Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Institutes for Research conduct and apply the best behavioral and social science research and evaluation towards improving peoples’ lives, with a special emphasis on the disadvantaged. Within the United States and internationally, AIR produces improvements in education, health, and the workforce; addresses the needs of individuals, organizations, and communities; designs and advances statistical and research methods; helps practitioners and organizations to adopt evidence-based practices; and informs public understanding and policymaking by the best evidence. Topics include child welfare, cultural competence, families, juvenile justice, mental health, school violence prevention and intervention, and schools and special education.

Keywords: Collaboration, Evaluation, Information services, Listservs, Model programs, Program development, Public policy, Research

Annotation: The Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice (CECP) at the American Institutes for Research supports and promotes a reoriented national preparedness to foster the development and the adjustment of children with or at risk of developing serious emotional disturbance. To achieve that goal, the center has a policy of collaboration at federal, state, and local levels that contributes to and facilitates the production, exchange, and use of knowledge about effective practices. The center is funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs and receives additional support from the Center for Mental Health Services, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Topics covered by the center include child welfare, cultural competence, families, juvenile justice, mental health, school violence prevention and intervention, and schools and special education. The center provides publications, list service discussions, information about promising practices and prevention programs that work, and links to further information.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Affective disorders, Child mental health, Collaboration, Information services, Listservs, Model programs

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) represents members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

Annotation: The Center for Health Care Strategies (CHCS) partners with states across the country to promote the delivery of quality heatlh-care services and innovations in publicly financed health care, especially for individuals with complex, high-cost needs. CHCS facilitates problem-solving exchanges and peer learning among a diverse range of health care stakeholders to improve access, integrate fragmented services, reduce avoidable expenditures, and link payment with quality. CHCS works directly with state and federal agencies, health plans, providers, and consumer organizations to design and implement cost-effective strategies that improve care for people with complex and high-cost needs. The Center's technical assistance and training activities are organized under four broad priority areas: 1) Health care coverage and access; 2) Integrating care for people with complex needs; 3) quality, delivery systems, and payment reform; and 4) leadership and capacity building. CHCS maintains an online library of publications, technical tools, and other resources on accelerating health care delivery innovations.

Keywords: Health care financing, Electronic publications, Managed care, Medicaid managed care, Model programs, Prevention programs, State Children', s Health Insurance program

Annotation: Child Trends is a nonprofit research organization that works to improve the lives and prospects of children and youth through high-quality research. Clients include researchers, policymakers, funders, and practitioners. Services include high-level analyses and helping organizations make their direct services more effective. Resources include indicators of children's well-being, a searchable database of evaluated programs serving children and youth and research based on those evaluations, and a national knowledge center providing insight on U.S. Latino children and families. Child Trends also hosts a newsroom and blog.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Child health, Community programs, Data analysis, Data collection, Family relations, Health statistics, Information sources, Model programs, Program descriptions, Research, Statistical analysis

Annotation: The Community Preventive Services Task Force was established in 1996 by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to identify population health interventions that are scientifically proven to save lives, increase lifespans, and improve quality of life. The task force is an independent, nonfederal, unpaid panel of public health and prevention experts that provides evidence-based findings and recommendations about community preventive services, programs, and policies to improve health. The task force produces recommendations (and identifies evidence gaps) to help inform the decision making of federal, state, and local health departments, other government agencies, communities, health professionals, employers, schools, and research organizations.

Keywords: Communities, Community health, Decision making, Health policy, Life course, Model programs, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Program improvement, Research

Annotation: HealthConnect One strives to advance equitable, community-based, peer-to-peer support for pregnancy, birth, breastfeeding, and early parenting in communities that have been historically marginalized and inadequately served. The organization trains community health workers (CHWs), including doulas and breastfeeding peer counselors; mobilizes diverse stakeholders to develop policies and programs that improve MCH; assists organizations in developing programs that use peer support; and incorporates trained CHWs into paid positions in outreach, health education, and community health advocacy. The website provides information on advocacy; programs and training; news, events and resources; and ways to get involved.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Community based services, Community health aides, Home visiting, Indigenous outreach workers, MCH services, Model programs, Peer counseling, Peer support programs, Social support, Training

Annotation: The Highmark Foundation is a charitable organization, a private foundation, and an affiliate of Highmark Inc. that supports initiatives and programs aimed at improving community health. The foundation’s mission is to improve the health, well-being, and quality of life for individuals who reside in the Pennsylvania communities served by Highmark. The foundation strives to support evidence-based programs that impact multiple counties and work collaboratively to leverage additional funding to achieve replicable models.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community health, Diffusion of innovation, Financing, Foundations, Model programs, Pennsylvania

Annotation: The National Center for Disaster Preparedness (NCDP) serves as a national resource in disaster and terrorism readiness. The NCDP, which includes the CDC-funded Academic Centers for Public Health Preparedness (initiated prior to the attacks of September 11), works with other academic institutions, advocacy organizations, and public policy institutions to provide bioterrorism curriculum development, training for public health professionals, crisis-response mechanisms, surveillance models, preparedness standards, public policy analysis, and research methodologies in efforts to increase the nation's capacity to prevent and respond to terrorism and enhance disaster preparedness.

Keywords: Model programs, Professional training, Public health, . Research, Injury prevention, Leadership training, Preventive health services, Public health service, Resources for professionals, Standards, curricula

Annotation: The National Center for Mental Health and Juvenile Justice (NCMHJJ) serves as a national resource for the collection and dissemination of evidence-based and best-practice information to improve services for youth involved with the juvenile justice system who have mental health problems. The center conduct research and evaluation to fill gaps in the existing knowledge base and fosters systems and policy changes at the national, state and local levels. A key aspect of the center's mission is to provide practical assistance to all persons interested in mental health and juvenile justice issues. Resources include a compendium of effective and innovative programs and policies; a list of experts and technical assistance resources; and publications that synthesize existing knowledge.

Keywords: Juvenile delinquency, Evidence based medicine, Mental health, Adolescent health, Community programs, Evidence based medicine, Information dissemination, Juvenile justice, Model programs, Online databases, Policy development, Program improvement, Research, Resource centers

Annotation: The National Children's Advocacy Center (NCAC) is a non-profit organization that provides training, prevention, intervention and treatment services to fight child abuse and neglect. NCAC hosts the National Symposium on Child Abuse and the National Conference on Child Abuse Prevention; provides training seminars and online training programs for professionals; conducts research and develops best practice models; offers family-support services, including home visitation programs, and school-based programs for children; and provides intervention programs and therapy services for victims of child abuse. Additional information for children, families, and professionals is posted on the Web site.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Crisis intervention, Distance education, Electronic publications, Family support services, Maltreated children, Model programs, Prevention, Professional education, Research, Training, Victims

Annotation: The NGA Center for Best Practices helps governors and their key policy staff develop and implement innovative solutions to challenges facing their states. Through the staff of the NGA Center, governors and their policy advisors can (1) quickly learn about what works, what doesn't, and what lessons can be learned from other governors grappling with the same problem; (2) obtain assistance in designing and implementing new programs or in making current programs more effective; and (3) receive up-to-date, comprehensive information about what is happening in other state capitals and in Washington, D.C., so governors are better prepared to react to emerging issues.

Keywords: Model programs, Program development, State government, State initiatives

Annotation: The National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD), a part of the National Institutes of Health, promotes minority health; conducts and supports research, training, and research infrastructure; fosters emerging programs; disseminates information; and reaches out to minority and other health disparity communities. Priorities for the institute are the social determinants of health, patient-centered outcomes research; faith-based approaches to health disparities; and improving the participation of health disparity populations in clinical trials.

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic factors, Federal grants, Government programs, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Minority health, Model programs, Racial discrimination, Racial factors, Research, Sociocultural factors

Annotation: The Program Archive on Sexuality, Health, and Adolescence (PASHA), funded by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development and the Office of Adolescent Health in the Department of Health and Human Services, is a collection of effective program replication kits designed to reduce adolescent pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections (including HIV and AIDS) in adolescents. Each kit includes materials needed to implement and evaluate the intervention. PASHA's website includes a search assistant for finding programs, an overview table of replication kits, scientific papers related to the collection, and program selection criteria.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Archives, Diffusion of innovation, Health behavior, Model programs, Program evaluation, Risk taking, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: The Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs initiative uses a consortium-based approach to provide technical assistance, expert consultation, training, and resources to assist state and jurisdictions develop evidence based-/informed programs to support women, children, families, and communities. Evidence topics include (1) well-woman visit; (2) low-risk cesarean; (3) perinatal regionalization; (4) breastfeeding; (5) safe sleep; (6) developmental screening; (7) child safety/injury; (8) physical activity; (9) bullying; (10) adolescent well-visit; (11) medical home; (12) transition to adulthood; (13) oral health; (14) smoking; (15) insurance coverage; (16) postpartum visit; (17) postpartum mental health screening; (18) postpartum contraception use; (19) perinatal care discrimination; (20) housing instability; (21) Medical home; (22) childhood vaccination; (23) food sufficiency; (24) adolescent mental health; (25) early prenatal care; (26) drinking during pregnancy; (27) forgone health care.

Keywords: Resource centers, Collaboration, Community based programs, Evidence based health care, Healthy People 2020, Local government, Model programs, Needs assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, State government

Annotation: The United States Conference of Mayors (USCM) is the official nonpartisan organization of cities with populations of 30,000 or more. The primary roles of The U.S. Conference of Mayors are to: promote the development of effective national urban/suburban policy; strengthen federal-city relationships; ensure that federal policy meets urban needs; provide mayors with leadership and management tools; and create a forum in which mayors can share ideas and information. It has programs on numerous health, environment, and other topics focused on the well-being of city residents. It provides publications, videos, a best practices database, and other resources.

Keywords: Community programs, I Model programs, Local government, Policies, Urban population

Annotation: The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Center of Excellence for Training and Research Translation (Center TRT) is devoted to bridging the gap between research and public health practice with an emphasis on nutrition, physical activity, and the prevention and control of cardiovascular disease risk factors and obesity. The center is based in UNC's Center for Health Promotion and Disease Prevention, one of 33 Prevention Research Centers supported by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The center has two main functions: (1) to advance the skills of public health professionals working in WISEWOMAN and Obesity Prevention programs through a variety of in-service education opportunities and (2) to identify, translate, and disseminate evidence-based interventions, best practices and processes, and implementation tools for use by public health professionals.

Keywords: Diffusion of innovation, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Inservice training, Model programs, Operations research, Physical activity, Public health nutrition, Resource centers, Women', s health