Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Cyberbullying Research Center provides information about the nature, extent, causes, and consequences of cyberbullying among adolescents. Cyberbullying can be defined as “Willful and repeated harm inflicted through the use of computers, cell phones, and other electronic devices.” It is also known as “cyber bullying,” “electronic bullying,” “e-bullying,” “sms bullying,” “mobile bullying,” “online bullying,” “digital bullying,” or “Internet bullying.” The web site serves as a clearinghouse of information concerning the ways adolescents use and misuse technology. It is intended to be a resource for parents, educators, law enforcement officers, counselors, and others who work with youth. It contains facts, figures, and detailed stories from those who have been directly impacted by online aggression. In addition, the site includes numerous resources to help prevent and respond to cyberbullying incidents.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Adolescents, Aggression, Behavioral problems, Bullying, School violence, Technology, Telecommunications, Violence prevention

Annotation: The 100% Campaign, a collaborative effort of Children Now, Children's Defense Fund, and The Children's Partnership, with primary funding from The California Endowment, was created to ensure that all of California's children obtain the health coverage they need to grow up strong and healthy.

Keywords: Health insurance, Access to health care, Child health

Keywords: Arizona, Dental education, Dental schools, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: The American Association of School Administrators (AASA), founded in 1865, is a professional organization for educational leaders inAmerica and many other countries. AASA's mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to quality public education for all children. AASA brings together administrators of school systems and educational service agencies, school district superintendents, placement officers, directors and administrators of education associations, heads of private schools, college deans and educational administration professors, and central, building, and service unit administrators. The association sponsors annual professional development through conferences. Publications include The Leader's Edge (delivered electronically) and The School Administrator, a monthly magazine

Keywords: School health, Adolescents, Children, Education

Annotation: ABC for Health (Advocacy and Benefits Counseling for Health) is a Wisconsin-based nonprofit public interest law firm dedicated to ensuring health care access for children and families, particularly those with special needs or who are at risk. ABC for Health's mission is to provide health care consumers with the information, advocacy tools, legal services, and expert support they need to navigate through America's health care financing system.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Health care financing, Legal issues, State organizations, Wisconsin

Annotation: The Ability Society of Alberta is committed to enhancing the lives of persons with any type of disability by providing information, education, and access to advance technology. The Society provides innovative, appropriate, and needed technical aids to individuals with any type of disability, seniors, their families, and support systems. All equipment and resources at the Ability Society are available to test in house or borrow on a short-term basis. Services to consumers include reference information and referrals. The Society also sponsors training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Special health care needs

Annotation: The Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is an organization of health care professionals that works to improve health care for children by conducting research, teaching, and formulating public policy. Publications include a newsletter, a series of guidelines for general pediatrics education of medical students and pediatric residents and a journal.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Consumer education, Guidelines, Health education, Health services, Information sources, Professional societies, Professional training, Public policy, Research, Teaching

Annotation: The Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is dedicated to improving the health of all children and adolescents by providing leadership in the education of child health professionals, research and the dissemination of new knowledge, patient care with measurable improvements in health outcomes, and advocacy for an equitable children's health agenda. APA provides online educational resources and research networks, legislative updates, and publications including special reports, a newsletter, and the journal, Academic Pediatrics.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent health, Child advocacy, Pediatrics, Professional education, Professional organizations, Professional training, Research , Resources for professionals

Annotation: The Academy for Eating Disorders (AED) is a multidisciplinary professional organization that promotes excellence in research, treatment, and prevention of eating disorders, including anorexa nervosa, bulimia nervosa, and binge eating disorder. Founded in 1993, AED provides education, training, and a forum for collaboration and dialogue. The academy sponsors conferences, produces a quarterly newsletter, assists in the development of professional guidelines, and identifies and rewards outstanding achievement in the field.

Keywords: Anorexia nervosa, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Health promotion, Preventive health services, Professional societies

Annotation: The Academy of General Dentistry (AGD) serves the needs of general dentists, represents their interests, and fosters their continued proficiency through high-quality continuing dental education. The website features information about AGD's annual meeting and periodicals, AGD Impact and General Dentistry. Additional resources include (1) the SmileLine Online (Ask a Dentist) message board where consumers can post questions answered by a dentist within 24 hours; (2) the 1-877 2X-A-YEAR referral service and online directory of 35,000 member-dentists where consumers can find a dentist by city, state, or zip code, and (3) the SmileLine monthly electronic newsletter. Information on selected oral health topics (for example, children's nutrition, dental sealants, choosing a dentist, and frequently asked questions about pediatric dentistry) is also provided.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental societies, Dentistry, Oral health

Annotation: The Academy of General Dentistry Foundation (AGDF) is dedicated to improving the oral health of the public and supporting the efforts of the general dentist through financial support of scientific, educational, and charitable initiatives determined by the academy. The foundation funds programs such as public oral health education and continuing education for member dentists.

Keywords: Oral health

Annotation: The Academy of Nutrition of Dietetics (AND) is the advocate of the dietetics profession serving the public through the promotion of optimal nutrition, health, and well being. The association is involved in the credentialing of competent nutrition and dietetic professionals and provides continuing education for nearly 70,000 members. Key areas of interest include obesity and overweight (with a focus on children); healthy aging; nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics; Integrative medicine (including supplements and alternative medicine; and safe, sustainable, and nutritious food supply. Through its Knowledge Center, ADA provides current food and nutrition information for consumers, health professionals, and ADA members. Until 2012 it was known as the American Dietetic Association (ADA)

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Consumer education, Dietetic technicians, Health promotion, Hotlines, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Professional societies, Public health nutrition, Publications, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Academy of Women’s Health is an interdisciplinary, international association of physicians, nurses, and other health professionals who work across the broad field of women’s health, providing up-to-date advances and options in clinical care that will enable the best outcomes for women patients. The academy’s focus includes the dissemination of translational research and evidence-based practices for disease prevention, diagnosis, and treatment for women across the lifespan. Resources include an annual conference, the Journal of Women's Health, a blog, and discussion groups on social media.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Information dissemination, Interdisciplinary approach, Professional associations, Women', s health

Annotation: AcademyHealth, formerly the Academy for Health Services Research and Health Policy (AHSRHP), is the professional home for health services researchers, policy analysts, and practitioners, and a leading, non-partisan resource for the best in health research and policy. Drawing from the strengths of more than 3,600 individuals and 120 organizations, AcademyHealth provides a forum for its members to share the latest research, review and analyze health policy, and network with their peers. Services to consumers include publications and searchable databases. The organization publishes a journal and a newsletter, and sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Health policy, Health services, Policy development, Research, Training

Annotation: ACT (Assets Coming Together) for Youth connects positive youth development resources and research to practice in New York State and beyond. The ACT for Youth Center of Excellence provides technical support, training, and evaluation for youth-serving programs funded by the NYS Department of Health, youth development and adolescent sexual health resources housed on the ACT for Youth Web site, a home base for the ACT Youth Network, which connects young community activists across New York State.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Advocacy, New York, Sexual health, State initiatives, Youth development, Youth services

Annotation: Action for Healthy Kids (AFHK) is a nonprofit organization formed to address the epidemic of overweight, undernourished, and sedentary youth by focusing on changes at school, to improve children's nutrition and increase physical activity, which will in turn improve their readiness to learn. An outgrowth of the 2002 Healthy Schools Summit, AFHK is a public-private partnership of more than 50 national organizations and government agencies representing education, health, fitness, and nutrition. AFHK's Web site provides information on current activities in the 50 states plus the District of Columbia, and a searchable database that lists resources to improve schools, including materials and profiles of successful school practices.

Keywords: Databases, Child nutrition, Health promotion, Model programs, Physical activity, Schools

Annotation: The ADA National Network (formerly the Americans with Disabilities Act Regional Disability and Business Technical Assistance Centers) consists of 10 regional centers that provide local assistance and foster implementation of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) throughout the United States. The regional centers focus on the specific needs of the residents who reside in their service area. The Network develops projects and events of national significance and works closely with national partners. It conducts research, provides training, and produces a variety of publications. The ADA Knowledge Translation Center, which is also part of the Network, conducts systematic reviews of the current state of ADA related research and translating findings into plain language summaries for policymakers, technical reports, publications in peer-review journals, and presentations at national conferences.

Keywords: Federal legislation, Accessible facilities, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Technical assistance

Annotation: The ADEAGies Foundation is the philanthropic arm of the American Dental Education Association. The foundation enhances the oral health of the public through programs that support dental education, research, leadership, and recognition.

Keywords: Dental education, Foundations, Oral health

Annotation: The ADHA Institute for Oral Health (IOH) advances the profession of dental hygiene in collaboration with the American Dental Hygienists' Association through scholarships, research grants, community service grants, and fellowships. The website provides information on fundraising tools and resources, the IOH benefit reception and auction, and volunteer opportunities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Fundraising, Grants, Oral health, Professional education, Research

Annotation: Adopt A Special Kid (AASK) provides complete, no-fee foster and adoption services to families interested in helping children in the child welfare system. The organization was formed in 1973 on the principle that it is every child's right to be a permanent member of a supportive family. AASK's pioneering success in placing children in California lead to requests to replicate its program model, and, today, adoption programs and services developed by AASK operate in California, Arizona, Ohio and New Mexico. In addition to its programs to find families for waiting children, AASK also advocates systemic changes that will improve life opportunities for these children.

Keywords: Adoption, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Foster care, Model programs, Services