Search Results: MCH Organizations

Keywords: Arizona, Dental education, Dental schools, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: Action for Healthy Kids (AFHK) is a nonprofit organization formed to address the epidemic of overweight, undernourished, and sedentary youth by focusing on changes at school, to improve children's nutrition and increase physical activity, which will in turn improve their readiness to learn. An outgrowth of the 2002 Healthy Schools Summit, AFHK is a public-private partnership of more than 50 national organizations and government agencies representing education, health, fitness, and nutrition. AFHK's Web site provides information on current activities in the 50 states plus the District of Columbia, and a searchable database that lists resources to improve schools, including materials and profiles of successful school practices.

Keywords: Databases, Child nutrition, Health promotion, Model programs, Physical activity, Schools

Annotation: Adopt A Special Kid (AASK) provides complete, no-fee foster and adoption services to families interested in helping children in the child welfare system. The organization was formed in 1973 on the principle that it is every child's right to be a permanent member of a supportive family. AASK's pioneering success in placing children in California lead to requests to replicate its program model, and, today, adoption programs and services developed by AASK operate in California, Arizona, Ohio and New Mexico. In addition to its programs to find families for waiting children, AASK also advocates systemic changes that will improve life opportunities for these children.

Keywords: Adoption, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Foster care, Model programs, Services

Annotation: Advocates for Youth is dedicated to creating programs and advocating for policies that help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health. Advocates provides information, training, and strategic assistance to youth-serving organizations, policy makers, youth activists, and the media in the United States and the developing world. Advocates publishes newsletters, as well as provider- and consumer-oriented publications on adolescent reproductive health. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Decision making skills, Information sources, Life skills, Peer education, Programs, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials, Women

Annotation: The Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health (AIM) is a national alliance to promote consistent and safe maternity care to reduce maternal mortality by 1,000 and severe maternal morbidity by 100,000 instances over the course of four years, 2014 – 2018 (and continuing). Over this four-year period, AIM will collaborate with eight qualified states and a large number of hospitals and hospital systems across the U.S. participating on a voluntary basis to initiate or improve a culture of maternal safety through continuous quality improvement cycles. The purpose of the AIM program is to equip, empower and embolden every state, perinatal quality collaborative, hospital network/system, birth facility and maternity care provider in the U.S to significantly reduce severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality through proven implementation of consistent maternity care practices that are outlined in maternal safety bundles (action systems). The AIM Program is designed to complement current maternal safety initiatives in progress, as well as drive continuous quality improvement on a state and birth facility level. It is funded through the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Collaboration, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Prevention programs, Quality assurance

Annotation: The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) represents America's baccalaureate- and higher-degree nursing education programs. AACN conducts research, collects data, advocates, and develops curriculum standards and policy statements. Publications include the Journal of Professional Nursing, Syllabus (a bimonthly newsletter), and AACN Issue Bulletins (each focusing on a specific topic).

Keywords: Curricula, School health programs, Colleges, Data collection, Education, Nursing, Nursing services, Policy development, Standards

Annotation: The American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS), formerly the American Home Economics Association, works to affect public policy on families and to improve the quality of personal and family life through education, research, cooperative programs, and public information. Publications include brochures, booklets, reference books, periodicals (The Journal of Family and Consumer Sciences, and Family and Consumer Sciences Research Journal (issued quarterly), and a publications & product catalog. AAFCS sponsors annual conferences and provides certification and accreditation programs. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Consumer education, Family life education, Health promotion, School linked programs

Annotation: The American College Health Association (ACHA) was founded in 1920 to promote excellence in college health by setting standards and providing quality health programs and services to colleges and universities in the United States and abroad. Membership is open to all post secondary educational institutions and to individuals—health professionals as well as students—dedicated to health promotion on their campuses. ACHA represents more than 900 member institutions and more than 2,400 individual members.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Colleges, School health programs

Annotation: The American Health Quality Association (AHQA) represents quality improvement organizations and professionals working to improve the quality of health care in communities across the country. AHQA offers education and networking opportunities for its members and provides information and publications for providers as well as consumers.

Keywords: , Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Consumer education, Health services, Model programs, Professional training

Annotation: The American Heart Association (AHA) is a national voluntary health agency whose mission is to reduce disability and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke. AHA provides services and resources for healthcare professionals as well as patients and families. The association compiles statistics, offers advocacy services, provides continuing education courses, promotes physical activity and healthy eating, sponsors conferences and Web sessions, and publishes information and educational materials, including scientific findings, heart-healthy cookbooks for consumers, and electronic PDA programs for healthcare professionals.

Keywords: Continuing education, Advocacy, Cardiovascular diseases, Consumer materials, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Legislation, Medical education, Nutrition, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Spanish language materials, Statistics

Annotation: The Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice (CECP) at the American Institutes for Research supports and promotes a reoriented national preparedness to foster the development and the adjustment of children with or at risk of developing serious emotional disturbance. To achieve that goal, the center has a policy of collaboration at federal, state, and local levels that contributes to and facilitates the production, exchange, and use of knowledge about effective practices. The center is funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs and receives additional support from the Center for Mental Health Services, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Topics covered by the center include child welfare, cultural competence, families, juvenile justice, mental health, school violence prevention and intervention, and schools and special education. The center provides publications, list service discussions, information about promising practices and prevention programs that work, and links to further information.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Affective disorders, Child mental health, Collaboration, Information services, Listservs, Model programs

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) represents members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

Annotation: The American Public Health Association's Center for School, Health and Education advances school-based health care as a comprehensive strategy for preventing school dropout and improving graduation rates for students in kindergarten through grade 12. Through partnerships, policies and advocacy, the center links the education and public health communities to ensure that all students -- particularly those facing social inequities -- are supported to graduate. The center promotes school-based health centers as uniquely positioned to create a learning-friendly climate school-wide, increase access to physical and mental health care, and promote lifelong healthy behaviors for children and teens.

Keywords: Graduation, Health care delivery, Prevention programs, Public health, School based clinics, School dropouts

Annotation: The American Public Human Services Association (APHSA), formerly the American Public Welfare Association, represents state and local agencies as well as individuals interested or employed in public welfare. The association develops national social policy positions and sponsors conferences, workshops, and training sessions.

Keywords: Advocacy, Block grants, CSHN programs, Child care, Child health, Maternal health, Public policies, Title V

Annotation: The American School Health Association (ASHA), founded in 1927, is an interdisciplinary professional membership association whose members include nurses, physicians, teachers, physical educators, counselors, social workers, psychologists, administrators, health educators, health coordinators, nutritionists, and others all advocating for high-quality school health instruction, health services, and a healthful school environment. ASHA's mission is to protect and promote the health of children and youth by supporting coordinated school health programs as a foundation for school success. The association hosts a listservice and publishes The Journal of School Health (subscription with membership), Health in Action (a practitioners publication), and the Pulse newsletter. ASHA information, membership application, publications, annual conference, application for conference presentations, student scholarship, and workshops are available on the Web site.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, School health programs, School health services, Professional societies, School health

Annotation: The American Sexual Health Association (ASHA) is a nonprofit organization that works to improve the health of individuals, families, and communities, with a focus on sexual health and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs). Through education, research, and public policy the association produces multifaceted programs addressing the most prevalent STDs. ASHA produces a variety of books, pamphlets, information packets, and other educational materials for patients, health providers, parents, teachers, and organizations.

Keywords: Sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, Herpes genitalis, Hotlines, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention programs, Public health, Public policy, Sexual health

Annotation: The American SIDS Institute (ASI) is a national nonprofit health care organization dedicated to the prevention of sudden infant death and the promotion of infant health. ASI's mission is to: conduct research related to the cause of sudden infant death and its prevention; provide clinical services to assist pediatricians in managing high risk infants; provide education about prevention methods aimed at the public and medical community; and offer family support services including crises phone counseling, grief literature, and referrals.

Keywords: Consumer education, Family support, Infant health, Infant mortality, Prevention programs, Professional education, Research, SIDS

Annotation: Apple Tree operates seven Centers for Dental Health in Minnesota.

Keywords: Minnesota, Oral health care, State programs

Annotation: The Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF) works to influence policy, mobilizes communities, and strengthens programs and organizations to improve the health of Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders. The forum advocates for accurate representation of the health needs of Asian and Pacific Islander communities; performs community sensitive research to better inform health policy makers and providers; forges coalitions for the development of national health policies and programs; empowers individuals and communities to pursue parity in health status, to ensure a multicultural and multilingual approach to health services delivery; and fosters strategic linkages to promote improvement in the health of Asian and Pacific Islander Americans. APIAHF sponsors conferences, maintains an online resource database, hosts listservs, and publishes public health alerts. Materials are available in Asian and Pacific Islander languages.

Keywords: Advocacy, Asian Americans, Minority groups, Pacific Islanders, Public health programs

Annotation: The Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP) supports state maternal and child health programs and provides national leadership on issues affecting women and children. AMCHP accomplishes its mission through the active participation of its members and partnerships with government agencies, families and advocates, health care purchasers and providers, academic and research professionals, and others at the national, state, and local levels. AMCHP tracks and analyzes emerging policy issues that impact family health and distributes the information to subscribers electronically via the AMCHP Legislative Alert. Issues areas include adolescent and school health; best practices; child health; data and assessment; family involvement; Medicaid, State Children's Health Insurance Program, and welfare; mental health; and women's and perinatal health. It also has a National Center for Health Reform Implementation.

Keywords: Maternal health, Advocacy, Block grants, CSHN programs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Federal MCH programs, Guidelines, Models, Professional societies, Public policies, State programs, Technical assistance, Title V