Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety is a broad-based alliance of consumer, safety, and law enforcement groups, insurance companies, and insurance agent organizations. These groups work together to promote adoption of effective highway safety legislation, standards, policies, and programs at national and state levels to reduce deaths, injuries, and economic costs associated with motor vehicle crashes. Services to consumers include limited referrals. Their informational brochure is available free by written request.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Traffic safety, Transportation injuries

Annotation: The Aquatic Injury Safety Foundation (AISF) is an educational organization that promotes safe aquatic practices. The foundation provides information on swimming safety and prevention of child drowning or near-drowning accidents, and it supplies "No Diving" signs to pools and swimming facilities.

Keywords: Aquatic injuries, Injuries, Spinal cord injuries, injury prevention

Annotation: Founded in 1980, the Brain Injury Association of America seeks to create a better future through brain injury prevention, research, education and advocacy. Services to consumers include inquiry responses, information packets, and referrals to local resources. Publications include The National Directory of Brain Injury Rehabilitation Services, various brochures, including the eight-part "Road to Rehabilitation" series. Some materials are available in Spanish. The association also sponsors workshops, conferences, training seminars, and Brain Surgery Awareness Month in March.

Keywords: Advocacy, Brain injuries, Support groups, Education, Injury prevention, Intervention, Long term care, Rehabilitation, Research, Therapeutics, Trauma

Annotation: The Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts (BIAMA), an affiliate of the National Brain Injury Association, works to ensure appropriate services for the care and rehabilitation of Massachusetts residents who have sustained brain injuries and their families. The association develops support systems and promotes public awareness of traumatic brain injury and its consequences. BIAMA publishes a newsletter and sponsors training seminars and conferences. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Brain injuries, Head injuries

Annotation: The Burn Foundation promotes optimal burn care and works to prevent burn injury. It provides financial and program support to four regional burn treatment centers in southeastern Pennsylvania, southern New Jersey, and Delaware. The foundation is a depository of national burn data source information and also maintains an extensive database on the injury circumstances and hospital treatment costs to its four member burn centers. The organization publishes a newsletter and sponsors training seminars.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Burns, Financial support, Fires, Information services, Residential injuries, Scalds

Annotation: Established in 1993 at the Teaching Research Institute, a division of Western Oregon University, the Center on Brain Injury Research and Training (CBIRT) conducts research and training to improve the lives of children and adults with traumatic brain injury (TBI). CBIRT’s research focuses on developing interventions to improve outcomes related to education, employability, and quality of life. Training activities promote the use of best practices among educators and other professionals who serve individuals with TBI.

Keywords: Brain damage, Children, Injuries, MCH research, Transition to independent living, Trauma

Annotation: The Children's Safety Network (CSN) National Injury and Violence Prevention Resource Center works with state and territorial Title V, maternal and child health, and injury and violence prevention programs to strengthen their capacity to create healthy, safe, and injury-free communities for children and families. The website contains state-specific injury fact sheets; information about specific injuries; best practices and strategies for implementation, key publications; links to related organizations, agencies, and resources; and webinars and other events. CSN's e-newsletter provides information about federal and national initiatives, research articles and best practices, and injury data. CSN is funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration’s, Maternal and Child Health Bureau and provides services at no cost.

Keywords: Children, Injury prevention, National MCH resource center, Resource centers, Unintentional injuries, Violence prevention

Annotation: The Christopher and Dana Reeve Paralysis Resource Center (PRC) offers resources on spinal cord injury, paralysis and mobility related disabilities. The PRC is a program created by the Christopher Reeve Foundation (CRF) to provide a comprehensive, national source of information for people living with paralysis and their caregivers to promote health, foster involvement in the community and improve quality of life.

Keywords: Resource centers, Paraysis, Information services, Spina cord injuries

Annotation: The Christopher Reeve Paralysis Foundation (CRPF), formerly the American Paralysis Association, is a national nonprofit organization that is committed to funding research that develops treatments and cures for paralysis caused by spinal cord injury and cures for paralysis caused by spinal cord injury and other central nervous system disorders. The Foundation also vigorously works to improve the quality of life for people living with disabilities through its grants program, paralysis resource center, and advocacy efforts. CRPF publishes a newsletter and a resource guide, sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars, and provides inquiry responses, reference information, and publications for consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Paralysis, Spinal cord injuries

Annotation: The Consumer Federation of America (CFA) was established in 1968 as a nonprofit organization of national, state, and local groups committed to consumer advocacy and education. The federation lobbies for the passage of legislation to protect consumers in such areas as energy, food, health and safety, communications, handicaps, insurance, transportation, and the environment. Publications include CFA News, policy updates, studies, testimony, and more than a dozen consumer publications on topics ranging from managing consumer debt to resolving consumer complaints to safeguarding playgrounds. CFA's State and Local Resource Center, funded by Consumers Union and others, seeks to strengthen grassroots consumer organizations through grants, technical assistance, workshops, publications, and other services.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Advocacy, Bicycle helmets, Child health, Consumer Product Safety Network, Consumer education, Consumer education materials, Data, National organization, Residential injuries

Annotation: The Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) evaluates the safety of products sold to the public, including children's furniture and toys. The commission receives safety-related complaints about these products through its toll-free hotline or its website. Safety-related publications can be downloaded from CPSC's Electronic Reading Room (searchable by subject) or ordered, free-of-charge, in print formats. Many materials are available in Spanish, Chinese, Tagalog, Korean, and Portuguese. The website also provides access to consumer product-related statistics and the National Electronic Surveillance System( a national probability sample of hospitals in the U.S.). A special section of the website is designed for children.

Keywords: Safety, Data, Data collection, Data profiles, Federal agencies, Hotlines, Injury prevention, Injury surveillance systems, NEISS, Product safety, Publications, Recreational injuries, Residential injuries, Spanish language materials, Toy injuries, Toy labeling, Toy safety, Transportation injuries

Annotation: The Foundation for Spinal Cord Injury Prevention (FSCIP) strives to prevent spinal cord injuries from all causes, particularly from diving, automobile accidents, falls, and gunshot wounds. FSCIP provides consumers with miscellaneous articles and prevention information.

Keywords: Injuries, Spinal cord injuries, injury prevention

Annotation: The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) is an independent nonprofit research and communications organization dedicated to reducing highway deaths, injuries, and property damage. The Institute conducts crash tests and produces films, research reports and other publications on traffic and motor vehicle safety that are available to consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Data, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle injuries, Research

Annotation: The International Association of Dental Traumatology (IADT) is a non-profit, public benefit professional organization whose mission is to promote optimal prevention, research, and treatment service in the field of traumatic dental injuries through interaction with dental and medical colleagues, the public, and interested parties in education, sports, industry and appropriate governmental agencies. IADT produces a journal and a mobile application, and hosts the International World Congress on Dental Traumatology. The website provides information for patients and professionals. Topics include IADT membership, administration, guidelines, fellowship, educational material, social media, and partnerships.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental societies, Facial injuries, International health, Trauma care

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) is charged with primary responsibility for promoting and improving the health of our Nation's mothers and children. As part of the Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, MCHB administers Title V of the Social Security Act. MCHB's mission is to provide national leadership and to work in partnership with States, communities, public-private partners, and families to strengthen the maternal and child infrastructure, assure the availability and use of medical homes, and build knowledge and human resources in order to assure continued improvement in the health, safety, and well-being of the maternal and child health population. MCHB administers major programs including the Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant, the Healthy Start Initiative, the Emergency Medical Services for Children Program, Traumatic Brain Injury, and the Universal Newborn Hearing Screening Program. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. MCHB also provides a national hotline for prenatal care information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Brain injuries, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Emergency medical services for children, Federal agencies, Healthy Start, Hearing screening, Hotlines, Infant health, MCH programs, MCH services, Maternal health, Perinatal health, Title V programs

Annotation: Missouri Head Injury Advisory Council offers services to consumers that include referrals, reference information, and publications. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Advocacy, Head injuries, Information services, Long term care, Missouri, Public education, Rehabilitation, State initiatives

Annotation: The National Association of State EMS Directors (NASEMSD) brings together the emergency medical services (EMS) directors of each state, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. territories. The association provides leadership in developing effective emergency medical systems and helps to formulate national EMS policy. It also sponsors an annual conference, and maintains databases on U.S. ambulance services and on physicians who provide medical direction to EMS provider agencies.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Ambulances, Child health, Child injury, Emergency Medical System, Injuries, Injury prevention, National organizations, Resources for professionals, Therapeutics, Trauma

Annotation: The National Association of State Head Injury Administrators (NASHIA) assists state government in promoting partnerships and building systems to meet the needs of individuals with brain injury and their families. The association sponsors an annual educational meeting, provides technical assistance to state agency employees, and represents members' interests to the federal government.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Head injuries

Annotation: The National Center for Bicycling and Walking (NCBW), formerly the Campaign to Make America Walkable, is a national, nonprofit organization that provides training and technical assistance to local, state, and national bicycle, pedistrian, health, and transportation professionals and advocates to enhance government policies, programs, and procedures to create more bicycle-friendly and walkable community. NCBW provides consulting services in the areas of long-range planning, policy development, and planning and design guidelines for bicycle and pedestrian facilities. The center also offers training programs for public health and transportation agencies, and organizes and manages workshops and conferences, including the biennial Pro Bike/Pro Walk conference. In addition, NCBW produces CenterLines, a free biweekly eNewsletter.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Pedestrian safety, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) began studying motor vehicle, home, and recreational injuries in the early 1970s and violence prevention in 1983. From these early activities grew a national program to reduce injury, disability, death, and costs associated with injuries outside the workplace. in June 1992, CDC established the National Center for Injury Prevention and Control (NCIPC). As the lead federal agency for injury prevention, NCIPC works closely with other federal agencies; national, state, and local organizations; state and local health departments; and research institutions. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. NCIPC publishes a newsletter, supports research, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Agricultural injuries, Bicycle helmets, Car seats, Data, Domestic violence, Federal initiatives, Gun violence, Head injuries, Household injuries, Injuries, School injuries, School violence, Sports injuries, Unintentional injuries, Violence