Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 16 (16 total).

Adoption Exchange Association (AED)

Annotation: The Adoption Exchange Association (AEA) provides a forum for the exchange of ideas and strategies, collaboration on issues of mutual interest, and increased effectiveness in using resources to provide waiting children permanent homes. AEA connects representatives of state, regional, and national adoption exchanges, including placement agencies, parents, child welfare professionals, and concerned citizens across the United States. The association has developed Standards for Adoption Exchanges, which can be ordered from the Web site, along with other materials exploring various aspects of the adoption process. AEA also offers information packets on children waiting for adoption and resources within individual states.

Keywords: Adoption, Agencies, Collaboration, Information networks, Information services, Standards

American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation, Peers for Progress

Annotation: Peers for Progress is a program of the American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation and supported by the Eli Lilly and Company Foundation. The program was founded in 2006 to promote peer support as a key part of health, health care, and prevention around the world. Activities include promoting peer support programs, developing a global network of peer support programs, and hosting a global web page to circulate program materials and curricula.

Keywords: Information networks, International programs, Networking, Peer counseling, Peer education, Peer groups, Peer support programs

ARCH National Respite Network and Resource Center (ARCH)

Annotation: ARCH National Respite Network and Resource Center assists and promotes the development of quality respite and crisis care programs in the United States. The ARCH National Respite Network includes the National Respite Locator, a service to help caregivers and professionals locate respite services in their community; the National Respite Coalition, a service that advocates for preserving and promoting respite in policy and programs at the national, state, and local levels; and the Respite Technical Assistance Center, which is funded by the U.S. Administration on Aging. ARCH National Respite Network and Resource Center is a project of the Chapel Hill Training-Outreach Project.

Keywords: Advocacy, Coalitions, Crisis intervention, Family support services, Information networks, Life course, Resource centers, Respite care, Special health care needs, Technical assistance

California Distance Learning Health Network (CDLHN)

Annotation: California Distance Learning Health Network (CDLHN), a non-profit organization under the Graduate School of Public Health at San Diego State University, utilizes technology to bring educational opportunities to people in the state, across the nation, and around the world. CDLHN utilizes satellite broadcasts, webcasts, video and CD-ROM presentations, as well as live on-site training through the Skills Training Institute (a division of the California Distance Learning Health Network) to inform health care workers and the general public interested in the health related issues.  CDLHN links clients to the latest information on public health and safety issues, as well as provides access to continuing educational opportunities. The Web site offers a course listing, a discussion forum, an online skills institute, news, a course facilitator list, and more.

Keywords: Distance education, Information networks, Public health, Technology

Healthy Child Care America (HCCA)

Annotation: The Healthy Child Care America (HCCA) campaign is a nationally focused initiative jointly sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Child Care Bureau (CCB) and Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) and was originally implemented from 1995 through 2005. The campaign focused on linking together pediatricians, other health professionals, child care providers, and parents to ensure that all children have access to quality, nurturing child care environments and a medical home. The campaign continues to be funded though the Child Care and Health Partnership grant from the CCB and MCHB. The website contains health and safety fact sheets, a list of child care contacts for the American Academy of Pediatrics, policy materials, and other resources.

Keywords: Government programs, Child health, Access to health care, Campaigns, Child care, Child safety, Information dissemination, Provider networks

HHS Center for New Media

Annotation: The HHS Center for New Media promotes and supports the strategic implementation of new media across the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services in health, communications, and government. The website provides a list of tools and providers that offer federal-compatible terms of service; standards and policies that impact the use of new media, and other resources. Media described on the site include social networks, photo and video networks, blogs, podcasts, and others.

Keywords: Communications, Federal agencies, Information networks, Interactive media

Home Visiting Research Network (HVRN)

Annotation: The Home Visiting Research Network (HVRN) at Johns Hopkins University is a national network to strengthen the role of home visiting as part of a comprehensive system of services for expectant families and families with young children. The website provides information about professional development for home visiting researchers and HVRN presentations, publications, and other media. HVRN is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Home visiting, Information networks, MCH research, National initiatives, Professional education

Mountain States Genetics Regional Collaborative (MSGRCC )

Annotation: The Mountain States Genetics Regional Collaborative (MSGRC) -- formerly the Mountain States Genetic Network -- is a consortium of providers and consumers of genetic services in Arizona, Colorado, Montana, New Mexico, Texas, Utah, Wyoming, and Nevada. Members include representatives of state health departments, university medical schools, genetic services laboratories, hospitals, private medical practices, and various consumer organizations. The group is a regional network that provides a forum for problem sharing and solving, provides referrals, promotes efficient use of resources, and facilitates improvement of the quality and quantity of genetic services offered in the Mountain States region. The network maintains an online events calendar and provides links to genetics centers and resources.

Keywords: Genetics, Arizona, Colorado, Consortia, Data collection, Genetic counseling, Genetic services, Information services, Montana, New Mexico, Problem solving, Regional genetics networks, Utah, Wyoming

National Alliance for Grieving Children

Annotation: The National Alliance for Grieving Children (NAGC) promotes awareness of the needs of children and adolescents grieving a death and provides a network for nationwide communication between professionals and volunteers who want to share ideas, information and resources with each other to better support the children and families they serve in their own communities. NAGC offers online education, hosts an annual symposium on children's grief, maintains a national database of children's bereavement support programs, and promotes national awareness to enhance public sensitivity to the issues impacting grieving children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Bereavement, Children, Communication, Community based services, Databases, Distance education, Families, Family support programs, Information networks, National initiatives

National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC)

Annotation: The purpose of the National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) is to increase the capacity of health and mental health programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems. The Center provides technical assistance and consultation, networking opportunities, and information for health professionals and policymakers about designing, implementing, and evaluating culturally competent health services, including services for children with special health care needs and their families. Resources and publications include policy briefs, checklists, self assessments, promising practices, distance learning, and conference information. The center's Web site includes a Spanish language portal for families.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Guidelines, Infant care, Information networks, Information sources, Linguistic competence, National MCH resource center, Networking, Program development, Program evaluation, Publications, Resource centers, SIDS, Spanish language materials, Title V programs, Training

National Dental Practice-Based Research Network (NDPBRN)

Annotation: The National Dental Practice-Based Research Network (NDPBRN) provides an opportunity for oral health professionals to propose or participate in research studies that address day-to-day issues in oral health care. The NDPBRN's headquarters at the University of Alabama at Birmingham serves as the national administrative hub that leads and oversees six regional research sites in Rochester, NY; Gainesville, FL; Birmingham, AL; Minneapolis, MN: San Antonio, TX; and Portland, OR. The website provides regional contact information; study highlights; and news, announcements, and participant interviews.

Keywords: Dentistry, Federal initiatives, Information networks, Oral health, Research, Resources for professionals

Public Health Television (PHTv)

Annotation: Public Health Television (PHTv) is a digital communications network designed to reach society's most vulnerable populations with information that can advance positive health and social outcomes. PHTv delivers health education and wellness programming to its network of flat-panel LCD television displays located in the reception areas of federally certified rural health clinics (RHCs), federally qualified health centers (FQHCs), and select public health facilities. The PHTv Network reaches patients / viewers at the point-of-care with targeted, culturally tailored and linguistically appropriate programming that creates awareness, encourages healthy outcomes, and motivates individuals to adopt recommended behaviors.

Keywords: Clinics, Consumer education materials, Health education, Information networks, Media, Prevention programs

Southeastern Regional Genetics Group (SERGG)

Annotation: The Southeastern Regional Genetics Group (SERGG) is a network of providers of clinical genetic services, public health departments, consumers, and related laboratory services working together with affected individuals and their families. SERGG collects and disseminates information about genetic services, newborn screening programs, and other public health services related to genetics in the region, and supports research to promote better genetic services. The Group works to enhance the quality of genetic services in the Southeastern Region which includes the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands and to provide a forum for exchange of information among professionals who provide genetic services and the consumers of these services in the southeastern region of the United States.

Keywords: Regional genetics networks, Alabama, Consortia, Data collection, Florida, Genetic counseling, Genetic services, Genetics, Georgia, Information services, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Problem solving, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virgin Islands

U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Patient Network

Annotation: The Patient Network, a part of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), works to help patients, patient advocates, and their health professionals connect with the FDA. The network's website provides information on FDA advisory committees and initiatives, and frequently asked questions. Topics include how to get involved; learning how drugs and devices get approved; clinical trials; and treatment options such as understanding investigational drugs, expanded access, and off-label use of approved drugs. Visitors can also subscribe to Patient Network News to receive website updates via e-mail.

Keywords: Consumer education, Consumers, Drugs, Federal agencies, Information networks, Medical devices, Participation, Patient advocacy, Therapeutics

University Centers of Excellence in Developmental Disabilities Education, Research, and Service (UCEDD)

Annotation: The University Centers for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities Education, Research, and Service (UCEDD) are a network of interdisciplinary, university-based centers that work to advance policy and practice for and with individuals with developmental and other disabilities, their families, and communities. Sixty one centers located in every state and territory facilitate the flow of disability-related information between communities and universities. The centers work with individuals with disabilities, members of their families, state and local government agencies, and community providers in projects that provide training, technical assistance, service, research, and information sharing, with a focus on building the capacity of communities to sustain all their citizens.

Keywords: Developmental disability programs, Community role, Education, Information networks, Interdisciplinary approach, Research, Special health care needs, Special health care services, University affiliated centers

World Health Organization (WHO)

Annotation: The maternal and child health activities of the World Health Organization (WHO) are coordinated by the Department of Reproductive Health and Research. The Web side provides links to WHO projects, initiatives, activities, information products (including databases), and contacts, organized by health and developmental topic. In 2005 WHO initiated a Global Observatory for eHealth, which provides information and guidance on effective practices, policies, and standards in the use of information and communication technologies for health. WHO also provides a Global Health Library that points to resources around the world on many health topics.

Keywords: Computers, Overseas organization, Child health, Communication, Developing countries, Environmental health, Information networks, International health, Maternal health, Professional societies

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.