Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 10 (10 total).

Florida Association of Healthy Start Coalitions

Annotation: The Florida Association of Healthy Start Coalitions is dedicated to strengthening maternal and child health by ensuring that all Florida families have access to a continuum of affordable and quality health and related services and advocating for public policy initiatives to facilitate those services. The coalition aids over 30 statewide Healthy Start programs in Florida to assist at-risk mothers receive the care they need for a healthy pregnancy and baby through local coalitions providing high-quality prenatal care for mothers and health care for infants and children.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Florida, Healthy Start, Infant health, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Prevention programs, State programs

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)

Annotation: The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) is the lead U. S. Department of Health and Human Services agency for improving access to health care for individuals and families nationwide. The agency includes the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, which funds the Maternal and Child Health Block Grant, Special Projects of Regional and National Significance (SPRANS) activities and the Healthy Start Program. HRSA produces a catalog, and the HRSA Preview, which provides a comprehensive list of HRSA's competitive grant programs. The HRSA Geospatial Data Warehouse captures grants, scholarship and loan programs, designation of underserved areas, and service demonstration programs and integrates these with data acquired from external sources. The HRSA Information Center provides consumer information and referrals, a catalog of publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Public policies, Access to health care, Child health, Consumer education, Federal agencies, HRSA, Health insurance, Health promotion, Healthy start, Models, Outreach, Policy development, Program development, Public health, Publications, SPRANS, Spanish language materials, Women's health

Healthy Baby Network

Annotation: the Healthy Baby Network is a service of Healthy Start Rochester (NY). The network provides individualized case management for vulnerable mothers during prenatal care; walks the streets and providie access directly to those in need; puts ogether a taskforce of mothers, community partners, and 35 different agencies to mobilize our community around perinatal health; and workisdirectly with mothers and families to provide access to care, job training, and housing security.

Keywords: Healthy Start, Local initiatives, New York, Prenatal care

Healthy Start EPIC Center

Annotation: The Healthy Start EPIC Center provides training, consultation, and technical resources to community-based agencies working to give every child a healthy start. Healthy Start grantees can request technical assistance and receive help achieving their program goals. The Healthy Start EPIC Center is operated by the National Institute for Children's Health Quality.

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Prevention programs, Resource centers

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB)

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) is charged with primary responsibility for promoting and improving the health of our Nation's mothers and children. As part of the Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, MCHB administers Title V of the Social Security Act. MCHB's mission is to provide national leadership and to work in partnership with States, communities, public-private partners, and families to strengthen the maternal and child infrastructure, assure the availability and use of medical homes, and build knowledge and human resources in order to assure continued improvement in the health, safety, and well-being of the maternal and child health population. MCHB administers major programs including the Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant, the Healthy Start Initiative, the Emergency Medical Services for Children Program, Traumatic Brain Injury, and the Universal Newborn Hearing Screening Program. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. MCHB also provides a national hotline for prenatal care information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Brain injuries, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Emergency medical services for children, Federal agencies, Healthy Start, Hearing screening, Hotlines, Infant health, MCH programs, MCH services, Maternal health, Perinatal health, Title V programs

North Carolina Healthy Start Foundation (NCHSF)

Annotation: The mission of the North Carolina Healthy Start Foundation is to reduce infant mortality and morbidity and to improve the health of young children in North Carolina. NC Healthy Start manages statewide public education and awareness campaigns and provides technical assistance and leadership to community leaders, organizations, and health and human health service professionals to accomplish its mission. Media campaigns include topics related to child health insurance enrollment, reducing the risk of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome; preventing birth defects; and promoting healthy birth weights and healthy birth dates in an effort to reduce pre-term and low birth weight births. The Foundation is home to several national award-winning maternal and child health related media campaigns. Services to consumers include referrals, inquiry responses, and publications, and workshops are offered. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Healthy Start, Infant mortality, North Carolina, Prevention programs, State programs

Pennsylvania Perinatal Partnership

Annotation: The Pennsylvania Perinatal Partnership represents the collaborative efforts of Pennsylvania’s Healthy Start Projects and Maternal and Child Health Programs to improve women's and children's health outcomes in Pennsylvania through education, advocacy, and collaboration. In its work, the Partnership emphasizes the importance of making sure that women are healthy when they become pregnant, that they continue to be healthy during pregnancy, that they are healthy between pregnancies, and that their babies are born, and remain healthy. PPP members work to reduce barriers to maternal and child health services, promote the provision of culturally and linguistically sensitive care, and support the capacity of women to enhance and maintain their own health as well as the health of their children and families. Whether directly or through alliances with community-based health, mental health and and social service organizations, PPP members offer individualized care designed to build on the strengths of each family. In addition, PPP members ensure that women and children receive needed primary and specialty health and mental health services; enroll families in health insurance programs; and provide education about nutrition, exercise, child development, and other maternal and child health concerns. Significant activities include a statewide conference on perinatal depression and a symposium on Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders. In October, 2008, the PPP hosted a conference on improving pregnancy outcomes for minority populations. In addition, Partnership members continue to work on improving pregnancy outcomes and the delivery of obstetrical care in the Commonwealth.

Keywords: Healthy Start, Infant health, MCH services, Maternal health, Pennsylvania, Pregnancy, State initiatives

State Family Planning Administrators (SFPA)

Annotation: State Family Planning Administrators (SFPA), a professional association of administrators of publicly subsidized state-level family planning programs, provides training for its members and for service delivery staff. Past projects have addressed preconceptional health care, maternal substance use, sexually transmitted disease services, and the impact of managed care on family planning. SFPA provides a forum to exchange ideas and strategies which improve services and promote policies which foster quality family planning as an essential component of health care for all. The association also sponsors a national conference for state administrators and their staff.

Keywords: Family planning, Healthy Start, Reproduction, Reproductive health, State programs, Women's health

Sunny Futures Healthy Start

Annotation: Sunny Futures Healthy Start focuses on preventing preterm birth and fetal and infant death and reducing the incidence of low birthweight infants by educating and training women, adolescents, fathers, parents, and grandparents. Services include health education, home visits, medical application assistance, and referrals to local resources.

Keywords: Health education, Healthy Start, Home visiting, Infant mortality, Referrals, Risk reduction

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Healthy Start and Perinatal Services (MCHB DHSPS)

Annotation: The Division of Healthy Start and Perinatal Services (DHSPS) is one of five divisions of the Health Resources and Services Administration's (HRSA) Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB). The division provides national leadership that promotes healthy pregnancies and births and assures quality health care for all women. DPSWH develops and implements initiatives that focus on eliminating racial and ethnic disparities in perinatal and women's health, including comprehensive preventive services and programs that promote positive health behaviors. These initiatives include demonstration programs, partnerships with provider organizations and other federal agencies and bureaus, resource centers, mortality and morbidity review processes, and development of guidelines.

Keywords: Federal agencies, Health promotion, Healthy Start, Infant health, Infant mortality, Perinatal health, Prevention programs, Title V programs, Women's health

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.