Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (22 total).

A Heartbreaking Choice

Annotation: A Heartbreaking Choice provides resources and support for expectant parents who have received a diagnosis that their unborn child has a serious fetal anomaly or other live-threatening health problem that makes it unlikely that the baby will survive and thrive. For those who have made the decision to end their pregnancy when faced with such a grim diagnosis, this organization provides support groups, an online discussion forum, a confidential list service, an online memorial for grieving parents, personal stories, and feature articles to help these parents cope with their loss.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Support groups

Aiding Mothers and Fathers Experiencing Neonatal Death (AMEND)

Annotation: Aiding Mothers and Fathers Experiencing Neonatal Death (AMEND) offers support and encouragement to parents who have lost an infant. Bereaved parents have one-to-one contact with a trained counselor who has also experienced a loss due to miscarriage, stillbirth, or neonatal death. Several local chapters exist without formal national affiliation. St. Louis AMEND was established in 1974. Los Angeles AMEND was established in 1977 and can be reached at P.O. Box 30, Harbor City, CA 90710-0030; (818) 887-7999. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Grief, Neonatal death, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion, Support groups, Parent support services

Association for Death Education and Counseling (ADEC)

Annotation: The Association for Death Education and Counseling (ADEC), also known as The Thanatology Association, is an interdisciplinary organization whose members work in the field of dying, death, and bereavement. ADEC offers educational opportunities through its annual conference, courses, workshops, certification program, and publications. The website provides information and resources for members, the public, and the press. Resources include links to organizational websites offering assistance and information on a topics related to grief, trauma, dying, and death, as well as continuing education (including distance education) for professionals.

Keywords: Bereavement counselors, Death, Grief, Professional education, Professional societies

Association for Recognizing the Life of Stillborns (ARLS)

Center for Loss in Multiple Birth (CLIMB, Inc.)

Annotation: The Center for Loss in Multiple Birth (CLIMB, Inc.) is an organization of parents who have experienced the death of one or both twins (or higher multiple births) during pregnancy, birth, infancy, or childhood. The Center provides services to individuals in the U.S., Canada, and abroad which include referrals; a quarterly newsletter; an online discussion forum; a parent contact list; samples of birth/memorial announcements; a library; publications; and assistance to twins clubs, loss groups, authors, and researchers. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, Chinese, and Russian. Training seminars are sponsored upon request.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Multiple births, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Centering Corporation

Annotation: The Centering Corporation provides grief literature, videotapes, workshops and referrals. The Centering Corporation offers literature through their publications catalog on a number of topics including premature infants, adoption, miscarriage, newborn and child death, and death of a parent. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also sponsors workshops and conferences, publishes a magazine, Grief Digest, and provides materials for children.

Keywords: Bereavement, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Pregnancy loss, Premature infants, Spontaneous abortion

Children's Hospice International (CHI)

Annotation: Children's Hospice International (CHI) is a non-profit organization foundered in 1983 to promote hospice support through pediatric care facilities, to encourage the inclusion of children in existing and developing hospice and home care programs, and to include the hospice perspectives in all areas of pediatric care, education and the public arena. CHI provides referrals, inquiry responses and publications for consumers. The organizations produces and newsletter and also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Bereavement, Grief, Hospice services, Terminally ill children

Compassionate Friends (TCF)

Annotation: Compassionate Friends is a non-profit self-help organization that offers friendship and understanding to families who have experienced the death of a child of any age, from any cause. The group provides support to bereaved parents, grandparents, and siblings. Compassionate friends was founded in 1969; the first of 600 U.S. chapters were organized in 1972. The organization offers brochures & videos. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also publishes a catalog and a national magazine, and sponsors several regional meetings and a conference each year. Contact the national office for chapter information in your area.

Keywords: Child death, Support groups, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Connor Kirby Infant Memorial Foundation

Dougy Center - National Center for Grieving Children and Families

Annotation: The Dougy Center provides support in a safe place where children, teens, young adults, and their families grieving a death can share their experiences. It provide support and training locally, nationally and internationally to individuals and organizations seeking to assist children in grief. It is supported solely through private support from individuals, foundations and companies.

Keywords: Adolescents, Bereavement, Children, Families, Grief

Grief Recovery Institute Educational Foundation (GRIEF)

Annotation: The Grief Recovery Institute provides services to consumers that include referrals and publications. GRIEF publishes a catalog, sponsors training seminars and workshops, and provides a list service which is available to both professionals and consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Perinatal bereavement, Grief, Listservs, Pregnancy loss

Grief Watch

Annotation: Grief Watch is a nonprofit organization that provides publications, ceramics, media, t-shirts, infant urns, and other materials to help those coping with loss. Online fact sheets, articles, support groups, and other resources are also provided.

Keywords: Bereavement, Grief

Honored Babies

Annotation: Honored Babies is a support and resource organization for women whose babies have died, whether from miscarriage, ectopic pregnancy, pregnancy termination, stillbirth, neonatal death, or infant death. The Web site includes articles, poetry, and reflects from parents who have lost a child; a memorial page; links to online support groups and recommended reading; and a free downloadable brochure for support staff to provide to parents.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Infant mortality, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion, Support groups

Inland Northwest SIDS Foundation

Annotation: The Inland Northwest SIDS Foundation offers public education on safe sleep practices for infants, bringing awareness to SIDS and other Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID) and providing grief support to those who have experienced the loss of an infant. The Foundation provides educational materials on SIDS, safe sleep, and grief support; professional training for child care centers, classrooms; and hospitals; monthly safe sleep classes for parents, caregivers, and medical providers; and grief support meetings for those who have experienced a loss.

Keywords: Bereavement, Grief, Idaho, Prevention, Regional programs, SIDS

M.I.S.S. Foundation

Annotation: The MISS Foundation is a volunteer based organization committed to providing crisis support and long term aid to families after the death of a child from any cause. MISS also participates in legislative and advocacy issues, community engagement and volunteerism, and culturally competent, multidisciplinary, education opportunities. The Web site provides discussion forums, resources for families, professionals, caregivers, and bereaved children; downloadable publications concerning infant safety and survival; support-group location services; links to research projects; a bimonthly newsletter; and an online store. Spanish-language materials are available.

Keywords: Infant health, Bereavement, Emotional adjustment, Family support, Grief, Infant mortality, SIDS, Support groups

Missing GRACE Foundation

Annotation: The Missing GRACE Foundation provides resources and support for families that have experienced a pregnancy loss, infant loss, infertility, or challenging adoption. The foundation provides links to support groups, electronic publications, and organizations, as well as an online store offering memorial and educational products. Missing GRACE also advocates for comprehensive, patient-focused prenatal care for all women. Five core areas encompass the heart of the organization's mission: Grieve, Restore, Arise, Commemorate and Educate (GRACE).

Keywords: Parent support services, Grief, Infant death , Infertility, Perinatal bereavement, Pregnancy loss, Support groups

National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement

Annotation: The National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement was created to promote an appreciation of the role schools can serve to support students, staff ,and families at times of crisis and loss; enhance the training of individuals in school-related professional education programs in the areas of crisis and loss; link efforts to provide trauma-related and bereavement support services within school settings; and collaborate with professional organizations, governmental and non-governmental agencies and community groups to further help students, staff and families at times of crisis and loss. The center provides information, training materials, consultation and technical assistance for school systems, professional training programs, professional organizations, governmental and non-governmental agencies, communities, children's groups and projects in the areas of crisis and loss. Web content can be viewed in both English and Spanish. The center was established in December 2005 with funding from the September 11th Children's Fund and the National Philanthropic Trust. 

Keywords: School health, Bereavement, Communication, Coping, Disasters, Emotional adjustment, Grief, Posttraumatic stress disorder, Professional education, Professional training Spanish language materials, School age children, Support groups, Trauma, Violence

Northwest Infant Survival and SIDS Alliance (NISSA)

Annotation: The Northwest Infant Survival and SIDS Alliance (NISSA) is dedicated to the informational and emotional support of bereaved families, to the education of the general public and health professionals, and to the ultimate elimination of this tragic medical phenomenon through research. NISSA is a 501(c)(3) non-profit health organization. It was formerly called SIDS Foundation of Washington.

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death, Grief, Infant mortality, Prevention, SIDS, State organizations

Resolve Through Sharing Bereavement Services (RTS)

Annotation: Resolve Through Sharing (RTS), also operated with the name Bereavement Services, is a comprehensive approach to caring for families whose babies have died during pregnancy or shortly after birth. RTS provides workshops and training, videos, and other educational materials. A free catalog is available that explains the program's history, support materials, and bereavement education programs. Some materials are available in French and Spanish.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

SANDS

Annotation: SANDS, a national charity established by bereaved parents in 1981, provides support to those who have lost a baby during pregnancy or after a birth, works in partnership with health professionals to improve the quality of care and services offered to bereavedfamilies, and promotes research and changes in practice that could help to reduce the loss of babies' lives. It offers brochures and books for bereaved families, for children, and for professionals.

Keywords: Bereavement, Family support, Grief, Peer support programs, SIDS, United Kingdom.

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.