Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: Bright Futures at Georgetown University provides online and print access to the Bright Futures child health supervision materials sponsored by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration. The Georgetown project serves as liaison to the Bright Futures Distribution Center; provides access to content experts and to electronic training tools; maintains historical archives; and provides distance education for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) services. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Health supervision, Adolescents, Bright Futures, Children, Guidelines, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Bright Futures Pediatric Implementation Project examines barriers to health professionals' (e.g., pediatricians, nurses, family physicians, dentists, nurse practitioners) implementation of Bright Futures: Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children, and Adolescents and develops new strategies to improve implementation of the guidelines. The project is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Health supervision, Adolescents, Bright Futures, Children, Guidelines, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Bright Futures Education Center focuses on improving awareness of the importance of preventive services among health care professionals, public/private partners, communities, and families; revising Bright Futures: Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children, and Adolescents; and developing materials to assist in implementation of the guidelines. The center is funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Health supervision, Adolescents, Bright Futures, Children, Guidelines, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Center for Breastfeeding Information (CBI), part of La Leche League International, was established in 1989. CBI maintains a collection of about 40,000 articles on breastfeeding which can be searched at no charge using an online database. The center also provides bibliographies and links to breastfeeding information for consumers and professionals.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Mothers

Annotation: The Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) -- renamed by Congress in 2008 in honor of the Institute's founder -- supports and conducts research on topics related to the health of children, adults, families, and populations. The mission of the NICHD is to ensure that every person is born healthy and wanted; that women suffer no harmful effects from reproductive processes; that all children have the chance to achieve their full potential for healthy and productive lives, free from disease or disability; and to ensure the health, productivity, independence, and well-being of all people through optimal rehabilitation. Areas of emphasis include: events that happen prior to and throughout pregnancy and childhood, including infertility, pre-term birth, birth defects, developmental disabilities, and human learning and behavior; human growth and development across the lifespan, including nutrition, developmental biology, and congenital diseases; reproductive health and education about reproductive practices, including disorders affecting fertility and infertility, contraception, and sexually transmitted diseases/HIV/AIDS; and medical rehabilitation interventions for those affected by disabilities, including technology and assistive-device development, intervention evaluation, and health promotion and prevention of disabilities. The Center for Research for Mothers and Children, the Center for Population Research, the National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research, the Division of Epidemiology, Statistics, and Prevention Research, and the Division of Intramural Research comprise the NICHD. The Institute offers a wide range of materials for various audiences, from researchers to parents; many publications are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Congenital abnormalities, Infant health, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Medical research, Mental retardation, National Institutes of Health, Nutrition, Population dynamics, Publications, Reproductive health, Spanish language materials, Training

Keywords: Community health services, Infant care, Infant nutrition, Information sources, Low birthweight infants, Premature infants, Program descriptions

Annotation: The Human Milk Banking Association of North America has members in the United States and Canada. The association's milk banks not only provide milk to client hospitals but also serve many infants in the home who need milk because of medical conditions such as formula intolerance or feeding issues related to prematurity. Links to related resources are provided on the website and publications on establishing and operating donor human milk banks, as well as information on pumping, storing, and handling human milk can be purchased for a fee.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Associations, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Milk banks

Annotation: In 2008, a group of collaborators began an initiative to increase breastfeeding rates and decrease disparities in Illinois. HealthConnect One, the Illinois Department of Human Services' Title V Maternal and Child Health Program, and the University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health committed to a multi-year effort to plan for strategic change in the way breastfeeding is supported in Illinois. Efforts involve advocacy and promotion to new mothers, hospitals, and communities.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Health promotion, Illinois, Infant nutrition, State initiatives

Annotation: The International Lactation Consultant Association (ILCA) promotes the professional development, advancement, and recognition of International Board Certified Lactation Consultants (IBCLC) worldwide for the benefit of breastfeeding women, infants, and children. ILCA publishes a newsletter and a journal, sponsors workshops and conferences, and provides referrals, publications, database access, and inquiry responses for consumers.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Information dissemination, Lactation

Annotation: La Leche League International (LLLI) offers a variety of services for parents and professionals. Monthly support group meetings are available for pregnant women and nursing mothers and babies. A phone line, 800 LA LECHE, helps callers find ttheir local La Leche Leader who can answer questions and provide meeting information. International conferences, lactation specialist workshops, physicians' seminars, and area conferences are available. Products include books, pamphlets, nursing supplies, gifts, and more. All or parts of the website have been translated into Chinese, Dutch, French, German, Hebrew, Japanese, Italian, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and Ukrainian. Membership is available to mothers, families, and health professionals. The Center for Breastfeeding Information (CBI) provides research help on lactation topics. Peer counselor training is available and independent study modules for at-home professional learning. Subscriptions to member publications are available as well. LLLI's Web site provides information about services and contact information for groups all over the world.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Mothers, Spanish language materials

Annotation: Founded in May 1996, the Massachusetts Breastfeeding Coalition (MBC) arose out of a need for a statewide coalition to coordinate the efforts of many diverse breastfeeding advocacy groups in the Commonwealth. The MBC focuses on improving public health by making breastfeeding the norm through education, advocacy, and collaboration. Activities involve helping health care providers support and promote breastfeeding, prevent breastfeeding problems, and recognize them and solve them easily should they occur. All materials are evidence-based, free from commercial bias, and are available from the website at no cost.

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Massachusetts, State initiatives

Annotation: Maternal and Child Nutrition in Asia (MCNASIA) provides information about problems of malnutrition in mothers and children in 18 Asian countries.

Keywords: Asia, Child nutrition, Infant nutrition, Maternal nutrition

Annotation: The National Alliance for Breastfeeding Advocacy (NABA) is dedicated to the protection, promotion and support of breastfeeding as an integral part of a vision of wellness for the United States of America. It was formed to be the advocate who endeavors to link and facilitate those involved in national maternal/child health into a cohesive network to this end. NABA's mission is to coordinate efforts by organizations, agencies, institutions, and individuals towards the development of strategic plans, policies, and goals for breastfeeding reform in the USA. NABA provides promotional materials, publications, and a newsletter. Its Web site includes a directory of breastfeeding resources by state and a list of formula recalls.

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding promotion, Infant nutrition

Annotation: The Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) is a federally funded nutrition education program designed to assist low-income families and youth acquire the knowledge, skills, attitudes, and changed behaviors necessary for nutritionally sound diets and to contribute to their personal development and the improvement of total family diet and nutritional welfare. Extension professionals train and supervise paraprofessionals and volunteers who then teach food and nutrition information and skills to the participants. All nutrition education is tailored to the needs, interests, financial resources, ethnic backgrounds, and learning capabilities of EFNEP participants. Publications are available for consumers, and materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages, and other languages.

Keywords: Nutrition, Adolescent health, Diet, Education programs, Food handling, Health education, Infants, Low income groups, Maternal nutrition, Training

Annotation: The Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children - better known as the WIC Program - serves to safeguard the health of low-income women, infants, & children up to age 5 who are at nutritional risk by providing nutritious foods to supplement diets, information on healthy eating, and referrals to health care. The WIC program provides numerous educational materials for consumers and studies and reports for professionals. Materials are available in Arabic, Cambodian, Chinese, Haitian Creole, Croatian, Dakota, English, French, Hmong, Khmer, Korean, Laotian, Mandarin Chinese, Russian, Serbian, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, and Vietnamese. Topics include breastfeeding, infant and child nutrition and health, childhood overweight and obesity, counseling and education, dietary guidance, food buying and preparation, food safety, fruits and vegetables, medical and nutritional risk assessment, multicultural audiences, oral health, outreach and marketing, physical activity, pregnancy, and vitamins and minerals.

Keywords: Child nutrition, Federal agencies, Infant nutrition, Maternal nutrition

Annotation: The U.S. Breastfeeding Committee is a collaborative partnership of organizations whose mission is to protect, promote, and support breastfeeding in the United States. Topics include news and information, legislation and policy, coalitions, health care system, workplace, and family and community.

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding promotion, Infant nutrition

Annotation: Wellstart International strives to advance the knowledge, skills, and ability of health care providers regarding the promotion, protection, and support of optimal infant and maternal health and nutrition from conception through the completion of weaning. The Web site provides access to a wide variety of lactation management teaching tools for health are providers and a list of manuals, reports, parent education materials, and other print publications that can be purchased from Wellstart.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Educational materials, Health education, Infant health, Maternal health, Nutrition, Parent education, Professional education

Annotation: The WIC Works Resource System is an online resource for health and nutrition professionals serving in the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC). It is a joint project between the National Agricultural Library/Food and Nutrition Information Center, USDA/Food and Nutrition Service, and the University of Maryland. It provides information on pregnancy, breastfeeding, infant and child nutrition and health, assessment tools, nutrition education, nutrition services standards, and WIC food packages. It also provides online training modules, a sharing center, and databases. Some materials are available in Arabic, Bosnian, Chinese (both simplified and traditional), French, Hindi, Hmong, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Marshallese, Portuguese, Russian, Somali, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Keywords: Child nutrition, Consumer education materials, Federal agencies, Infant nutrition, Maternal nutrition