Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: Communities Joined In Action is a campaign to help communities ensure health care access for all (as part of the movement to achieve 100% Access / 0 Disparities, started in 1998 by the U.S. Bureau of Primary Health Care). A private, non-profit organization, Communities Joined In Action provides access to technical expertise, peer-mentors from model communities, coaches with first-hand experience, and experts who can help communities at every step in the process to improve access to care and eliminate health disparities. The campaign collects and provides access to profiles of communities that have successfully designed and implemented integrated health care access systems, with details on structure, outcomes, lessons learned and financing. Members receive technical assistance, coalition-building advice and expertise, and special services such as state-level assistance to help improve health access and outcomes and facilitate local efforts to integrate services to achieve better health for more people at less cost. The campaign posts numerous technical documents which can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site. Communities Joined In Action was created with support from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, Sisters of Mercy Health System, Ascension Health and the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston.

Keywords: Community programs, Access to care, Community role, Electronic publications, Healthy people 2010, Model programs, Technical assistance, Technical reports

Keywords: Health statistics, Data, Federal programs, Healthy People 2010, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Online databases, Public health

Annotation: The Healthy People Consortium comprises a group of agencies and organizations committed to achieving the goals and objectives of Healthy People, a national framework for public health prevention priorities and actions. The website includes information and resources on the history and development of Healthy People, what’s new for Healthy People, and planning and evaluating interventions to achieve Healthy People objectives. Information about the consortium partners, webinars and events, and tools for professionals are also available.

Keywords: Health statistics, Data, Federal programs, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Public health

Annotation: The National Initiative to Improve Adolescent Health (NIIAH) is a collaborative effort to improve the health, safety, and well-being of adolescents and young adults. Launched as a partnership between two federal agencies -- the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Division of Adolescent and School Health, and the Health Services and Resources Administration, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Office of Adolescent Health -- the national initiative aims to achieve the 21 Critical Health Objectives for Adolescents & Young Adults found in Healthy People 2010. These objectives focus on individual health outcomes and related behaviors that pose the greatest threat to the health of adolescents. They focus on the following areas: mortality, unintentional Injury, violence, mental health & substance abuse, reproductive health, and chronic disease. Through the National Adolescent Health Information Center, NIIAH has developed a how-to guide, Improving the Health of Adolescent and Young Adults: A Guide for States and Communities, which can be downloaded free of charge from CDC at http://www.cdc.gov/HealthyYouth/NationalInitiative. Another resource created by the National Initiative is the Partners Resources database, an online tool which provides a comprehensive listing of adolescent health activities and resources available from NIIAH partner organizations.

Keywords: Adolescents, Online databases, Adolescent health, Adolescent health programs, Collaboration, Electronic publications, Federal programs, Healthy People 2010

Annotation: The Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP) sets national health goals and objectives and supports programs, services, and education activities that improve the health of all Americans. ODPHP sponsors trainings (e-learning courses), visiting scholars and residencies, and the National Health Information Center and manages the health.gov, HealthyPeople.gov, and healthfinder.gov websites. ODPHP also provides information and resources on topics such as the national dietary guidelines, physical activity guidelines, health literacy and communication, and health care quality and patient safety. Congress ODPHP in 1976 to lead disease prevention and health promotion efforts in the United States. ODPHP is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services under the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health.

Keywords: Health promotion, Consumer education, Healthy People 2010, Information sources, Prevention, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Public awareness materials, Publications, Referrals, Self help clearinghouses, World Wide Web

Annotation: Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries whose mission is to link the public health workforce to information for improved practice. Its objectives are to (1) increase awareness and use of National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM) and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) distributed learning resources among the public health workforce; (2) assist the public health workforce in obtaining the hardware/software, Internet connection and satellite reception needed for effective access to information resources; (3) train the public health workforce to use the technology required for effective access to information resources; (4) train the public health workforce to identify and use pertinent information resources and services; and (5) increase awareness of the public health workforce's needs and resources among NN/LM members. The Web site includes a pilot project that provides preformulated searches on selected Healthy People 2010 focus areas; the searches make information and evidence-based strategies related to Healthy People 2010 objectives easier to find.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Health personnel, Healthy People 2010, Information dissemination, Information systems, Outreach, Public health, Training