Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (126 total).

Academic Pediatric Association (APA)

Annotation: The Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is an organization of health care professionals that works to improve health care for children by conducting research, teaching, and formulating public policy. Publications include a newsletter, a series of guidelines for general pediatrics education of medical students and pediatric residents and a journal.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Consumer education, Guidelines, Health education, Health services, Information sources, Professional societies, Professional training, Public policy, Research, Teaching

AcademyHealth

Annotation: AcademyHealth, formerly the Academy for Health Services Research and Health Policy (AHSRHP), is the professional home for health services researchers, policy analysts, and practitioners, and a leading, non-partisan resource for the best in health research and policy. Drawing from the strengths of more than 3,600 individuals and 120 organizations, AcademyHealth provides a forum for its members to share the latest research, review and analyze health policy, and network with their peers. Services to consumers include publications and searchable databases. The organization publishes a journal and a newsletter, and sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Health policy, Health services, Policy development, Research, Training

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Annotation: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) supports research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services. AHRQ supports the National Guideline Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines; the National Quality Measures Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets; the Patient Safety Network, a collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources; and the Effective Health Care Program, a collection of research centers working to provide evidence on health care interventions.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Safety, Clearinghouses, Clinical medicine, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Health disparities , Health policy, Medical technology, Patient care management, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, Research, Service delivery, Spanish language materials, State Children's Health Insurance Program, Training, Treatment outcomes

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (H-CUP)

Annotation: The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) is a family of health care databases and related software tools and products developed through a federal-state-industry partnership and sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUP databases bring together the data collection efforts of state data organizations, hospital associations, private data organizations, and the federal government to create a national information resource of client-level health care data. HCUP includes a collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States, with all-payer, encounter-level information beginning in 1988. The databases enable research on a broad range of health policy issues, including cost and quality of health services, medical practice patterns, access to health care programs, and outcomes of treatments at the national, state, and local market levels. H-CUPnet, a free, online query system based on data from HCUP, provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department use.

Keywords: Databases, Federal initiatives, Health care costs, Health care utilization, Health policy, Hospitals, Public private partnerships, Research

Alliance for Early Success

Annotation: The Alliance for Early Success (formerly the Birth to Five Policy Alliance) provides leadership, funding, and curates technical assistance to improve state policies that lead to better health and economic outcomes, especially for the most vulnerable young children. The alliance brings state, national, and funding partners together to improve state policies for children, from birth through age 8. The website provides information about partnerships and grants. Resources address three policy areas (health, family support, and learning) and three policy foundations (standards, screening and assessment, and accountability). The alliance also published a blog.

Keywords: Child development, Collaboration, Family support, Grants, Health policy, Leadership, Learning, Public private partnerships, Socioeconomic status

Altarum Institute

Annotation: Altarum Insittute is a nonprofit health systems research and consulting organization. Altarum's technical service offerings are grouped into the following seven categories: health research, policy, and analysis; health program management, technical assistance, and evaluation; business advisory services; clinical research support and pharmacovigilance; strategic communications and digital services; conferences and meetings; and health innovation and technical assistance.

Keywords: Health policy, Policy development, Research, Systems development, Technical assistance

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) Oral Health Research and Policy Center informs and advances research and policy development that will promote optimal children's oral health and care. Activities include monitoring and reporting data, developing and implementing special projects, producing policy analysis, and conducting research.

Keywords: Children, Oral health, Public policy, Research

American Academy of Pediatrics, Council on School Health

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics' (AAP) Council on School Health is responsible for policy statements from inception to education, implementation, advocacy, and evaluation. The council is a byproduct of the merger of the AAP Section and the Committee on School Health. The council's products include policy statements on soft drinks in schools and camp health. The council's Web site provides news and events, answers to frequently asked questions, policies, and resources for health professionals working with schools or caring for school-aged children in their practices, school personnel, and parents and other caregivers. Selected resources include Health, Mental Health, and Safety Guidelines; School Health Leadership Training Kit; Emergency Guidelines for Schools; HIPAA form for communicating with schools; pediatric school health contacts; school asthma materials; and the National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement.

Keywords: Professional societies, School health, Policy development, School age children

American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)

Annotation: The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) represents America's baccalaureate- and higher-degree nursing education programs. AACN conducts research, collects data, advocates, and develops curriculum standards and policy statements. Publications include the Journal of Professional Nursing, Syllabus (a bimonthly newsletter), and AACN Issue Bulletins (each focusing on a specific topic).

Keywords: Curricula, School health programs, Colleges, Data collection, Education, Nursing, Nursing services, Policy development, Standards

American Health Care Association (AHCA)

Annotation: The American Health Care Association (AHCA) advocates for quality in long-term health care for elderly and disabled individuals. AHCA represents the long term care community to government, business leaders, and the general public, and works to effect change in the long term care field, providing information, education, and administrative tools designed to enhance quality on many levels. Web resources include consumer materials.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Older adults, Advocacy, Allied health professional education, Disabled, Long term care, Policy development, Research

American Medical Association (AMA)

Annotation: The American Medical Association (AMA), a federation of 54 state or comparable medical associations, works to promote the art and science of medicine and the improvement of public health. The association brings together 82 national societies representing a variety of medical specialties. Publications include the Journal of the American Medical Association. A list of publications and audiovisual materials is available. The AMA also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Public health, AMA, Advocacy, Conferences, Health promotion, Physicians, Policy analysis, Policy development, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Training

American Medical Women's Association (AMWA)

American Obesity Association (AOA)

Annotation: The American Obesity Association (AOA) is a non-profit organization that works to educate the public about obesity and its causes, treatment options, and prevention strategies. The AOA focuses on changing public policy and perceptions about obesity and works to act as an agent of change to move society to view obesity as a disease and to fashion appropriate strategies to deal with the epidemic. The AOA's advocacy work focuses on policymaking that improves the lives of persons with obesity including health insurance coverage for obesity treatment and prevention programs, government funding for obesity research, and the elimination of policies and laws that negatively affect persons with obesity. The American Obesity Association Research Foundation (AOARF) was established to solicit and disperse funds to support obesity research. Publications include fact sheets, booklets, and a newsletter. The AOA also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Health education, Health policy, Health promotion, Obesity, Patients rights

American Sexual Health Association (ASHA)

Annotation: The American Sexual Health Association (ASHA) is a nonprofit organization that works to improve the health of individuals, families, and communities, with a focus on sexual health and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs). Through education, research, and public policy the association produces multifaceted programs addressing the most prevalent STDs. ASHA produces a variety of books, pamphlets, information packets, and other educational materials for patients, health providers, parents, teachers, and organizations.

Keywords: Sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, Herpes genitalis, Hotlines, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention programs, Public health, Public policy, Sexual health

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO)

Annotation: The Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO) is a non-profit association that represents the public health agencies of the U.S. and territories and is engaged in a wide range of legislative, scientific, educational, and programmatic issues and activities on behalf of public health. Its mission is to formulate and influence sound national public health policy and to service state health departments in the development and implementation of programs and policies to promote heath and prevent disease. Program areas include access, infectious disease, preparedness, standards, workforce development, environmental health, public health informatics, state health services, accreditation and performance, and prevention and health promotion. Services to consumers include publications, newsletters (including the electronic Primary Care and Prevention Network News), and reference information. The Web site includes resources on evidence-based public health interventions and links to each state's public health department.

Keywords: Public Health, Access to health care, Advocacy, Conferences, Health promotion, Information services, Information sources, Legislation, Policy development, Professional societies, Program development, Program evaluation, Public Policies, Public health infrastructure, Public health programs, Publications, State programs

Association of State Public Health Nutritionists (ASPHN)

Better Oral Health for Massachusetts Coalition

Annotation: The Better Oral Health for Massachusetts Coalition (BOHMAC) is a statewide organization that advocates for oral health policies to ensure that Massachusetts’ residents, especially those most vulnerable, have benefit of comprehensive oral health prevention and treatment services. The website provides information about the coalition's history, board, committees, staff, funders, and materials including the Oral Health Plan for Massachusetts. Information on coalition activities, publications, and events are included.

Keywords: Health promotion, Massachusetts, Health policy, Oral health, Policy analysis, Public policy

Bipartisan Policy Center

Annotation: The Bipartisan Policy Center (BPC), founded in 2007, is a non-profit organization that works to promote health, security, and opportunity for all Americans. The center's policy solutions are the product of informed deliberations by former elected and appointed officials, business and labor leaders, and academics and advocates representing the political spectrum. Topics include health, energy, national and homeland security, the economy, housing, immigration, infrastructure, and governance.

Keywords: Economics, Government, Health, Policy analysis, Policy development

Brookings Institution, Metropolitan Policy Program

Annotation: The Brookings Institution's Metropolitan Policy Program (formerly the Center on Urban and Metropolitan Policy) was launched in 1996 to provide research and policy analysis on the shifting realities of cities and metropolitan areas. The program aims to redefine the challenges facing metropolitan America, and to promote innovative solutions to help communities grow in more inclusive, competitive, and sustainable ways. The Program provides information and presents findings to decisionmakers. A variety of reports, articles, and presentations are available on the Web site.

Keywords: Urban, Community programs, Electronic publications, Policy analysis, Public policy, Urban environment, Urban health, Urban population

C. S. Mott Children's Hospital, National Poll on Children's Health

Annotation: The C.S. Mott Children's Hospital National Poll on Children's Health (NPCH), located within the University of Michigan Health System's Division of General Pediatrics' Child Health Evaluation and Research Unit, measures public opinion, perceptions and priorities regarding major health care issues and trends for children in the United States. Findings from the NPCH contribute to the national dialogue on children's health and health policy issues and help to inform new policy initiatives and research ideas regarding children's health. Current issues range from insurance coverage and preventive services to health care access, obesity, smoking and substance use, screening programs, and children with special health care needs. The NPCH measures the opinions and perceptions of a nationally representative sample of approximately 2,000 U.S. households - with and without children - using an established Web-based survey technology provided by Knowledge Networks. A different sample is drawn for each poll. Each sample is subsequently weighted to reflect the latest population figures from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Keywords: Children's health, National surveys, Public opinion, Public policy

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.