Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) is a family of health care databases and related software tools and products developed through a federal-state-industry partnership and sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUP databases bring together the data collection efforts of state data organizations, hospital associations, private data organizations, and the federal government to create a national information resource of client-level health care data. HCUP includes a collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States, with all-payer, encounter-level information beginning in 1988. The databases enable research on a broad range of health policy issues, including cost and quality of health services, medical practice patterns, access to health care programs, and outcomes of treatments at the national, state, and local market levels. H-CUPnet, a free, online query system based on data from HCUP, provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department use.

Keywords: Databases, Federal initiatives, Health care costs, Health care utilization, Health policy, Hospitals, Public private partnerships, Research

Annotation: Brigham and Women's Hospital (BWH) is a teaching hospital of the Harvard Medical School providing patient care, medical education, and research. The hospital maintains the BWH Health and Education Library which provides access to 400 medical eBooks through the netLibrary; provides online access to pamphlets on over 100 health topics published by BWH; and staffs a reference/referral service. The hospital Web site provides electronic access to Health Topics A-Z, covering topics such as aging and health, adolescent health, sports and fitness, mental health, men's health, and women's health.

Keywords: Hospital libraries, Library services, Education, Electronic publications, Hospitals, Libraries, Medical education, Medical research, Patient care, Patient education, Publications, Reference materials

Annotation: The St. Louis-based Catholic Health Association of the United States (CHA), founded in 1915, supports the Catholic health ministry’s pursuit of the strategic directions of mission, ethics, and advocacy. As a large national group of not-for-profit sponsors, systems, and facilities, the ministry is committed to improving the health status of communities and creating quality and compassionate health care that works for everyone.

Keywords: Hospitals, Advocacy, Associations, Education, Health care systems, Leadership, Libraries, Nursing homes, Policy development, Religious organizations, Research, Statistics, Surveys

Annotation: The Children's Hospital Association is a membership organization of children's hospitals that works to ensure the health of all children through clinical care, research, education, and advocacy.

Keywords: Child health, Financial support, Health care systems, Information dissemination, Pediatric hospitals, Public policy

Annotation: The Vaccine Education Center provides comprehensive information about childhood vaccines, and the diseases they prevent, to parents and healthcare professionals. Through its Web site, videos, informational tear sheets, and speakers programs, The center seeks to dispel some of the common misconceptions and misinformation surrounding childhood vaccines. The goal is to communicate the facts about each vaccine as well as how vaccines are made, how and why vaccines work, who recommends them, whether they are safe, whether they are still necessary, and when they should be given. VEC publishes a monthly vaccine e-newsletter for parents called Parents PACK.

Keywords: Disease prevention, Vaccines, Child health, Diseases, Pediatric hospitals

Annotation: Created by the state legislature, the Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute (FMHI) works to strengthen mental health services through training, research, and demonstration. The Institute designs and evaluates innovative prevention and treatment techniques, and it trains agencies and mental health professionals statewide to implement similar techniques and programs. Target populations include children, adolescents, and adults with severe mental illnesses. The Institute Library maintains a large collection of fact sheets, brochures, technical publications, and audiovisual materials. Some materials are available in Spanish. FMHI also sponsors conferences and provides online training and certificate programs.

Keywords: Mental disorders, Adolescents, Affective disorders, Children, Florida, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health programs, Psychiatric hospitals, Research, Substance abuse, Training

Annotation: The MassGeneral Hospital for Children's Center for Child and Adolescent Health Policy serves as part of an integrated health care delivery system, linking community-based pediatricians, community hospitals, neighborhood health centers, and academic medical centers to provide exemplary health care to children and their families. Funded in part by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, the center conducts research, sponsors conferences, informs state and federal health policy makers, houses the editorial office of Ambulatory Pediatrics (the official journal of the Ambulatory Pediatric Association), and serves as the site for for the collaborative Harvard Pediatric Health Services Research Fellowship. This two-year training program for pediatricians and other children's health professionals teaches the skills needed to recognize trends, address disparities, promulgate new knowledge, and improve children's health care with respect to access, quality and cost effectiveness.

Keywords: Health policy, Adolescent health, Child health, Fellowships, Health care systems, Health services delivery, Hospitals, Research

Annotation: The National Association of Public Hospitals and Health Systems (NAPH) has represented the nation's urban public hospitals, health systems and the people they serve since 1981. NAPH serves the nation's safety net hospitals, consisting of major referral centers, teaching hospitals, and vital providers of care for low income populations living in the largest metropolitan areas. NAPH serves in an advocacy role in legislation and regulation and takes on the educational and research needs of its members through the associated National Public Health and Hospital Institute. NAPH offers a monthly newsletter, quarterly magazine, and several publications. NAPH also sponsers conferences.

Keywords: Advocacy, Health policy, Public hospitals

Annotation: The National Public Health and Hospital Institute is a private nonprofit organization established in 1988 to address the major issues facing public hospitals, safety net institutions, underserved communities, and related health policy issues of national priority. It provides applied research and education activities, fellowship programs, and research. NPHHI provides consumers with publications and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Health policy, Public hospitals, Underserved communities

Keywords: Children, Hospitals, Ohio, State agencies

Annotation: The Ohio Hospital Association was established in 1915 and currently represents 170 hospitals and 40 health systems throughout Ohio. OHA has more than 1,900 personal members of 11 affiliated societies, representing disciplines from hospital marketing to human resources. The association is governed by a 21-member Board of Trustees which includes representatives from each of OHA's four districts – Central, Northeast, Northwest, and Southwest.

Keywords: Associations, Hospitals, Ohio

Annotation: Shriners Hospital for Children operates 19 orthopedic hospitals, one hospital that provides orthopedic, burn and spinal cord injury care to and three burn hospitals serving children under the age of 18 in the U.S., Mexico, and Canada. Diagnosis and treatment are offered solely on the basis of medical need, at no charge to the patient's family. The burn hospitals accept children who need immediate care or those needing plastic surgery and rehabilitation (healed burns). Research on the causes of crippling and scarring and on methods of treatment is conducted at all 22 of the Shriners Hospitals. Eligibility for treatment is determined on the basis of applications completed by parents or guardians, the referring physician, and a local Shriner sponsor. Referrals, publications, and reference information are available to the Shriners Hospitals. Some resources are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Burns, Children with special health care needs, Hospitals, Orthopedics

Annotation: Urgent Matters is an initiative of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation to help hospitals eliminate emergency department (ED) crowding and help communities understand the challenges facing the health care safety net. The program's goals are: (1) to improve the ability of safety net profiders to respond to increasing emergency department volumes; (2) to assess and highlight the state of local safety nets in select communities; and (3) to publicize the program's findings to local and national audiences. Publications and an electronic newsletter are available.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Health care systems, Health services delivery, Hospitals, National initiatives

Annotation: The Washington State Hospital Association is a membership organization representing community hospitals and several health-related organizations. The association provides issues management and analysis, information, advocacy and other services. It has developed the Health Work Force Institute to expand the labor work force for health institutions, and in 2005 launched the Patient Safety program to help hospitals improve patient safety by supporting the adoption of common, evidence-based protocols that have been proven to save lives. WSHA works to improve the health of the people of the state by becoming involved in all matters affecting the delivery, quality, accessibility, affordability and continuity of health care.

Keywords: Advocacy, Hospitals, State organizations, Washington