Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Alaska Health Education Library Project (AHELP) is an electronic clearinghouse of current health promotion and health education resources that are specific to and available in Alaska. It contains information on health promotion programs, projects and materials, key contact people in health promotion program areas, a calendar of health observances and health promotion training and events, and resource organizations at the state and national level. AHELP has an online discussion list (listserv) for professionals involved in health education and health promotion.

Keywords: Alaska, Clearinghouses, Health sciences libraries, Listservs, State agencies

Annotation: The Arizona Health Sciences Library (AHSL) is open to the public for on-site use; faculty, staff, students, and health care professionals licensed in Arizona may check out materials; electronic resources are accessible off-site for faculty, staff, and students.

Keywords: Arizona, Health sciences libraries, State agencies

Annotation: The Association of Mental Health Librarians (AMHL) is a professional organization of individuals working in the field of mental health information delivery. Its members come from a variety of settings: inpatient hospitals, academic and research institutions, and psychiatric and psychological agencies. AMHL provides opportunities for its members to enhance their professional skills; encourages research activities in mental health librarianship; and strengthens the role of the librarian within the mental health community. AMHL has an annual conference, which provides continuing education and networking possibilities for its members.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Librarians, Mental health, Professional societies

Annotation: The Canadian Health Libraries Association / Association des bibliothèques de la santé du Canada (CHLA/ABSC) is a professional organization of approximately 400 individuals in the health sciences library field in Canada. Through its programs and publications CHLA/ABSC encourages the professional development of its members whose foremost concern is the dissemination of health sciences information to those in research, education and patient care. Information is available in English and French.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Associations, Canada, Professional development

Annotation: The Claude Moore Health Siences Library at the University of Virginia serves as a biomedical information resource for the university at large, the local community, and the Commonwealth of Virginia through proactive outreach services, and the nation through cooperative programs with other libraries and agencies. The library is open to the public and some services are provided to local health care professionals and the public, in addition to specialized services provided to those affiliated with the University of Virginia.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, State agencies, Virginia

Annotation: The Consumer Health Library located, within the Delaware Academy of Medicine's library, offers a wide range of health and medical information to consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries

Annotation: The Dickerman Library offers electronic searching of its library catalog, journal title searching for users of the New York State Department of Health, a new books display, and links to catalogs of other libraries. The Wadsworth Center is New York's state health laboratory.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, New York, State agencies

Annotation: The Ebling Library is a newly constructed health sciences learning center that combines three health sciences libraries at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, formerly known as the W.W. Middleton Health Sciences Library, the Weston Library, and the Pharmaceutical Library. The reference staff responds to in-person, phone and e-mail subject queries. Reference assistance includes answering directional and reference questions, providing instruction, technical assistance, and referral. A variety of electronic toolkits and other online resources are available on the Web site.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, State agencies, Wisconsin

Annotation: The George T. Harrell Library primarily serves the faculty, students, and staff of Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center and the Penn State College of Medicine, and users from the Central Pennsylvania community. The Web site provides access to many electronic resources, including online databases and consumer health information.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Pennsylvania, State agencies

Annotation: The Hardin Library for the Health Sciences disseminates health sciences information to the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Iowa in support of education, research, and health care. The library serves the combined information and research needs of the University of Iowa Colleges of Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Public Health; the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (including related allied-health education programs); and the Department of Speech Pathology and Audiology. The Web site provides electronic access to dozens of biomedical and general databases.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Information services, Databases, Libraries, Library services

Annotation: The Howard University Health Sciences Library offers electronic resources to all users. Borrowing privileges are retricted to faculty and students affiliated with Howard University.

Keywords: District of Columbia, Health sciences libraries

Annotation: The Idaho Health Sciences Library (IHSL) answers brief questions, helps with research and literature searching, and conducts workshops and tours at no charge for faculty, staff, and students at Idaho State University; health care professionals, clinics, and hospitals; and consumers and others. In-depth literature searches and photocopies are provided for a fee. The Web site offers many electronic resources including a guide for consumers.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Idaho, State agencies

Annotation: The J. Otto Lottes Health Sciences Library at the University of Missouri-Columbia provides library services for health care personnel and residents of Missouri, as well as for faculty, staff, and students of the university. Their Web site also directs users to information for patients and health consumers.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Missouri, State agencies

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Health promotion, Information services, Public health

Annotation: The Government Documents Section acquires official documents from the fifty state governments of the United States and the publications of the Federal government for the collection of the Library of Congress.

Keywords: Federal agencies, Health sciences libraries

Annotation: The Lister Hill Library of the Health Sciences is a large biomedical library in Alabama and one of the leading such libraries in the South. It serves as a Resource Library in the National Network of Libraries of Medicine for the Southeast/Atlantic region. It provides referrals and reference information. Publishes a newsletter.

Keywords: Alabama, Health sciences libraries, State agencies

Annotation: The Lyman Maynard Stowe Library at the University of Connecticut Health Center provides a range of library services for faculty, staff and students. In addition, it provides Healthnet, a Connecticut consumer health information network. Healthnet programs and services are designed to assist in the development of local public libraries as primary access points for consumer health information. Healthnet also has a library that is open to the public and it provides consumer information via its Web site.

Keywords: Connecticut, Health sciences libraries, State agencies

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Library (MCH Library) at Georgetown University is an electronic guide to MCH information. It offers a combination of MCH information compiled by library staff and pathways to the best MCH information available on other websites, from organizations, and in libraries. The MCH Library publishes the MCH Alert; produces databases; develops knowledge paths, bibliographies, and other information resources; maintains a website to provide access to key MCH-related data and information; and promotes the awareness and use of MCH information. Its physical collection is the Mary C. Egan Maternal and Child Health Library, one of the six libraries of Georgetown University. Library staff respond to information requests from the public, including health professionals and consumers. The library provides access to information in numerous non-English languages. The library is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Maternal health, Adolescent health, Asian language materials, Child health, Health sciences libraries, Infant health, National MCH resource center, Non English language materials, Resource centers, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Medical Library Association (MLA) is a nonprofit, educational organization of institutions and individual members in the health sciences information field, committed to educating health information professionals, supporting health information research, promoting access to the world's health sciences information, and working to ensure that the best health information is available to all.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Associations, Education, Information services, Professional development, Research

Keywords: Health, Health sciences libraries, Information sources, Internet, Libraries, Resource centers