Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Every Child Succeeds (ECS) program offers Greater Cincinnati first-time mothers and their families support to ensure an optimal start for their children. ECS is a collaborative evidence-based home visitation program that includes 14 provider agencies whose social workers, child development specialists and nurses provide services for first-time, at-risk mothers on a regular basis from the time of pregnancy until the child's third birthday.

Keywords: Community programs, Home visiting, Infants, Ohio, Parent education programs, Parent support programs, Young children

Annotation: Great Kids Inc. is a nonprofit international training and consulting organization dedicated to developing early childhood and home based programs for families with children 0-5 years. It provides training materials, support services, and curricula for child care providers and program staff (including home visitors). Materials are available in both English and Spanish.

Keywords: Curricula, Early childhood, Home visiting, International programs, Parenting education, Pregnancy, Professional training, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: HealthConnect One focuses on collaborative work with grassroots maternal and child health (MCH) and social service providers. Activities include training community health workers (CHWs), including doulas and breastfeeding peer counselors, to improve the health of their own community; assisting organizations in developing programs that use peer support, incorporating trained CHWs into paid positions in outreach, health education, and community health advocacy; and mobilizing diverse stakeholders to build policies and programs that improve MCH in some of the most distressed communities in the country. The website provides information on advocacy; programs and training; news, events and resources; and ways to get involved.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Community based services, Community health aides, Home visiting, Indigenous outreach workers, MCH services, Model programs, Peer counseling, Peer support programs, Social support, Training

Annotation: The Home Visiting Research Network (HVRN) at Johns Hopkins University is a national network to strengthen the role of home visiting as part of a comprehensive system of services for expectant families and families with young children. The website provides information about professional development for home visiting researchers and HVRN presentations, publications, and other media. HVRN is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Home visiting, Information networks, MCH research, National initiatives, Professional education

Annotation: MotherNet America (formerly The Resource Mothers Development Project) is a national support network for community-based maternal and child programs. It works to strengthen at-risk families, help parents give their children a healthy start in life, and increase the capacity of underserved communities to sustain positive change. MotherNet America's own model programs -- MotherNet L.A. in Compton, California and MotherNet Loudoun in Loudoun County, Virginia -- offer culturally and linguistically appropriate programs including intensive perinatal home visiting and case manangement; case management for chronic conditions including asthma, obesity and diabetes; mentoring for children with a parent in prison; center-based classes on parenting, nutrition, family strengthening, domestic violence, health-focused English as a Second Language and health literacy-focused computer skills; school-based adolescent sexual health classes; community health fairs; immunization outreach; and health coverage application assistance. Publications produced by MotherNet America include the Women's Wellness Sourcebook, a guide for training outreach workers about a broad range of women's health issues; Curriculum Sourcebook, a guide for training outreach workers; and Home Visitors Handbook, a training text and field resource for outreach workers. The Home Visitors Handbook is available in Spanish and English.

Keywords: Home visiting, Outreach, Pregnancy, Resource mothers

Annotation: The National SafeCare Training and Research Center (NSTRC) engages in research efforts to improve the training, implementation, and translation of the SafeCare model, an evidence-based home visitation program that has been shown to reduce child maltreatment among families with a history for maltreatment or with risk factors for maltreatment. NSTRC cultivates collaboration with communities, child welfare administrators, and policymakers to increase support and resources for evidence-based practice and the prevention of child abuse and neglect on a local, national, and international scale.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Collaboration, High risk groups, Home visiting, Model programs, Prevention programs, Research, Training

Annotation: Sunny Futures Healthy Start focuses on preventing preterm birth and fetal and infant death and reducing the incidence of low birthweight infants by educating and training women, adolescents, fathers, parents, and grandparents. Services include health education, home visits, medical application assistance, and referrals to local resources.

Keywords: Health education, Healthy Start, Home visiting, Infant mortality, Referrals, Risk reduction

Annotation: The Division of Home Visiting and Early Childhood Systems (DHVECS) plans, develops, implements, directs, monitors, and evaluates national programs to promote, improve, and maintain the health and development of young children (through age 8) and their families.

Keywords: Early childhood, Federal initiatives, Home visiting, MCH programs, Young children

Annotation: The Virginia Home Visiting Consortium is a collaboration of statewide early childhood home visiting programs that serve families of children from pregnancy through age 5. The Consortium reports to the Early Childhood Advisory Council and is a partner in Virginia’s Plan for Smart Beginnings. State Coordinators of each home visiting program are the Consortium membership. Since 2006, the Consortium has been improving the quality, efficiency and effectiveness of early childhood home visiting services in Virginia through interagency collaboration and by focusing on five areas: (1) state policies and procedures; (2) technical assistance to local coalitions and communities; (3) core training for all early childhood home visitors; (4) interagency efforts to improve screening, data collection and evaluation processes; and (5) collaborative programs with medical providers and child care providers.

Keywords: Children, Home visiting, Infants, State initiatives, Virginia