Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 14 (14 total).

U.S. Bureau of Primary Health Care (BPHC)

Annotation: The Bureau of Primary Health Care (BPHC) funds Health Centers in underserved communities, providing access to high quality, family oriented, comprehensive primary and preventive health care for people who are low-income, uninsured or face other obstacles to getting health care. The Web site provides access to searchable databases, statistics, employment opportunities, document archives, and publications.

Keywords: HIV, Homeless persons, Immunization, Migrant health, Primary health care, Public health programs, Public health services, Public housing, Underserved communities

Children's Defense Fund (CDF)

Annotation: The Children's Defense Fund (CDF) is a research and advocacy group for children and youth. It gathers data and disseminates information on key issues affecting children and adolescents, including development and implementation of federal and state policies. CDF provides information, technical assistance, and support to a network of state and local child advocates, service providers, and public and private sector officials and leaders. Initiatives have included adolescent pregnancy prevention programs, prenatal care campaigns, universal immunization programs, promotion of the Head Start program, and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Publications include a monthly newsletter, CDF Reports. A publications list is available. CDF also coordinates the Black Community Crusade for Children, an effort to strengthen black community support for children, and publishes a newsletter of Crusade activities, Necessary. In addition, it coordinates the Student Heath Outreach (SHOUT) project, a student-run project whose goal is to reach all eligible children and sign them up for health insurance by engaging students, as well as school administrators, in the effort to spread the word about Medicaid and CHIP.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent pregnancy, Blacks, Child advocacy, Child care, Child safety, Children, Data collection, Homeless persons, Infant mortality, Legislation, Minority groups, Prenatal care, State children's heatlh insurance program, Statistics

Children's Health Fund

Annotation: The Children's Health Fund (CHF), founded in 1987, is committed to providing health care to the nation's medically underserved children through the development and support of innovative primary care pediatric programs and the promotion of guaranteed access to medical homes and appropriate health care for all children. CHF initiates health care programs for underserved children and creates low-literacy health education materials to assist children and their families in learning about a variety of health related topics.

Keywords: Children, Grants, Homeless persons, Immunization, Spanish language materials

Homelessness Resource Center ( HRC)

Annotation: The Homelessness Resource Center (HRC), formerly the National Resource Center on Homelessness and Mental Illness, is an interactive learning community dedicated to disseminating knowledge and best practices to prevent and end homelessness. It provides technical assistance and comprehensive information concerning the treatment, services, and housing needs of homeless persons with serious mental illnesses. The HRC website is part of the Homelessness Resource Network (HRN), a collaboration to share a common digital library of over 9,000 resources related to homelessness, mental illness, substance use, co-occurring disorders, and traumatic stress.HRC is operated by the Homeless and Housing Resource Network (HHRN) technical assistance (TA) contract.

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Bipolar disorder, Depression, Homeless persons, Hyperactivity, Mental disorders, Schizophrenia

HUD USER

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) sponsors personalized literature searches through the HUD User database, document delivery, publications (including topical bibliographies and announcements of research projects). HUD USER provides information on housing safety, home building technologies and lead-based paint. The organization provides referrals, publications, and reference information to consumers. Publications include a newsletter.

Keywords: Homeless persons

Juvenile Justice Clearinghouse (JJC)

Annotation: The Juvenile Justice Clearinghouse (JJC) is a component of the National Criminal Justice Reference Service that collects, synthesizes, and disseminates information on juvenile justice and delinquency prevention. Through print and other media, the Clearinghouse offers the latest research findings, descriptions of promising programs, publications on youth-related issues, practical guides and manuals, announcements of funding opportunities, and other resources on juvenile justice and related topics.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Clearinghouses, Homeless persons, Injury prevention, Juvenile delinquency, Missing children, Runaways, School dropouts, Sexual abuse, Substance abuse

Mid-Atlantic Network of Youth and Family Services (MANY)

Annotation: The Mid-Atlantic Network of Youth and Family Services (MANY) is a network designed to strengthen and coordinate resources and services for youth in high risk situations and their families. MANY offers consultation, training workshops, and information on program innovations, funding, legislation, and policy. The Network also maintains an online Knowledge Center, which is organized to address the 6 key components of operating community services that support the positive development of youth.

Keywords: Adolescents, Delaware, District of Columbia, Homeless persons, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Runaways, Technical assistance, Virginia, West Virginia, Youth

National Alliance to End Homelessness

Annotation: The National Alliance to End Homelessness, founded in 1983, is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to mobilize the nonprofit, public, and private sectors of society in an alliance to end homelessness. The Alliance's Ten Year Plan to End Homelessness identifies the nation's current weaknesses in addressing the problem and lays out practical steps that the nation can take to end homelessness within ten years. The Alliance produces a newsletter and sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Homeless persons, Policy, Technical assistance

National Center for Homeless Education (NCHE)

Annotation: Funded by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Center for Homeless Education (NCHE) serves as the Department's technical assistance and information center for the federal Education for Homeless Children and Youth (EHCY) Program. In this role, NCHE provides research, resources, and information enabling communities to address the educational needs of children experiencing homelessness. The Center also supports educators and service providers through producing training and awareness materials and providing training at regional and national conferences and events.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Education, Homeless persons, Resource centers

National Clearinghouse on Families and Youth (NCFY)

Annotation: The National Clearinghouse on Families and Youth (NCFY), formerly the National Clearinghouse on Runaway and Homeless Youth, was established by the Family and Youth Services Bureau (FYSB) to serve as a central resource on youth and family policy and practice. FYSB is the lead agency on youth and family issues within the Administration on Children, Youth and Families; Administration for Children and Families; U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NCFY produces technical assistance materials on youth and family programming; operates an information line through which practitioners, policymakers, and the general public can access information on youth and family issues; and distributes materials at conferences and training events.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Alcoholic beverages, HIV, Homeless persons, Prevention, Runaways, Substance abuse, Youth

National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges (NCJFCJ)

Annotation: The National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges (NCJFCJ) represents America's judges who exercise jurisdiction over delinquency, abuse, and neglect, divorce, custody, support, domestic violence and similar types of cases throughout the country. The National Council, a 501 (c) (3) coroporation, conducts judicial education and training programs at the Louis W. McHardy National College of Juvenile and Family Justice, located on the Reno campus of the University of Nevada as well as at numerous sites throughout the country. Current focus issues of the National Council include juvenile and family law, serious and violent juvenile crime, child abuse and neglect, youthful sex offenders, family violence, substance abuse issues and a host of other subjects. Their services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. NCJFCJ publishes a journal, newsletter, digest, and catalog. The association also sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Homeless persons, Injury prevention, Juvenile delinquency, Runaways, School dropouts, Substance abuse, Violence prevention

National Network for Youth (NNY)

Annotation: The National Network for Youth, formerly National Network of Runaway and Youth Services, is a nonprofit membership organization with over 700 members. Through regional and state network affiliates, the National Network represents over 1,500 constituents, primarily community-based youth serving agencies. The National Network's mission is to ensure that young people are safe and grow up to lead healthy and productive lives. The driving force of the network in achieving its mission is Community Youth Development (CYD). CYD is an approach that models best practices in youth work and focuses on lifelong learning in which youth develop skills and competencies to be contributing members to their communities and societies. Activities include advocacy and public education promoting youth /adult partnerships, and strengthening staff and community-based organization capacity, to provide effective programs to runaway, homeless, and other youth in high-risk situations. Also provided are training and technical assistance in a wide variety of areas including the professional development of youth workers, youth leadership, peer education, HIV/AIDS, grant writing, and community and youth development. The National Network for Youth is a sponsoring member of the Council on Accreditation of Services for Families and Children. Publications include two newsletters, Network News and Policy Reporter; a journal, CYD Journal: Community Youth Development and a variety of issue briefs, fact sheets and bibliographies. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. The organization also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adolescent development, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Alcoholic beverages, HIV, Health education, Health promotion, High risk adolescents, Homeless persons, Prevention, Runaways, Substance abuse, Training

U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP)

Annotation: The Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP), a component of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, collaborates with professionals from diverse disciplines to improve juvenile justice policies and practices. OJJDP supports states, local communities, and tribal jurisdictions in their efforts to develop and implement effective programs for juveniles. The Office strives to strengthen the juvenile justice system's efforts to protect public safety, hold offenders accountable, and provide services that address the needs of youth and their families. Through its components, OJJDP sponsors research, program, and training initiatives; develops priorities and goals and sets policies to guide federal juvenile justice issues; disseminates information about juvenile justice issues; and awards funds to states to support local programming.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Homeless persons, Information services, Injury prevention, Juvenile delinquency, Runaways, School dropouts, Spanish language materials, Substance abuse, Violence prevention

Washington Child Development Council (WCDC)

Annotation: The Washington Child Development Council (WCDC) is a nonprofit organization composed of concerned representatives from child development centers and family child care homes, as well as parents and other interested persons, who join together to focus on the developmental needs of the children living in the District of Columbia. WCDC encourages the District government to establish policies that promote the nurturing of children so that all children may reach their full potential. WCDC has been committed to working with teenage mothers and homeless families by serving as an advocate to promote much-needed child care services for this at-risk population. The organization sponsors training seminars.

Keywords: Adolescent mothers, Child care, Child development centers, Family child care, Homeless persons, Underserved communities

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.