Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 2 (2 total).

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (H-CUP)

Annotation: The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) is a family of health care databases and related software tools and products developed through a federal-state-industry partnership and sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUP databases bring together the data collection efforts of state data organizations, hospital associations, private data organizations, and the federal government to create a national information resource of client-level health care data. HCUP includes a collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States, with all-payer, encounter-level information beginning in 1988. The databases enable research on a broad range of health policy issues, including cost and quality of health services, medical practice patterns, access to health care programs, and outcomes of treatments at the national, state, and local market levels. H-CUPnet, a free, online query system based on data from HCUP, provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department use.

Keywords: Databases, Federal initiatives, Health care costs, Health care utilization, Health policy, Hospitals, Public private partnerships, Research

Lawton and Rhea Chiles Center for Healthy Mothers and Babies

Annotation: The Lawton and Rhea Chiles Center for Healthy Mothers and Babies is a non-profit organization working to promote and protect the health of pregnant women, infants and young children up to age five through research, education and service. The center researches maternal and child health issues to determine effective programs and strategies for health promotion and performs data collection and analysis on the status and quality of maternal and child health care services. Services to professionals include consultation and technical assistance in developing, implementing, and evaluating maternal and child health programs, policies, and delivery systems. Leadership development, education, and training are also available. Program and projects (some with public and/or private partners) are aimed at improving health care for mothers and children and support efforts such as home visiting, birthing centers, home birth assistant programs, community medical homes, Head Start and foster care. The National Friendly Access Project, focused on improving the quality of service in delivering perinatal health care to vulnerable populations, specifically addresses the Healthy People 2010 objectives in the areas of access to quality preventive, primary and prenatal care.

Keywords: Access to health care, Access to prenatal care, Child health, Evaluation, Health care utilization, Health education, Infant health, Maternal health, Policy analysis, Pregnant women, Technical assistance, Training, Young children

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.