Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (38 total).

Alliance for Transforming the Lives of Children

Annotation: The Alliance for Transforming the Lives of Children (TLC) promotes optimal human development from preconception through early childhood, offering guidance about consciously conceiving, birthing, and nurturing children. The Alliance synthesyzes age-old wisdom and leading scientific research in its efforts to champion a compassionate culture, capable of enjoying, learning from, and responsively and lovingly interacting with children. TLC hosts an online discussion group, produces an electronic newsletter, and provides parent mentoring and educational services through its WarmLine family support program. The alliance also posts annoted reading lists and publications produced by affiliate organizations.

Keywords: , Mentors, Human development, Child care, Community participation, Family support programs, Infant care, Parent education, Parenting, Preconception care, Prenatal care

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Dental Home Resource Center

Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN)

Annotation: The Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN) is a not for profit association of 22,000 health care professionals who are dedicated to establishing and promoting the highest standards of nursing practice, education, and research to improve the health and health care of women and newborns. The association sponsors conferences and training seminars, and produces professional and consumer journals, publications, and other resources. Its Web site includes a Prematurity Resource Center which links to information about prematurity.

Keywords: Gynecology, Neonatal nursing, Nursing, Nursing specialties, Obstetrical nursing, Perinatal care, Premature infants, Prenatal care, Reproductive health

Birthing the Future

Annotation: Birthing the Future is a nonprofit organization that gathers, synthesizes, and disseminates wisdom about birthing and the care of mothers and babies from pre-conception to the first birthday. Birthing the Future blends ancient feminine wisdom with modern scientific and clinical knowledge about the mother and baby within the context of their family, community, and society. The organization conducts workshops, hosts symposiums, develops multi-media materials, and maintains an online bookstore. The Web site provides links to related organizations and resources.

Keywords: Childbirth, Alternative birth styles, Childbirth education, Family centered care, Infant care, Labor, Midwifery, Postpartum care, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care

Bright Futures for Families

Build Initiative

Annotation: BUILD is a national initiative that helps state leaders prepare young children aged birth to five to succeed by helping their families access high quality early learning; family and parenting support; early intervention for children with special needs; and comprehensive health mental health and nutritional services. BUILD assists states in planning and implementing a comprehensive early childhood “system of systems” that crosses policy domains and helps ensure that families get the services they need. It was created in 2002 by the Early Childhood Funders Collaborative (ECFC), a consortium of private foundations.

Keywords: Child mental health, Early intervention, Families, Family support services, Infants, Young children, Special health care needs

Child Health USA

Children's Defense Fund (CDF)

Annotation: The Children's Defense Fund (CDF) is a research and advocacy group for children and youth. It gathers data and disseminates information on key issues affecting children and adolescents, including development and implementation of federal and state policies. CDF provides information, technical assistance, and support to a network of state and local child advocates, service providers, and public and private sector officials and leaders. Initiatives have included adolescent pregnancy prevention programs, prenatal care campaigns, universal immunization programs, promotion of the Head Start program, and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Publications include a monthly newsletter, CDF Reports. A publications list is available. CDF also coordinates the Black Community Crusade for Children, an effort to strengthen black community support for children, and publishes a newsletter of Crusade activities, Necessary. In addition, it coordinates the Student Heath Outreach (SHOUT) project, a student-run project whose goal is to reach all eligible children and sign them up for health insurance by engaging students, as well as school administrators, in the effort to spread the word about Medicaid and CHIP.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent pregnancy, Blacks, Child advocacy, Child care, Child safety, Children, Data collection, Homeless persons, Infant mortality, Legislation, Minority groups, Prenatal care, State children's heatlh insurance program, Statistics

Early Childhood Iowa

Annotation: Early Childhood Iowa (ECI) is a confederation or alliance of stakeholders in early care, health and education systems that affect children age 0 to 5 in the state of Iowa. The structure of ECI includes six system component groups that describe the necessary elements of an effective and comprehensive system involving governance, planning and administration; professional development; public engagement; quality services and programs; resources and funding; and results accountability.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child care, Child health, Early childhood education, Infants, Iowa, Iowa, State initiatives, Young children

Families and Work Institute

Annotation: The Families and Work Institute is a nonprofit organization that explores ways to balance continuing workplace productivity demands and the changing needs of families. The institute conducts research on issues related to the changing demographics of the workforce; child and elder care demands, services, and impacts on work; as well as workplace research that helps employers respond to identified needs. It provides information dissemination, strategic planning, technical assistance, and management training services for decision makers in business, communities, and government. It is conducting the I am Your Child Early Childhood Public Engagement Campaign, and also has a Fatherhood Project.

Keywords: Child care, Child health, Families, Fathers, Infant health, Working parents

First 5 LA

Annotation: First 5 LA is a child-advocacy organization created by California voters to invest tobacco tax revenues in programs for improving the lives of children in Los Angeles County, from prenatal through age 5. The vision is to create a future throughout Los Angeles' communities where all young children are born healthy and raised in a loving and nurturing environment so that they grow up healthy, are eager to learn, and reach their full potential. Programs include Best Start LA, community-developed initiatives; early developmental screening and intervention; family literacy; a parent hotline; Healthy Births; Healthy Kids; oral health and nutrition; partnerships for families; school readiness, universal preschool, and workforce development.

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Child health, Education, Families, Infant health, Infants, Local initiatives, Prenatal care, Safety, Young children

Florida Disabilities Development Council (FDDC)

Annotation: The purpose of the Florida Developmental Disabilities Council (FDDC) is to engage in advocacy, capacity building, and systemic change activities that contribute to a coordinated, consumer and family centered, consumer and family directed, comprehensive system of community services and individualized supports that enable individuals with developmental disabilities to exercise self-determination, be independent, be productive, and be integrated and included in all facets of community life.

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Developmental disabilities, Families, Family centered services, Family support services, Florida, Infants, Special health care needs, State initiatives

Gaining and Growing: Assuring Nutritional Care of Preterm Infants

Institute for Child Health Policy (ICHP)

Annotation: The Institute for Child Health Policy works to improve the health status of infants and children by integrating intellectual and organizational resources of the state university system to assist in the formulation and evaluation of health policies, programs, and systems. A major division of the Institute is the Center for Policy and Program Coordination, funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The institute sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a newsletter. Topics include Children's Medical Services, Florida's Healthy Kids, Florida KidCare, child health financing and reimbursement, and telehealth. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Public policies, Child health, Child health services, Children with special health care needs, Conferences, Distance education, Florida, Health care financing, Health insurance, Health policy, Infant health, Managed care, Outreach, Program development, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, Training

Lawton and Rhea Chiles Center for Healthy Mothers and Babies

Annotation: The Lawton and Rhea Chiles Center for Healthy Mothers and Babies is a non-profit organization working to promote and protect the health of pregnant women, infants and young children up to age five through research, education and service. The center researches maternal and child health issues to determine effective programs and strategies for health promotion and performs data collection and analysis on the status and quality of maternal and child health care services. Services to professionals include consultation and technical assistance in developing, implementing, and evaluating maternal and child health programs, policies, and delivery systems. Leadership development, education, and training are also available. Program and projects (some with public and/or private partners) are aimed at improving health care for mothers and children and support efforts such as home visiting, birthing centers, home birth assistant programs, community medical homes, Head Start and foster care. The National Friendly Access Project, focused on improving the quality of service in delivering perinatal health care to vulnerable populations, specifically addresses the Healthy People 2010 objectives in the areas of access to quality preventive, primary and prenatal care.

Keywords: Access to health care, Access to prenatal care, Child health, Evaluation, Health care utilization, Health education, Infant health, Maternal health, Policy analysis, Pregnant women, Technical assistance, Training, Young children

March of Dimes (MOD)

Annotation: The March of Dimes (MOD) works to prevent birth defects and infant mortality through research, education, and advocacy programs. MOD's Pregnancy and Newborn Health Education Center provides information and referral services for the general public and professionals on topics such as preconception health, pregnancy, childbirth, genetics, and birth defects. MOD also produces educational materials on these and other topics such as prematurity, baby care, adolescent pregnancy, folic acid, nursing, and bereavement. A publications catalog is available, and some materials are available in Spanish. Anyone can subscribe to MOD's free electronic newsletter. MOD also sponsors the Prematurity Research Initiative, which provides funding for research into the causes of prematurity, and has developed PeriStats -- an online source for maternal, infant, and child health-related data at the state level and for many indicators at the county and national level (available at http://peristats.modimes.org/). The website can be viewed in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Childbirth education, Genetic disorders, Genetics education, Infant mortality, Information services, Medical research, Patient education, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Professional education, Public awareness materials, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB)

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) is charged with primary responsibility for promoting and improving the health of our Nation's mothers and children. As part of the Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, MCHB administers Title V of the Social Security Act. MCHB's mission is to provide national leadership and to work in partnership with States, communities, public-private partners, and families to strengthen the maternal and child infrastructure, assure the availability and use of medical homes, and build knowledge and human resources in order to assure continued improvement in the health, safety, and well-being of the maternal and child health population. MCHB administers major programs including the Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant, the Healthy Start Initiative, the Emergency Medical Services for Children Program, Traumatic Brain Injury, and the Universal Newborn Hearing Screening Program. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. MCHB also provides a national hotline for prenatal care information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Brain injuries, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Emergency medical services for children, Federal agencies, Healthy Start, Hearing screening, Hotlines, Infant health, MCH programs, MCH services, Maternal health, Perinatal health, Title V programs

National Association for Regulatory Administration (NARA)

Annotation: The National Association for Regulatory Administration (NARA) is an international professional association that shares information and offers technical assistance on regulatory issues in child care and other areas. Membership is open to consumers, providers, lawmakers, advocates, corporate leaders, and policymakers. The association provides referrals, publishes a quarterly newsletter on development and enforcement of regulations, program and regulatory trends, conferences and training events, and significant litigation.

Keywords: Child care centers, Child care services, Child health, Child welfare, Infant health, Licensing, Regulations, Residential care

National Association of Neonatal Nurses (NANN)

Annotation: The National Association of Neonatal Nurses (NANN) serves as a forum for continuing education and information exchange, and it promotes legislation to improve neonatal nursing and health care for newborns and their families. Their services to consumers include referrals and reference information. NANN publishes a newsletter and journal, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Infant health, Continuing education, Health services, Neonatal intensive care, Neonatal nursing, Newborn infants

National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC)

Annotation: The purpose of the National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) is to increase the capacity of health and mental health programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems. The Center provides technical assistance and consultation, networking opportunities, and information for health professionals and policymakers about designing, implementing, and evaluating culturally competent health services, including services for children with special health care needs and their families. Resources and publications include policy briefs, checklists, self assessments, promising practices, distance learning, and conference information. The center's Web site includes a Spanish language portal for families.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Guidelines, Infant care, Information networks, Information sources, Linguistic competence, National MCH resource center, Networking, Program development, Program evaluation, Publications, Resource centers, SIDS, Spanish language materials, Title V programs, Training

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.