Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (25 total).

American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM)

Annotation: The American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM) is a professional society that promotes the health and safety of workers through preventive medicine, clinical care, research, and education. The organization sponsors two national conferences, scientific sessions, postgraduate seminars, training courses, and self-assessment programs. Publications include the monthly Journal of Occupational and Environmental Medicine, MRO Update Newsletter, an annual membership directory, and a newsletter, ACOEM Report.

Keywords: Health promotion, Personnel, Preventive medicine, , Occupational safety and health

American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA)

Annotation: The American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA) is a professional organization representing the nation's podiatrists in an orchestrated effort to improve the nation's quality of foot care. APMA's Council on Podiatric Medical Education accredits the nation's podiatric medical schools, residency programs, and continuing medical education programs. APMA sponsors an annual conference, publishes the Journal of the American Podiatric Medical Association, and provides career information and professional development opportunities. APMA also provides scholarships for podiatric medical students as well as free foot health information and online resources for the general public.

Keywords: Professional societies, Accreditation, Consumer education, Continuing education, Health personnel, Medical education, Medical schools, Medical students, Podiatrists

Area Health Education Centers Program (AHEC)

Annotation: The Area Health Education Centers (AHEC) Program provides cooperative agreements to health professions schools. The program assists schools to improve the distribution, supply, quality, and diversity of health personnel in the health services delivery system by encouraging regionalization of educational responsibilities of health professions schools. Emphasis is placed on community-based training of primary care oriented students, residents, and local providers. The AHEC is an academic-community partnership which links the resources of academic institutions with those of local communities to establish community-based multi-disciplinary training and/or interdisciplinary networks responsive to State and local needs, and Federal priorities. Trainees/participants include health professions students and preceptors at community sites, local providers who receive continuing education, and 9-12 grade students interested in health careers.

Keywords: Health personnel, Primary health care, Training

Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)

Annotation: The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) is a nonprofit association founded in 1876 to work for reform in medical education. The association offers advocacy services and educational programs for medical staff, including workshops, seminars, and training sessions. The association's publications provide information about member institutions and their missions. AAMC also offers publications geared to medical school applicants. The website contains a digital collectino of historical AAMC documents containing some of its earliest documentation.

Keywords: Professional societies, Advocacy, Colleges, Databases, Educational change, Health education, Health personnel, History, Medical education, Medical schools, Medical students

Center for Health Workforce Studies (University at Albany, State University of New York, School of Public Health)

Center for School Mental Health (CSMH)

Annotation: The Center for School Mental Health (CSMH) strengthens policies and programs in school mental health to improve learning and promote success for children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clearinghouses, Conferences, Interdisciplinary training, Mental health, National MCH resource center, Publications, Referrals, Resource centers, School counseling, School health, School health programs, School personnel, School psychology, Spanish language materials, Technical assistance, Training

Clinical Scholars

Annotation: Clinical Scholars is a program supported by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and let by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. It is a leadership development program that includes onsite training retreats, distance based learning, executive coaching and mentoring, and networking with other colleagues in the program. Working in teams from diverse disciplines, Fellows receive funding for projects addressing complex health problems, and extend their influence and impact as both professionals and trusted members of communities. Clinical Scholars Fellows include pharmacists, physical therapists, veterinarians, dentists, social workers, nurses, physicians, and many others working in various clinical or academic settings.

Keywords: Health personnel, Leadership training

Collaborative Family Healthcare Association (CFHA)

Annotation: The Collaborative Family Healthcare Association is a membership organization of physical and mental health providers and consumers. It promotes collaborative family healthcare as an optimal way to deliver care. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and reference information. A list serve is also available on the association's Web site. The association also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Health care, Collaboration, Consumers, Family centered care, Health personnel, Information services

Collaborative Family Healthcare Coalition (CFHcC)

Annotation: Founded in 1993, the Collaborative Family Healthcare Coalition (CFHcC) functions as a communication network and information clearinghouse for the healthcare professionals who are its members. Resources include an annual conference, maintenance of Web site databases and listings, and the publishing of a quarterly newsletter, "Working Together."

Keywords: Family centered services, Collaboration, Families, Health personnel, Physician patient relations

College of American Pathologists (CAP)

Annotation: The College of American Pathologists (CAP) is a medical society serving physician members and the laboratory community in the United States as well as abroad. CAP sponsors seminars, CME courses, and a national conference; provides print and electronic resources for members; promotes public health and wellness through media information; and advocates for sound government policy.

Keywords: Professional societies, Advocacy, Health personnel, Medical education, Pathologists, Policy development, Professional training, Resources for professionals

Community-Campus Partnerships for Health (CCPH)

Annotation: The Community-Campus Partnerships for Health (CCPH) is a nonprofit organization founded in 1996 to foster health-promoting partnerships between communities and educational institutions. It identifies students, institutional leaders, and community leaders as equal constituencies and serves as a bridge between government and foundation-sponsored initiatives in community-oriented health professions education. CCPH has an online newsletter, Partnership Matters; a mentor network that provides training and technical assistance; other training opportunities; and awards for exemplary partnerships.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Health occupations, Health personnel, Model programs, Public private partnerships, Training, Universities

Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO)

Annotation: The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonprofit organization of the public officials who head the departments of elementary and secondary education in states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five extra-state jurisdictions including Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. Activities of the Council's School Health Project include providing information about HIV education, school-based pregnancy prevention, successful collaboration, and other coordinated school health programs. Publications include newsletters and reports (many can be downloaded free of charge). The Directory of Coordinated School Health Program Staff (jointly published by CCSSO, the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, and and the Society of State Directors of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation) is a state-by-state listing of staff in state education and health agencies whose responsibilities are related to health education, physical education, counseling and psychological services, parent/community involvement, and other aspects of school health. Copies of the directory may be ordered through the Publications section of tthe CCSSO Web site

Keywords: School health, Adolescents, Children, HIV, Health education, Listservs, Prevention programs, School personnel

International Center for Disability Information (ICDI)

Annotation: The International Center for Disability Information (ICDI) hosts programs for improving employment opportunities for people with disabilities. The ICDI responds to emerging issues and provides ongoing support for long-range efforts through it's network of newly developed and historical activities. Services to consumers include inquiry responses, publications, reference Information, and searchable Databases. ICDI is a department of College of Human Resources and Education under West Virginia University.

Keywords: Health personnel, Medical technology, Rehabilitation

Midwest Center for Health Workforce Studies (IRHWC)

Annotation: The Midwest Center for Health Workforce Studies, formerly the Illinois Regional Health Workforce Center, examines critical issues in the supply, distribution, training, diversity, and competence of health professions on a statewide, regional and national basis. Studies focus on the professions of medicine, nursing, dentistry, public health, pharmacy, occupational therapy, and genetic counseling. The center is a resource for those interested in state and national health workforce policy. Services available to consumer includes inquiry responses and publications.

Keywords: Health personnel, Policy development, Research

National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, Health and Medicine Division (HMD)

Annotation: The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, Health and Medicine Division (HMD) provides evidence for government and the private sector by conducting consensus studies and convening a series of activities to facilitate discussion, discovery, and cross-disciplinary thinking. The website provides information about HMD's study process, leadership and staff, social media, reports, activities, and meetings. Reports can be searched by type, topic, date, series, activity, and board. Topics include population health and public health practice, health sciences policy, health care services, food and nutrition, global health, and more. The HMD was formerly called the Institute of Medicine.

Keywords: Professional personnel, Public health, Data analysis, Medicine, Research, Science

National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP)

Annotation: The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) serves middle level and high school principals, assistant principals, and aspiring school leaders. NASSP provides its members with professional resources and support to effectively lead their schools. The association publishes audiotapes, videotapes, software, and print materials; organizes professional development conventions and conferences; provides a national voice in government; offers legal advice; and conducts research on learning, instruction, and other aspects of education.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Principals, School personnel, Secondary schools

National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education

Annotation: The National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education is a public-private partnership that contributes to the transformation of health care by identifying ways to improve health, enhance patient care and control costs through integrating interprofessional practice and education. By rigorously aligning and integrating the needs and interests of health professions education with practice, the Center aims to create a transformational “nexus” to incubate ideas, define the field, guide program development and research. The work of the Center is focused on five core domains: leadership; collaborative practice and health system transformation; education and training; research, evaluation and scholarship; and innovative and novel models. The center is funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration.

Keywords: Collaboration, Health personnel, Professional education, Public private partnerships

National Interprofessional Initiative on Oral Health (NIIOH)

Annotation: The National Interprofessional Initiative on Oral Health (NIIOH) is a consortium of funders and health professionals whose vision is that dental disease can be eradicated. The NIIOH is a systems change initiative focused on the education and training systems that support primary care clinicians from disciplines including family medicine, pediatrics, nursing, physician assistants, obstetrics and gynecology, and internal medicine.

Keywords: Collaboration, Health personnel, Oral health

Oral Health Workforce Research Center (OHWRC)

Annotation: The Oral Health Workforce Research Center (OHWRC) provides research on the oral health work force to assist in future health work force planning. Projects include professional practice index for dental hygienists, Medicaid dental claims data comparison, dental assistant work force, federally-qualified health center case studies, long-term care health service delivery, and model case studies. Resources include reports and oral health data sources.

Keywords: Allied health personnel, Case studies, Community health centers, Comparative analysis, Data analysis, Dental care, Health care delivery, Model programs, Oral health, Research methodology, Work force

Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce

Annotation: Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries whose mission is to link the public health workforce to information for improved practice. Its objectives are to (1) increase awareness and use of National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM) and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) distributed learning resources among the public health workforce; (2) assist the public health workforce in obtaining the hardware/software, Internet connection and satellite reception needed for effective access to information resources; (3) train the public health workforce to use the technology required for effective access to information resources; (4) train the public health workforce to identify and use pertinent information resources and services; and (5) increase awareness of the public health workforce's needs and resources among NN/LM members. The Web site includes a pilot project that provides preformulated searches on selected Healthy People 2010 focus areas; the searches make information and evidence-based strategies related to Healthy People 2010 objectives easier to find.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Health personnel, Healthy People 2010, Information dissemination, Information systems, Outreach, Public health, Training

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.