Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Alliance of Information and Referral Systems (AIRS) is a professional association of community information and referral providers. AIRS works to enhance the capacity of I&R providers to better serve their communities. The organization develops service standards, sponsors training conferences, produces publications (including a newsletter and a journal), and maintains an I&R clearinghouse.

Keywords: Information systems, Clearinghouses, Community based services, Referrals, Resources for professionals, Standards

Annotation: The American Geriatrics Society (AGS) is an association of health care providers dedicated to improving the health and well-being of all older adults. AGS advocates for high quality, comprehensive accessible care and promotes research that expands knowledge of the aging process and the health care problems of older adults. The society provides public education and information and conducts education programs for health professionals. Publications include patient education materials, periodicals including the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society, and AGS's Complete Guide to Aging and Health (for lay audiences). Membership is open to anyone with an interest in geriatric health care.

Keywords: Older adults, Advocacy, Aging, Educational materials, Geriatrics, Information sources, Patient education, Policy development, Professional education, Public education, Public policy, Publications , Resources for professionals

Annotation: The U.S. Census Bureau collects, tabulates, and disseminates data on the social and economic characteristics of the United States, including demographic, socioeconomic, and housing data for metropolitan statistical areas. It provides publications and reference information to consumers. It informs its customers about the full range of products on the Internet and in newsletters and an annual catalog. Most data are available either on the internet or on CD-ROM products.

Keywords: Statistics, CD-Roms, Data analysis, Data collection, Data sources, Databases, Federal agencies, Information for professionals, Information sources, Online databases, Population, Publications, Reference materials

Annotation: Health Literacy Media (HLM, formerly Health Literacy Missouri) advocates for health literacy issues at the state and national level, working to effect policy change, inform stakeholders, and support and initiate grassroots and community activities. HLM provides fee-based services, programs, and materials to corporations, organizations, and health professionals. Services include a speakers bureau, readability services, field-testing of translated materials, training, program evaluation, printed and online material, local media communications, and building capacity for statewide initiatives.

Keywords: Advocacy, Health literacy, Information services, Resources for professionals, Training

Annotation: The National Alliance for Hispanic Health (NAHH) is a network of Hispanic health and human service providers that focuses on improving the health and well being of Hispanics. The alliance maintains the National Hispanic Family Health Helpline (866-783-2645) which offers Hispanic consumers free reliable and confidential health information in Spanish and English.Services to consumers includes referrals to local sources of information and medical services, inquiry responses, publications, and reference information.

Keywords: Hispanic Americans, Adolescent health, Child abuse, Child health, Education, Information services, Injury prevention, Minority health, Minority health promotion, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Substance abuse, Training

Annotation: Founded in 1985 by the American Prosecutors Research Institute in response to a dramatic increase in reported child abuse cases, the National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse (NCPCA) works to improve the investigation and prosecution of child abuse through court reform, professional specialization, and interagency coordination. The center provides training and technical assistance, research services, a national network of child abuse prosecutors (through the National District Attorneys Association), and a clearinghouse on case law, court reforms, legislative initiatives, and trial strategies. Publications include a comprehensive manual, Investigation and Prosecution of Child Abuse, and a monthly newsletter, Update.

Keywords: Child abuse, Advocacy, Child advocacy, Clearinghouses, Information dissemination, Injury prevention, Legal issues, Resources for professionals, Training

Annotation: The National Dental Practice-Based Research Network (NDPBRN) provides an opportunity for oral health professionals to propose or participate in research studies that address day-to-day issues in oral health care. The NDPBRN's headquarters at the University of Alabama at Birmingham serves as the national administrative hub that leads and oversees six regional research sites in Rochester, NY; Gainesville, FL; Birmingham, AL; Minneapolis, MN: San Antonio, TX; and Portland, OR. The website provides regional contact information; study highlights; and news, announcements, and participant interviews.

Keywords: Dentistry, Federal initiatives, Information networks, Oral health, Research, Resources for professionals

Annotation: The National Prevention Information Network (NPIN) is the U.S. reference and referral service for information on HIV/AIDS, viral hepatitis, sexually transmitted diseases (STDs), and tuberculosis (TB). NPIN is a clearinghouse and collaborative community that collects and disseminates data and materials and enables prevention professionals on the international, national, state, and local levels to connect and share. Services are designed to facilitate program collaboration in sharing information, resources, published materials, research, and trends among the four diseases. Services include a social community, a database of providers, education materials, funding opportunities, research on health communication campaigns, campaign planning resources, training resources, and digital media tools.

Keywords: AIDS, Disease prevention, HIV, Hepatitis, Sexually transmitted diseases, Information services, Online databases, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Tuberculosis