Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (179 total).

Academy for Eating Disorders (AED)

Annotation: The Academy for Eating Disorders (AED) is a multidisciplinary professional organization that promotes excellence in research, treatment, and prevention of eating disorders, including anorexa nervosa, bulimia nervosa, and binge eating disorder. Founded in 1993, AED provides education, training, and a forum for collaboration and dialogue. The academy sponsors conferences, produces a quarterly newsletter, assists in the development of professional guidelines, and identifies and rewards outstanding achievement in the field.

Keywords: Anorexia nervosa, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Health promotion, Preventive health services, Professional societies

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (AND)

Annotation: The Academy of Nutrition of Dietetics (AND) is the advocate of the dietetics profession serving the public through the promotion of optimal nutrition, health, and well being. The association is involved in the credentialing of competent nutrition and dietetic professionals and provides continuing education for nearly 70,000 members. Key areas of interest include obesity and overweight (with a focus on children); healthy aging; nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics; Integrative medicine (including supplements and alternative medicine; and safe, sustainable, and nutritious food supply. Through its Knowledge Center, ADA provides current food and nutrition information for consumers, health professionals, and ADA members. Until 2012 it was known as the American Dietetic Association (ADA)

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Consumer education, Dietetic technicians, Health promotion, Hotlines, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Professional societies, Public health nutrition, Publications, Spanish language materials

Action for Healthy Kids (AFHK)

Annotation: Action for Healthy Kids (AFHK) is a nonprofit organization formed to address the epidemic of overweight, undernourished, and sedentary youth by focusing on changes at school, to improve children's nutrition and increase physical activity, which will in turn improve their readiness to learn. An outgrowth of the 2002 Healthy Schools Summit, AFHK is a public-private partnership of more than 50 national organizations and government agencies representing education, health, fitness, and nutrition. AFHK's Web site provides information on current activities in the 50 states plus the District of Columbia, and a searchable database that lists resources to improve schools, including materials and profiles of successful school practices.

Keywords: Databases, Child nutrition, Health promotion, Model programs, Physical activity, Schools

Alive & Thrive

American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS)

Annotation: The American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS), formerly the American Home Economics Association, works to affect public policy on families and to improve the quality of personal and family life through education, research, cooperative programs, and public information. Publications include brochures, booklets, reference books, periodicals (The Journal of Family and Consumer Sciences, and Family and Consumer Sciences Research Journal (issued quarterly), and a publications & product catalog. AAFCS sponsors annual conferences and provides certification and accreditation programs. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Consumer education, Family life education, Health promotion, School linked programs

American College of Gastroenterology (ACG)

Annotation: Founded in 1932, the American College of Gastroenterology (ACG) works to advance the scientific study and medical practice of diseases of the gastrointestinal (digestive) tract. The college sponsors annual scientific meetings, provides regional postgraduate training courses, awards research grants, advocates on behalf of gastroenterologists and their patients, and disseminates scientific information on digestive health and GI disorders. Publications include the Journal of Gastroenterology. Patient materials are posted on ACG's Web site.

Keywords: , Gastroenterology, Advocacy, Disease prevention, Gastrogenterologists, Gastrointestinal diseases, Grants, Health promotion, Information sources, Patient education, Professional societies, Professional training

American College of Medical Genetics (ACMG)

Annotation: The American College of Medical Genetics (ACMG) provides education, resources, and representation for the medical genetics profession. ACMG promotes the development and implementation of methods to diagnose, treat and prevent genetic disease and establishes uniform laboratory standards, quality assurance, and proficiency testing. The college develops clinical practice guidelines and produces laboratory-services directories, databases, position papers, and population screening guidelines.

Keywords: Genetics, Advocacy, Diagnosis, Genetics education, Health promotion, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Publications, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Standards

American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM)

Annotation: The American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM) is a professional society that promotes the health and safety of workers through preventive medicine, clinical care, research, and education. The organization sponsors two national conferences, scientific sessions, postgraduate seminars, training courses, and self-assessment programs. Publications include the monthly Journal of Occupational and Environmental Medicine, MRO Update Newsletter, an annual membership directory, and a newsletter, ACOEM Report.

Keywords: Health promotion, Personnel, Preventive medicine, , Occupational safety and health

American College of Preventive Medicine (ACPM)

Annotation: The American College of Preventive Medicine (ACPM) is a national organization of physicians working to prevent disease and promote health. It seeks to advance the science and practice of preventive medicine by providing educational opportunities for its members, advocating public policies consistent with scientific principles, supporting the investigation and analysis of issues relevant to the field, and participating in national forums to address important professional and public health concerns. It provides the public with reference information. Publications include a peer-reviewed journal and a newsletter. In addition, the organization sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Health promotion, Preventive health services

American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM)

Annotation: The American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) promotes and integrates scientific research, education and practical applications of sports medicine and exercise science to maintain and enhance physical performance, fitness, health, and quality of life. ACSM offers members informational publications and video materials, meetings, and continuing education. Membership is open to interested individuals as well as health professionals.

Keywords: Sports medicine, Consumer education, Exercise, Health promotion, Physical activity, Professional education

American Gastroenterological Association (AGA)

Annotation: The American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) is a society of physicians, surgeons, scientists, and other individuals within the healthcare community who have a demonstrated a continued interest in the functions and disorders of the digestive system. As a professional association, AGA serves as an advocate for its members and their patients; supports members’ practices and scientific needs; and promote the discovery, dissemination, and application of new knowledge leading to the prevention, treatment and cure of digestive diseases. AGA offers training and career development opportunities, publishes periodicals, and provides member resources such as patient education materials and an online supply store.

Keywords: Professional training, Gastroenterology, Advocacy, Disease prevention, Gastrogenterologists, Gastrointestinal diseases, Health promotion, Information sources, Patient education, Professional education, Professional societies, Publications

American Heart Association (AHA)

Annotation: The American Heart Association (AHA) is a national voluntary health agency whose mission is to reduce disability and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke. AHA provides services and resources for healthcare professionals as well as patients and families. The association compiles statistics, offers advocacy services, provides continuing education courses, promotes physical activity and healthy eating, sponsors conferences and Web sessions, and publishes information and educational materials, including scientific findings, heart-healthy cookbooks for consumers, and electronic PDA programs for healthcare professionals.

Keywords: Continuing education, Advocacy, Cardiovascular diseases, Consumer materials, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Legislation, Medical education, Nutrition, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Spanish language materials, Statistics

American Medical Association (AMA)

Annotation: The American Medical Association (AMA), a federation of 54 state or comparable medical associations, works to promote the art and science of medicine and the improvement of public health. The association brings together 82 national societies representing a variety of medical specialties. Publications include the Journal of the American Medical Association. A list of publications and audiovisual materials is available. The AMA also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Public health, AMA, Advocacy, Conferences, Health promotion, Physicians, Policy analysis, Policy development, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Training

American Obesity Association (AOA)

Annotation: The American Obesity Association (AOA) is a non-profit organization that works to educate the public about obesity and its causes, treatment options, and prevention strategies. The AOA focuses on changing public policy and perceptions about obesity and works to act as an agent of change to move society to view obesity as a disease and to fashion appropriate strategies to deal with the epidemic. The AOA's advocacy work focuses on policymaking that improves the lives of persons with obesity including health insurance coverage for obesity treatment and prevention programs, government funding for obesity research, and the elimination of policies and laws that negatively affect persons with obesity. The American Obesity Association Research Foundation (AOARF) was established to solicit and disperse funds to support obesity research. Publications include fact sheets, booklets, and a newsletter. The AOA also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Health education, Health policy, Health promotion, Obesity, Patients rights

American Orthopsychiatric Association (ORTHO)

Annotation: The American Orthopsychiatric Association (ORTHO) promotes an interdisciplinary approach to mental health. Members include psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, nurses, educators, lawyers, sociologists, and others. The association maintains study groups for members and sponsors annual meetings. Publications include the quarterly American Journal of Orthopsychiatry , Readings (a quarterly publication) and a newsletter.

Keywords: Advocacy, Health promotion, , Mental health

American Osteopathic Association (AOA)

Annotation: The American Osteopathic Association (AOA) is a membership organization for doctors of osteopathic medicine. It is organized to advance the philosophy and practice of osteopathic medicine by promoting excellence in education, research, and the delivery of quality and cost-effective health care in a distinct, unified profession. Services to consumers include referrals and publications. Some materials are available in Spanish. AOA publishes a journal and sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Osteopathic medicine, Health promotion, Primary Care

American Public Health Association (APHA)

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) is the oldest and largest organization of public health professionals in the world, representing members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

Association for Glycogen Storage Disease (AGSD)

Annotation: The Association for Glycogen Storage Disease (AGSD) protects and promotes the interests of people affected by glycogen storage disease, disseminates information, provides parental support and referral services, sponsors an annual conference, and facilitates communication among professionals in related fields. Publications include a quarterly newsletter, The Ray, and a parent handbook.

Keywords: Glycogen storage disease, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Information services, Metabolic diseases, Parent support services

Association of Academic Health Centers (AAHC)

Annotation: The Association of Academic Health Centers (AAHC) is a national nonprofit organization of more than 100 institutions in the United States and Canada that are the health complexes of the major universities of these nations. The association works to improve health through leadership and cooperative action, to influence public dialogue on health and science policy issues, to advance education for health professionals, and to promote biomedical and health services research. The organization sponsors conferences but only by invitation.

Keywords: Public health education, Health promotion, Medical research, Professional education, Public policies

Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO)

Annotation: The Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO) is a not-for-profit national association representing community health organizations that serve Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and oher Pacific Islanders in the United States (particularly those who are medically underserved). The organization works to promote advocacy, collaboration, and leadership and to provide community responsive, financially affordable, and culturally appropriate primary health care services through member community health clinics. AAPCHO's resources and services range from translated health education materials for patients, to maps detailing areas with medically underserved AAPIs, to listservs that electronically link individuals from across the country. Materials are available in Asian languages.

Keywords: Asian Americans, Minority groups, Minority health promotion, Minority health, Access to health care, Information dissemination, Pacific Islanders

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.