Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: 211 LA County provides access to a comprehensive range of human services to the people of Los Angeles County, California. It also provides access to the Taxonomy of Human Services, a classification system for indexing resources in information and referral databases that was developed by INFO LINE of Los Angeles, the predecessor to 211 LA County, and that is endorsed by the national association Alliance for Information and Referral Systems and United Way of America as the standard indexing system for the industry.

Keywords: California, Human services, Information systems, Local initiatives, Referrals

Annotation: ACT (Assets Coming Together) for Youth connects positive youth development resources and research to practice in New York State and beyond. The ACT for Youth Center of Excellence provides technical support, training, and evaluation for youth-serving programs funded by the NYS Department of Health, youth development and adolescent sexual health resources housed on the ACT for Youth Web site, a home base for the ACT Youth Network, which connects young community activists across New York State.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Advocacy, New York, Sexual health, State initiatives, Youth development, Youth services

Annotation: The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) is a family of health care databases and related software tools and products developed through a federal-state-industry partnership and sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUP databases bring together the data collection efforts of state data organizations, hospital associations, private data organizations, and the federal government to create a national information resource of client-level health care data. HCUP includes a collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States, with all-payer, encounter-level information beginning in 1988. The databases enable research on a broad range of health policy issues, including cost and quality of health services, medical practice patterns, access to health care programs, and outcomes of treatments at the national, state, and local market levels. H-CUPnet, a free, online query system based on data from HCUP, provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department use.

Keywords: Databases, Federal initiatives, Health care costs, Health care utilization, Health policy, Hospitals, Public private partnerships, Research

Annotation: The Alliance for Work / Life Progress (AWLP) is a membership organization that strives to promote the professionalism of those working in the work-life arena and to influence better integration of work and family life. Services to members include publications; an annual conference; training seminars; a bimonthly newsletter; regional events; referrals and networking; insurance; subscription discounts; and professional involvement. The Web site includes a directory of local work-life groups. AWLP was founded as the Alliance for Work / Life Professionals and the name was changed in 2003.

Keywords: Child care, Employer initiatives

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) works to improve children's oral health through communication and collaboration between the medical and dental homes, and makes pediatricians and other health professionals an essential part of the oral health team. Through the Section on Oral Health and Chapter Oral Health Advocates, the AAP provides education, training, and advocacy for pediatricians, dentists, other health professionals, and families. The Children's Oral Health effort promotes oral health care in primary pediatric settings by giving anticipatory guidance to families, educates and advocates for primary pediatric care professionals to apply fluoride varnish, and educates policymakers and payers about the importance of reimbursement for pediatric oral health care.

Keywords: Initiatives, Oral health

Annotation: The American Dental Association's Give Kids a Smile Children's Dental Access Program (GKAS) is a professional and industry alliance dedicated to the elimination of cavities in U.S. five year olds by 2020 by nurturing and enhancing community-based children's oral health and wellness programs that are expandable, sustainable, and innovative. Each year on the first Friday in February, dental teams provide free oral health care services to children from families with low incomes across the country. The GKAS website provides a planning toolbox for local programs, resources and reports, information about sponsors and products, and frequently asked questions.

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Dental care, Initiatives, Low income groups, Oral health

Annotation: The Best Babies Zone (BBZ) Initiative is a multi-sector approach to reducing infant mortality and racial disparities in birth outcomes and improving birth and health outcomes by mobilizing communities to address the social determinants that affect health. The uniqueness of this national initiative lies in the fact that not only is the approach zonal, but it is comprehensive – addressing four critical sectors – economics, education, health, and community – in order to strengthen environments that support better and healthier outcomes. BBZ is funded by the W.K. Kellogg Foundation and is being implemented in three cities – Cincinnati, Ohio; New Orleans, Louisiana; and Oakland, California.

Keywords: Barriers, Cities, Communities, Community action, Environmental influences, Infant mortality, National initiatives, Public private partnerships, Racial factors, Risk factors, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: The Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington (BCW) is a statewide coalition comprised of local coalitions working together to promote, protect and support breastfeeding as a vital part of the health and development of children and families. It is a program of WithinReach and receives funding from the Washington State Department of Health. BCW goals include protecting and promoting a public environment supportive and accepting of breastfeeding; increasing the incidence and duration of breastfeeding; providing up-to-date referral and educational materials to healthcare professionals, organizations and the community at large; advocating for policies in workplaces, educational institutions and childcare facilities to support breastfeeding families in a way that is culturally relevant and sensitive. The BCW offers a free newsletter, Breastfeeding Matters.

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Coalitions, Lactation, Referrals, State initiatives, Washington

Keywords: Child health, Disease prevention, National initiatives, Oral health

Annotation: The California Maternal Quality Care Collaborative is devoted to eliminating preventable maternal death and injury and promoting equitable maternity care in California by bringing resources, tools, measures, and quality improvement techniques to providers, administrators, and public health leaders. The web site offers current information about California maternal outcomes, specific projects that are in process, annotated bibliographies of important topics, resources developed or have received from other organizations, key links, and specific information to assist in performing quality improvement for maternity topics. The site also serves as a communications tool for the many CMQCC committees that are working on state-wide projects.

Keywords: Research, California, Health services delivery, Maternal health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Quality assurance, State initiatives

Annotation: The Center for Latino Community Health, Evaluation, and Leadership Training is a partnership between the National Council of La Raza and California State University, Long Beach to improve the health of the Latino community on local, regional, and national levels. The center develops health programs for underserved Latino communities, provides technical assistance to organizations already serving in this capacity, and furnishes Latino communities with the research and education needed to facilitate the development of effective health programs and policies.

Keywords: Community programs, Health policy, Hispanic Americans, Leadership training, National initiatives, Program development, Program evaluation, Public private partnerships, Training

Annotation: The Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation (Innovation Center), in partnership with the health care industry, the business community, and clients and their families, examines new care and payment models that improve and sustain the Medicare and Medicaid/Children's Health Insurance Programs for beneficiaries and the health care system at large. Website contents include news, events, and funding opportunities.

Keywords: Children', Diffusion of innovation, Federal grants, Federal initiatives, Health care financing, Medicaid, Medicare, Program improvement, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: CDC's DES Update is a national health education program funded by the U.S. Congress and developed in partnership with the National Cancer Institute (NCI) and many other organizations. The DES Update has been developed to provide the public and health care providers with the most current and accurate information about DES, including resources to help people learn about related health risks and find current research related to DES exposure.

Keywords: Diethylstilbestrol, Estrogens, Federal initiatives, Men', Pregnancy, Premature labor, Public awareness campaigns, Teratogens, Women', s health, s health

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Public Health Law Program (CDC PHLP) has these goals: to improve the understanding and use of law as a public health tool; to develop CDC’s capacity to apply law to achievement of its Health Protection Goals; and to develop the legal preparedness of the public health system to address all public health priorities. The program (1) develops practical, law-centered tools for practitioners and policy makers in all relevant sectors; (2) engages practitioners and policy makers in identifying priorities and in developing and applying legal tools; (3) addresses all four core elements of public health legal preparedness: laws and legal authorities; competencies; coordination across sectors and jurisdictions; and, scientific and best-practices information; (4) provides consultation to CDC programs and partners; and (5) establishes partnerships linking CDC and all partners active in public health law.

Keywords: Collaboration, Federal initiatives, Legal issues, Public health

Annotation: Child Care Resources (CCRI) is a private, non-profit child care resource and referral agency that works with families and communities to ensure that all children have access to high quality, affordable early learning and school-age opportunities and experiences that enable them to succeed in school and life. Centers of expertise include family information services, program and business consultation, financial aid, and research and policy development. It serves Mecklenburg, Cabarrus, Union, Rowan, and Stanly counties in North Carolina.

Keywords: Child care, County initiatives, North Carolina, Referrals, State organizations

Keywords: City health agencies, Local MCH programs, Local initiatives, Wisconsin

Annotation: The Commonwealth Fund is a private foundation that supports independent research on health and social issues and makes grants to improve health care practice and policy. Its two national program areas are improving health insurance coverage and access to care and improving the quality of health care services. The fund is dedicated to helping people become more informed about their health care and improving care for vulnerable populations. Focus areas include child health and development, underserved populations (including the delivery of culturally competence services), and patient-centered care. T he fund sponsors a national initiative, Healthy Steps for Young Children, focused on the first three years of life. This program supports a close relationship between health professionals and parents addressing the physical, emotional, and intellectual development of very young children.

Keywords: Child health, Foundations, Infant health, Initiatives

Annotation: Through advocacy, coalition building, and education the Connecticut Oral Health Initiative (COHI) creates a public conscience that results in access to oral health care for all.

Keywords: Oral health, Access to health care, Advocacy, Coalitions, Public health education, State initiatives

Annotation: The Connecting Smiles initiative aims to improve oral health of the citizens of South Carolina by strengthening the linkage between individuals, community-based programs and medical and dental providers.

Keywords: Oral health, South Carolina, State initiatives

Annotation: The Disability and Health Data System (DHDS) is a state-level disability surveillance tool designed to assist partners, researchers, advocates, and the general public in the assessment of the health and wellness of people with disabilities. The DHDS features three types of data: disability, psychological distress, and disability-associated health care expenditures. The data are presented in a variety of formats including interactive maps and data tables. The display options provide users with the ability to identify location-specific data for a single time period, along with multiple time period trends. Users can view the data by states, territories, divisions, and regions. The tool was developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in the Division of Human Development and Disability at the National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities.

Keywords: Assessment, Data sources, Disabilities, Health care costs, Population surveillance, State initiatives, Stress