Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 6 (6 total).

American Association of Blood Banks (AABB)

Annotation: The American Association of Blood Banks (AABB) promotes the highest standards of care and service to patients, donors, other health care professionals, and the public by providing leadership in blood procurement, distribution, and other activities related to blood banking and transfusion medicine. More than 2,000 institutional members (community and hospital blood banks and hospital transfusion services) collect the nation's blood supply and transfuse more than 80 percent of the supply. Individual members include 8,000 physicians, scientists, medical technologists, administrators, blood donor recruiters, nurses, and public-spirited citizens. AABB sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a newsletter and journal. Some materials are available in Spanish and French and one publication in available in Japanese.

Keywords: AIDS, Blood banks, Cardiovascular diseases, HIV, Hematologic diseases, Hepatitis

American Liver Foundation

Annotation: The American Liver Foundation (ALF) is a national nonprofit organization dedicated to the prevention, treatment, and cure of hepatitis and other liver diseases through research, education, and advocacy on behalf of those at risk of or affected by liver disease. The foundation has state and regional chapters across the United States. Services to consumers include publications and reference information.

Keywords: Hepatitis, Alagille syndrome, Alpha-1-antitrypsin deficiency, Galactosemia, Liver cirrhosis, Liver diseases, Organ transplantation

Hep B United

Annotation: He B United is a national coalition to address the public health challenge of hepatitis B. The coalition supports and leverages the success of local community coalitions across the United States to increase hepatitis B awareness, screening, vaccination, and linkage to care for all Americans and, in particular, for high-risk populations who are disproportionately impacted. The website contains facts on hepatitis B and information on local campaigns, policy initiatives, news, events, and resources such as webinars, hangouts, trainings, campaign materials, and a speakers bureau.

Keywords: Access to care, Asian Americans, Coalitions, Hepatitis B, High risk groups, Public awareness campaigns, Screening, Training, Vaccines

Immunization Action Coalition (IAC)

Annotation: The Immunization Action Coalition works to increase immunization rates and prevent disease by creating and distributing educational materials for health professionals and the public that enhance the delivery of safe and effective immunization services. The Coalition publishes periodicals for health professionals (Needle Tips, Vaccinate Adults, and Vaccinate Women), and distributes two electronic newsletters (IAC Express provides weekly information about all vaccines and HEP Express is devoted to hepatitis issues). The coalition also develops print materials about immunization for providers and patients and offers these materials free-of-charge (many in multiple languages). The Coalition develops print materials about immunization for providers and patients and offers these materials free-of-charge, some in up to 33 languages. IAC has four websites. The site for health professionals, www.immunize.org, is a source of practical immunization information featuring a collection of vaccine-preventable disease photos and videos. The website for the public, www.vaccineinformation.org, presents straightforward information about vaccine-preventable diseases and their vaccines. The hepatitis prevention programs website, www.hepprograms.org, serves as a national database for model viral hepatitis prevention programs that address the needs of adult and adolescent populations at risk. The fourth website, www.izcoalitions.org, provides access to an interactive database of local, state, regional, national, and international immunization coalitions.

Keywords: Hepatitis B, Immunization, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID)

Annotation: Established in 1973, the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID) is a nonprofit, nongovernmental organization that supports research and educational efforts to prevent infectious diseases. Provides information on Meningitis, Pertussis, Tetanus, Diphtheria, Influenza, Pneumococcal, and other infectious diseases; downloadable fact sheets on immunization and vaccinations for infants children, adolescents, and adults; online access to NFID publications including a newsletter and journal; and links to other resources. Some materials are available in Spanish. The foundation also sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Keywords: AIDS, Communicable diseases, Hepatitis, Immunization, Infections

National Prevention Information Network (NPIN)

Annotation: The National Prevention Information Network (NPIN) is the U.S. reference and referral service for information on HIV/AIDS, viral hepatitis, sexually transmitted diseases (STDs), and tuberculosis (TB). NPIN is a clearinghouse and collaborative community that collects and disseminates data and materials and enables prevention professionals on the international, national, state, and local levels to connect and share. Services are designed to facilitate program collaboration in sharing information, resources, published materials, research, and trends among the four diseases. Services include a social community, a database of providers, education materials, funding opportunities, research on health communication campaigns, campaign planning resources, training resources, and digital media tools.

Keywords: AIDS, Disease prevention, HIV, Hepatitis, Sexually transmitted diseases, Information services, Online databases, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Tuberculosis

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.