Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Cyberbullying Research Center provides information about the nature, extent, causes, and consequences of cyberbullying among adolescents. Cyberbullying can be defined as “Willful and repeated harm inflicted through the use of computers, cell phones, and other electronic devices.” It is also known as “cyber bullying,” “electronic bullying,” “e-bullying,” “sms bullying,” “mobile bullying,” “online bullying,” “digital bullying,” or “Internet bullying.” The web site serves as a clearinghouse of information concerning the ways adolescents use and misuse technology. It is intended to be a resource for parents, educators, law enforcement officers, counselors, and others who work with youth. It contains facts, figures, and detailed stories from those who have been directly impacted by online aggression. In addition, the site includes numerous resources to help prevent and respond to cyberbullying incidents.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Adolescents, Aggression, Behavioral problems, Bullying, School violence, Technology, Telecommunications, Violence prevention

Annotation: Advocates for Youth is dedicated to creating programs and advocating for policies that help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health. Advocates provides information, training, and strategic assistance to youth-serving organizations, policy makers, youth activists, and the media in the United States and the developing world. Advocates publishes newsletters, as well as provider- and consumer-oriented publications on adolescent reproductive health. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Decision making skills, Information sources, Life skills, Peer education, Programs, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials, Women

Annotation: The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) represents over 7,500 child and adolescent psychiatrists, physicians with at least five years of additional training beyond medical school in adult, child, and adolescent psychiatry. Academy members actively research, diagnose, and treat emotional, developmental, behavioral, and mental disorders affecting children, adolescents, and their families. The Academy provides public information, including a referral service that works with child advocacy groups, parents, teachers, and other medical and mental health professionals. Some family materials are available in Spanish, Arabic, Hebrew, Icelandic, Malaysian, Polish, Spanish, and Urdu. The academy publishes a catalog, a newsletter and a journal. The academy also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Psychiatry, Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Behavior, Child mental health, Children, Conferences, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health services, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Training

Annotation: The American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional society of psychologists that works to advance psychology as a science, a profession, and a means of promoting health, education and the human welfare. Students may participate as affiliates. Publications include newsletters, catalogs, journals, abstracts, and many other materials. APA also sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Psychology, Advocacy, Behavioral sciences, Conferences, Consumer education, Information sources, Mental health, Mental health services, Professional societies, Psychologists, Publications, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Training

Annotation: The Center for Digital Games Research (CDGR) at the University of California, Santa Barbara, applies a multidisciplinary approach to the study of digital media and games. Faculty affiliates produce a range of projects and research findings on topics such as human-computer interaction, user motivation and engagement, game design, software programming, big data, crowdsourcing, sensors, virtual reality, avatar research, digital art and music, interactive storytelling and narrative, media neuroscience, behavioral health, instructional design, social networks, and more. The center also helps to build the field by providing information about research resources, game databases including the Health Games Database, bibliographies, and research methods and measures.

Keywords: Games, Health attitudes, Health behavior, Health promotion, Research

Annotation: The Center for Human Resource Research maintains searchable databases and produces a newsletter for local, state, regional, and national audiences.

Keywords: Children, Cognitive development, Data collection, Employment, Followup studies, Health services, Human development, Interdisciplinary approach, Interviews, Longitudinal studies, Mothers, Parental education, Poverty, Research design, Socioeconomic factors, Statistics, Substance use behavior, Surveys

Annotation: Choosy Kids offers training and educational materials for health professionals, teachers, and parents to help young children develop healthy behaviors. Topics include obesity, oral health, nutrition, and physical activity. The site also provides news, information about events, links to resources by topic and by audience such as Head Start and WIC programs, and tools for submitting and sharing resources with others.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child health, Consumer education matrerials, DVDs, Head Start, Health behavior, Health promotion, Nutrition, Physical activity, Resources for professionals, WIC Program

Annotation: The Consortium of Social Science Associations (COSSA), an advocacy organization supported by over 100 academic associations and educational institutions, serves as a bridge between researchers and policymakers. The consortium advocates for the inclusion of social and behavioral science perspectives in federally funded research on women's health. It also informs the science community about relevant federal policies, cooperates with other science and education groups to meet common goals, and monitors the status of women in health professions and as researchers. Publications include a newsletter. COSSA also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Advocacy, Behavioral sciences, Research, Social sciences, Women', s health

Annotation: The Family-Run Executive Director Leadership Association provides trainings, publications, and other resources for family-run organizations, including policies, standards, core competencies, for the fields of children's mental health, non-profit leadership, policy, the needs of children, youth, and families, the support of organizations and systems that serve them, and more.

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavioral health, Children, Families, Mental health, Organizations, Youth

Annotation: The Infant-Parent Institute is a private teaching and clinical service institute that specializes in problems of attachment in infants and adults. The institute is independent and receives no public funding. Services to consumers include referrals, clinical assessment, psychotherapy, parent consultation, publications, and reference information. The Institute sponsors some conferences, training seminars, and workshops. Training materials include a newsletter and a library of 14 documentary videotapes.

Keywords: Attachment behavior, Audiovisual materials, Infants, Information services, Mental health, Parent child relations, Training

Annotation: National Alliance of Multi-Ethnic Behavioral Health Associations (NAMBHA) is a non-profit organization representing the following racial or ethnic behavioral health associations: 1) The First Nations Behavioral Health Association; (2) The National Asian American Pacific Islander Mental Health Association; (3) The National Latino Behavioral Health Association; and (4) The National Leadership Council on African American Behavioral Health. Its purpose is to bring organizations representing diverse people of color together as a single voice to increase the effectiveness of advocacy, ensure a positive impact on the use of resources, and to collectively share expertise on behavioral health issues that significantly affect people of color.

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Mental health, Advocacy, Associations, Collaboration, Culturally competent services, Ethnic factors, Ethnic groups, Racial factors

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Division of Adolescent and School Health promotes the health and well-being of children and adolescents to enable them to become healthy and productive adults. The website provides information on coordinated school health, health and academics, and school health surveillance. Publications and information on policy, health topics, data and statistics, program evaluation, training, and funded programs and funding opportunities are also provided. Success stories and resources for parents and teachers are also available.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescents, Federal programs, Financing, Health behavior, Health policy, Health promotion, Population surveillance, Program development, Program evaluation, Risk taking, School age children, School health education, School health programs, Statistical data, Students, Teaching, Training

Annotation: The National Center for Youth Issues aspires to be America’s premier clearinghouse for resource materials, training and support services to advance the psychosocial, emotional, physical, character, and life-skill capacities of today's children and youth. It provides materials for elementary, middle, and high schools in a breadth of topics including counseling, bullying, character education, social and life skills, anger and conflict, substance abuse, learning disabilities, and grief and depression.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Mental health, Social behavior

Annotation: The National Council for Behavioral Health (Naitonal Council) members comprise community organizations working to ensure that all Americans have access to comprehensive, high-quality mental health and addictions care in their communities. The National Council pioneered Mental Health First Aid in the United States, a program that trains individuals to connect children, adolescents, and adults to care. The website contains a policy action center, as well as information on consulting services, best practices, topical resources, and events and training.

Keywords: Community based services, Mental health, Model programs, Substance use behavior, Training

Annotation: The Behavioral and Social Sciences Research Branch (BSSRB) supports basic and applied behavioral and social science research to promote oral health, to prevent oral diseases and related disabilities, and to improve management of craniofacial conditions, disorders and injury. The program encourages both basic and applied research that incorporates other aspects of health and well-being that contribute to oral health.

Keywords: Federal programs, Health behavior, Oral health, Research

Annotation: The National Technical Assistance Center (NTAC) for Children's Mental Health works in partnership with families and leaders across the country to transform systems and services for children, adolescents, and young adults who have, or are at risk for, mental health problems and their families. The center works with states, tribes, territories, and communities to build and sustain comprehensive service delivery systems using a variety of strategies adapted to the unique needs of each audience. The website provides information on the center's activities (technical assistance and training) and resources (webinars, publications and products, and partner organizations).

Keywords: Mental Health, Adolescents, Affective disorders, Behavior problems, Child mental health, High risk Adolescents, Mental disorders, Technical assistance

Annotation: NCAST Programs develops and disseminates research based workshops, assessments, and intervention programs to promote nurturing environments for young children ages 0-3. Target audiences include nurse home visitors, social workers, researchers, and other service providers. Topics include the Parent-Child Interaction (PCI) feeding and teaching scales, promoting first relationships, promoting maternal mental health during pregnancy, caregiving, personal environment assessments, promoting self regulation and attachment in infants and young children. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Developmental screening, Infant behavior, Infant care, Maternal mental health, Nursing, Professional training, Technical assistance

Annotation: The Program Archive on Sexuality, Health, and Adolescence (PASHA), funded by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development and the Office of Adolescent Health in the Department of Health and Human Services, is a collection of effective program replication kits designed to reduce adolescent pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections (including HIV and AIDS) in adolescents. Each kit includes materials needed to implement and evaluate the intervention. PASHA's website includes a search assistant for finding programs, an overview table of replication kits, scientific papers related to the collection, and program selection criteria.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Archives, Diffusion of innovation, Health behavior, Model programs, Program evaluation, Risk taking, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: The SAMHSA-HRSA Center for Integrated Health Solutions promotes the development of integrated primary and behavioral health services to better address the needs of individuals with mental health and substance use conditions, whether seen in specialty behavioral health or primary care provider settings. CIHS is the first national home for information, experts, and other resources dedicated to bidirectional integration of behavioral health and primary care. Jointly funded by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration and the Health Resources and Services Administration, and run by the National Council for Community Behavioral Healthcare, CIHS provides training and technical assistance to 100 community behavioral health organizations that received Primary and Behavioral Health Care Integration grants, as well as to community health centers and other primary care and behavioral health organizations. CIHS’s training and technical assistance seeks to help improve the effectiveness, efficiency, and sustainability of integrated services, which ultimately improves the health and wellness of individuals living with behavioral health disorders.

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Mental disorders, Mental health, Primary care, Resource centers, Service integration, Substance abuse

Annotation: Sociometrics Corporation is a for-profit research and development firm specializing in social science research applications. Sociometrics produces research-based products and services for researchers and practitioners. Products and services fall into five primary product lines: exemplary data, effective programs, health education, evaluation, and online subscriptions. Topics include sexually transmitted infections, adolescent pregnancy, aging, family, child poverty, alternative medicine, contextual, disability, and maternal drug abuse.

Keywords: Data, Evaluation, Health behavior, Health education, Maternal and child health research, Model programs