Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Illinois Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics (ICAAP) is an organization of approximately 2,300 pediatricians in Illinois. Primary activities include advocacy on behalf of children, families, and health professionals in Illinois; the provision of continuing medical education and other resources for pediatricians, pediatric specialists, and other child health care providers; and collaboration with other state organizations and agencies on programs and projects that improve the health and well-being of children.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Children, Illinois, Pediatric care, Pediatricians

Annotation: The Center for Rural Health and Social Service Development (CRHSSD) at Southern Illinois University at Carbondale is a part of the University's mandate to conduct public health policy research in southern Illinois. The CRHSSD addresses evaluative activities, creation of new programs and training for the system. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Materials are available in Spanish. The CRHSSD publishes a quarterly newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Illinois, Public health, Rural health, Social services, Spanish language materials

Annotation: Everthrive Illinois (formerly Illinois Maternal and Child Health Coalition) works to improve the health of women, children, and families over the lifespan through community engagement, partnerships, policy analysis, education, and advocacy. The website provides information about Illinois' maternal and child health priorities and resources from the Chicago Area Immunization Campaign, the Illinois Coalition for School Health Centers, the Illinois Premature Health Infant Network, the Campaign to Save our Mothers and Babies, and Health Reform Implementation and Education. Resources include a newsletter and other e-communications about news, events, and initiatives.

Keywords: Child health, Family health, Illinois, State initiatives, Women', s health

Annotation: The Family Resource Center on Disabilities provides information, training, and assistance to parents of children with disabilities information.

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Family support, Health services, Illinois, Special education

Annotation: The Health & Medicine Policy Research Group conducts research, educates, and collaborates with other groups to advocate policies and impact health systems. It was formed in 1981 by an activist group of clinicians, social scientists, health care executives and policy analysts to advocate for health equity and improved public health in Illinois.

Keywords: Health, Illinois, Medicine, Public policy, State organizations

Annotation: Heartland Alliance's Oral Health Forum (OHF) is a community-centered grass-roots initiative committed to improving oral health programs and services for all Chicago residents through education, assessment, policy/program development, and collaboration. OHF promotes cooperation, communication, and concerted action among organizations dedicated to eliminating oral health inequalities.

Keywords: Chicago, Illinois, Local organizations, Oral health

Annotation: In 2008, a group of collaborators began an initiative to increase breastfeeding rates and decrease disparities in Illinois. HealthConnect One, the Illinois Department of Human Services' Title V Maternal and Child Health Program, and the University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health committed to a multi-year effort to plan for strategic change in the way breastfeeding is supported in Illinois. Efforts involve advocacy and promotion to new mothers, hospitals, and communities.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Health promotion, Illinois, Infant nutrition, State initiatives

Annotation: The Illinois Children's Healthcare Foundation (ILCHF) works to ensure that every child in Illinois has the opportunity to grow up healthy. Working through grantee partners across the state, the Foundation focuses its grantmaking on identifying and funding solutions to the barriers that prevent children from accessing the ongoing health care they need. Current grant making focuses on improving children's oral health and addressing the mental health needs of children in Illinois. The website provides news, blog posts, information on funding and grantees, and publications.

Keywords: Children, Foundations, Illinois, State programs

Annotation: The Illinois Department of Public Health School Health Program provides technical assistance and training to Illinois school health personnel serving school age children including communication about current health requirements, communicable and infectious disease issues, current practices in management of acute and chronic disease, education and grant opportunities, changes in public health rule and law, and resources available through state agencies. The program also monitors compliance among 63 certified school health centers operating in Illinois. The website provides information about the program's email list and School Health Days Conference.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent parents, Grants, Illinois, Preventive health services, School linked programs

Annotation: The Illinois Early Childhood Intervention Clearinghouse provides resource materials on issues related to young children with special needs and their families. The clearinghouse provides referrals and reference information, operates a statewide lending library, maintains a bibliographic database of more than 33,000 citations, and publishes a catalog and a quarterly newsletter, Early Intervention. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Early intervention, Children, Developmental disabilities, Illinois, Self help clearinghouses

Annotation: The Illinois State Library's services to consumers include referrals, reference information, publications which include a newsletter, journal. The state library also sponsors conferences and training seminars for library staff, library governing officials and adult literacy providers

Keywords: Illinois, Libraries, State agencies

Annotation: Prevention First, Inc. (PFI) provides current, comprehensive information and training on alcohol and other drug abuse prevention for Illinois residents. Through training, consultation, information services, and advocacy, PFI tries to promote health and wellness among individuals, organizations, and communities. Services to consumers include reference information and publications. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. PFI publishes a catalog and newsletter. The organization also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Substance abuse prevention, Advocacy, Alcoholism, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Health promotion, Illinois, Information services, Training

Annotation: The Region 4 Midwest Genetics Collaborative is one of seven groups using a regional approach to improve access to services, quality care, and genetics expertise in a medical home environment that is culturally sensitive. The region 4 collaborative comprises public health agencies, geneticist and other subspecialists, primary care providers, newborn screening and genetic testing laboratories, and families of children with genetic conditions from seven states (Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin). The website provides news and resources including information about partners, forums, workgroups, education, and regional meetings. The project is administered by the Michigan Public Health Institute and supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Federal programs, Genetics, Genetic services, Regional genetics network, Newborn infants, Neonatal screening, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin, Public health

Annotation: SIUC Head Start is a program operated by Southern Illinois University Carbondale on a federal grant. The program is designed to serve children three to five years of age from families qualifying for Head Start throughout Jackson and Williamson Counties. Head Start helps all children succeed by providing a comprehensive program that provides children with activities that help them grow mentally, socially, emotionally and physically.

Keywords: Child development, Head Start, Illinois, Young children

Annotation: Sudden Infant Death Services of Illinois (SIDS of Illinois) is dedicated to the prevention and eventual elimination of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and other causes of infant death through through educational initiatives stressing proven risk reduction strategies. Activities include reducing infant mortality by decreasing the incidence of infant deaths due to SIDS, accidental suffocation, overlay, entrapment, metabolic disorders, and other accidental causes; improving the quantity and quality of comprehensive, family-centered bereavement services for those impacted by a sudden pediatric death; and training professionals throughout Illinois who are likely to encounter cases of sudden pediatric death to better assist newly grieving families. Information on services and materials are available from the Web site for parents, children, friends, grandparents, as well as professionals.

Keywords: State organizations, Child death, Educational materials, Illinois, Infant death, Injury prevention, Neonatal death, Prevention, Resources for professionals, SIDS