care providers; and listservs providing information about updates in clinical treatment guidelines, availability of new training resources, and newly available government documents.

Keywords: HIV, AIDS, Interdisciplinary approach, Professional education, Professional training

Center for Health Policy and Inequalities Research

Annotation: The Center for Health Policy and Inequalities Research (formerly the Duke University Center for Health Policy) stimulates and facilitates collaborative, interdisciplinary research focusing on population based health, health systems, intervention, and evaluation. The Center also offers an array of educational opportunities for students seeking careers in health policy making, research, and analysis.

Keywords: Public health, Educational programs, Health policy, Interdisciplinary approach, Legal processes, Management, Research, Social sciences, University affiliated centers

UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities

Annotation: The UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities works to improve society's ability to provide children with the best opportunities for health and well-being, and the chance to assume productive roles within families and communities. Uniting a broad range of specialists, including health care providers, educators, economists, and public policy makers together with families, community groups, providers, and businesses, the center aims to increase the efficiency, effectiveness, and distribution of health and social services; assist communities in transforming themselves into healthier environments for their children; and improve the health of children, families, and communities by developing innovative and responsive service programs; The center is a multi-disciplinary program of the UCLA School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics, and the UCLA School of Public Health, with faculty participation from the School of Public Policy and Social Research, School of Law, and the College of Letters and Sciences. The center provides technical assistance, training, publications, and other resources.

Keywords: , Public private partnerships, Child health, Collaboration, Community programs, Education, Families, Interdisciplinary approach, Program improvement, School readiness, Service delivery, University affiliated centers

Center for Human Resource Research (CHRR)

U.S. Indian Health Service, Early Childhood Caries Collaborative

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) Early Childhood Caries (ECC) Initiative is a multi-faceted program designed to enhance knowledge about ECC prevention and early intervention among all health professionals and the community. The initiative provides the health care team (including oral health professionals, medical providers, community health representatives, Head Start staff, and WIC program staff) with the tools to begin a successful program. The website provides information on best practices, the Basic Screening Survey, a framework for ECC early intervention focusing on "caries stabilization," ECC programs, frequently asked questions, fluoride varnish, and other resources.

Keywords: American Indians, Disease prevention, Early childhood caries, Interdisciplinary approach, Native Americans, Primary care, Program planning

LEND Center at the University of Pittsburgh

Annotation: The LEND Center at the University of Pittsburgh (formerly UCLID) is an interdisciplinary leadership training program in developmental disabilities affiliated with the University of Pittsburgh and Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh. Funded training opportunities are available to students enrolled in graduate and post-graduate programs in health care, psychology, education, public health, law, and social services. The program provides training with a focus on autism spectrum disorders, sickle cell disease, fragile X, and audiology.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Interdisciplinary approach, Leadership training, MCH training programs, University affiliated centers

National Coalition for Health Professional Education in Genetics (NCHPEG)

Annotation: The National Coalition for Health Professional Education in Genetics (NCHPEG) promotes health professional education and access to information about advances in human genetics. NCHPEG develops educational tools and resources to facilitate the integration of genetics into the health professional practice and works to strengthen and expand the interdisciplinary community of organizations and individuals committed to coordinated national genetics education for health professionals.  NCHPEG provides technical assistance to individuals, organizations, and health professionals who have questions about genetics or genetics education; supports cultural diversity initiatives; and provides information on contracts and grants. The coalition also maintains the search engine and listserv, Genetics Resources on the Web (Grow), and a clearinghouse of genetics education materials. Resources are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Genetics, Biological sciences, Clearinghouses, Genetics education, Health education, Information sources, Interdisciplinary approach, Online databases, Publications

Society for Pediatric and Perinatal Epidemiologic Research (SPER)

Annotation: The Society for Pediatric and Perinatal Epidemiologic Research (SPER) is an organization of individuals from a wide variety of disciplines who share a common interest: the epidemiology of pregnancy, infancy, and childhood. The objective of the Society is to foster pediatric and perinatal epidemiologic research. This research includes the study of any factors that influence maternal health and the health and development of children, from their conception through their adolescence. The Society was formed in 1988, and holds an annual meeting each June, immediately preceding the meeting of the Society for Epidemiologic Research (SER). The website contains SPER's newsletter and information on SPER officers, membership, jobs, and fellowships.

Keywords: Children, Epidemiology, Infants, Interdisciplinary approach, MCH research, Perinatal health, Pregnancy, Professional societies

University Centers of Excellence in Developmental Disabilities Education, Research, and Service (UCEDD)

Annotation: The University Centers for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities Education, Research, and Service (UCEDD) are a network of interdisciplinary, university-based centers that work to advance policy and practice for and with individuals with developmental and other disabilities, their families, and communities. Sixty one centers located in every state and territory facilitate the flow of disability-related information between communities and universities. The centers work with individuals with disabilities, members of their families, state and local government agencies, and community providers in projects that provide training, technical assistance, service, research, and information sharing, with a focus on building the capacity of communities to sustain all their citizens.

Keywords: Developmental disability programs, Community role, Education, Information networks, Interdisciplinary approach, Research, Special health care needs, Special health care services, University affiliated centers

Wellesley Centers for Women

Annotation: The Wellesley Centers for Women (WCW) unites the Center for Research on Women and the Stone Center for Developmental Services and Studies in Interdisciplinary Efforts to promote positive change for women and girls. Center scholars conduct research, training, and analysis, and search for ways to translate findings into obtainable goals. WCW conducts conferences and publishes reports, papers, audiotapes, and videotapes on a variety of topics including adolescence, aging, feminism, sexuality, violence, child care, parenting, work and family, education, mental health, and psychological development.

Keywords: Women, Aging, Child care, Gender discrimination, Human development, Interdisciplinary approach, Mental health, Parenting, Research, Sexuality, Work family issues

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.