Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Baltimore City Health Department advocates, leads, and provides services of the highest quality in order to promote and protect the health of the residents of all ages of Baltimore. Services areas include sexually transmitted infections, HIV/AIDS, Substance abuse, mental health and violence, acute and communicable diseases, chronic diseases as well as animals, bio-terrorism and natural disasters in businesses, homes, and neighborhoods.

Keywords: Health agencies, Local MCH programs, Local government, Maryland

Annotation: CYFERnet is a national network of land grant university faculty and county extension educators working to support community-based educational programs for children, youth, parents and families. CYFERnet is funded as a joint project of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Institute for Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and the Cooperative Extension System. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Community based services, Child development, Educational programs, Family relations, Government programs, MCH programs, Parenting skills, Youth development

Annotation: The DC Health Resources Partnership (DCHRP) seeks to expand the community health care capacity for individuals with intellectual and other developmental disabilities in Washington, DC. Funded by the D.C. Mental Retardatrion and Developmental Disabilities Administration, the partnership is a collaboration between a number of community partners, including Georgetown University's Department of Family Medicine, DC Area Health Education Center, Inc., George Washington University Medical Center, D.C. Primary Care Association, Project Action, DC State Policy Council on Family Supports, the Arc of DC, the Quality Trust for Individuals with Disabilities, and the DC Coalition of Service Providers. The partnership, which is administered through GU's Center for Child and Human Development, convenes expert panels (these groups meet four times annually), provides an online database of Washington-area providers, and posts information and publications for consumers and professionals on its Web site.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Regional programs, Collaboration, Community programs, Health care systems, Local government, Online databases, Special health care services

Annotation: The Healthy Child Care America (HCCA) campaign is a nationally focused initiative jointly sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Child Care Bureau (CCB) and Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) and was originally implemented from 1995 through 2005. The campaign focused on linking together pediatricians, other health professionals, child care providers, and parents to ensure that all children have access to quality, nurturing child care environments and a medical home. The campaign continues to be funded though the Child Care and Health Partnership grant from the CCB and MCHB. The website contains health and safety fact sheets, a list of child care contacts for the American Academy of Pediatrics, policy materials, and other resources.

Keywords: Government programs, Child health, Access to health care, Campaigns, Child care, Child safety, Information dissemination, Provider networks

Keywords: Federal agencies, Federal programs, Government financing, Health Resources and Services Administration

Annotation: The Institute for Youth, Education and Families, launched by the National League of Cities (NLC), is a national resource and advocacy center formed to strengthen the capacity of municipal leaders to enhance the lives of youth and families using partnerships and collaboration to promote measurable improvements in youth, education, and family outcomes. The institute provides information and technical assistance to municipal leaders; collects and synthesizes information on youth, education, and families across the country; and advocates the importance of youth, education, and family issues in municipal life and the involvement of youth in addressing those issues effectively. Action kits, toolkits, strategy guides, case studies, and research reports are available on the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, City government, Collaboration, Community programs, Education, Electronic publications, Families, Youth

Annotation: The National Association of Local Boards of Health (NALBOH) informs, guides, and serves as the national voice for boards of health. NALBOH delivers technical expertise in governance and leadership, board development, health priorities, and public health policy. The website contains governance, accreditation, and partner resources; news; information about NALBOH membership and NALBOH's annual conference; and webinar recordings.

Keywords: Accreditation, Governing boards, Government programs, Government role, Health policy, Local government, Policy development

Annotation: The NGA Center for Best Practices helps governors and their key policy staff develop and implement innovative solutions to challenges facing their states. Through the staff of the NGA Center, governors and their policy advisors can (1) quickly learn about what works, what doesn't, and what lessons can be learned from other governors grappling with the same problem; (2) obtain assistance in designing and implementing new programs or in making current programs more effective; and (3) receive up-to-date, comprehensive information about what is happening in other state capitals and in Washington, D.C., so governors are better prepared to react to emerging issues.

Keywords: Model programs, Program development, State government, State initiatives

Annotation: The National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD), a part of the National Institutes of Health, promotes minority health; conducts and supports research, training, and research infrastructure; fosters emerging programs; disseminates information; and reaches out to minority and other health disparity communities. Priorities for the institute are the social determinants of health, patient-centered outcomes research; faith-based approaches to health disparities; and improving the participation of health disparity populations in clinical trials.

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic factors, Federal grants, Government programs, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Minority health, Model programs, Racial discrimination, Racial factors, Research, Sociocultural factors

Annotation: The National Network of Libraries of Medicine - Midcontinental Region (NN/LM-MR) serves Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Utah, and Wyoming. NN/LM-MR strives to promote health information services and access to all health care providers and consumers. The organization offers referrals, publishes a newsletter, and sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Keywords: Libraries, Government programs, Midcontential region, Region IV, Regional programs

Annotation: The National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Middle Atlantic Region, is the Regional Medical Library for Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The NN/LM MAR provides training classes and demonstrations on information technology, health information on the world wide web, and the National Library of Medicine's databases. The staff exhibits at a number of state and national meetings and holds training sessions at professional meetings.

Keywords: Libraries, Government programs, Middle Atlantic region, Region I, Regional programs

Annotation: The National Network of Libraries of Medicine, New England Region, is the Regional Medical Library for Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. It sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a newsletter.

Keywords: Libraries, Government programs, New England, Region VIII, Regional programs

Annotation: The National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Pacific Northwest Region (NNLM PNR), is the Regional Medical Library for Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington. NNLM PNR provides referrals, sponsors workshops, and publishes a newsletter. The University of Washington also serves as the Outreach Evaluation Resource Center (OERC) and as the Web Services Technology Operations Center (Web-STOC).

Keywords: Libraries, Government programs, Northwestern United States, Pacific Northwest region, Region VI, Regional programs

Annotation: The library serves as the headquarters for the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Pacific Southwest Region and is the Regional Medical Library for Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, and the U.S. Territories in the Pacific Basin. The library provides referrals, for health professionals and consumers, to libraries in the region that provide access to the biomedical literature. The librarypublishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars for health professionals, health sciences librarians, and consumer health information service providers. Subscription to a professional list service is also available.

Keywords: Libraries, Government programs, Listservs, Pacific Southwest region, Region VII, Regional programs

Annotation: The National Network of Libraries of Medicine, South Central Region (NN/LM SCR) encompasses Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas. The regional medical library serving the region is the Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library. NN/LM SCR provides reference information and sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars. Publications include "Network News", an electronic newsletter. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Libraries, Government programs, Region V, Regional programs, South central region

Annotation: The National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Southeastern/Atlantic Region at the Health Sciences and Human Services Library, University of Maryland, Baltimore is the Regional Medical Library for Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The NN/LM SE/A provides training classes and demonstrations on information technology, health information on the world wide web, and the National Library of Medicine's databases. The staff exhibits at a number of state and national meetings and holds training sessions at professional meetings. Consumers may call the office for information referrals. SEA Currents is the SE/A newsletter.

Keywords: Libraries, Government programs, Region II, Regional programs, Southeastern region, Atlantic region, Southern United States

Annotation: The Resource Center for Evidence-Based Prevention and Cross-Sector Approaches offers local health departments guidance for integrating the National Prevention Strategy, Healthy People 2020, The Community Guide, the National Association of County and City Health Officials' Health in All Policies Toolbox, and Community Health Improvement Planning into a uniform approach for achieving health and wellness in the jurisdictions they serve. Topics include evidence-based strategies; cross-sector collaboration; and planning, assessment, and evaluation. The site links to NACCHO's technical assistance site for each program.

Keywords: Resource centers, Collaboration, Community based programs, Healthy People 2020, Local government, Needs assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning

Annotation: The Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs initiative uses a consortium-based approach to provide technical assistance, expert consultation, training, and resources to assist state and jurisdictions develop evidence based-/informed programs to support women, children, families, and communities. Evidence topics include (1) well-woman visit; (2) low-risk cesarean; (3) perinatal regionalization; (4) breastfeeding; (5) safe sleep; (6) developmental screening; (7) child safety/injury; (8) physical activity; (9) bullying; (10) adolescent well-visit; (11) medical home; (12) transition; (13) oral health; (14) smoking; (15) insurance coverage.

Keywords: Resource centers, Collaboration, Community based programs, Evidence based health care, Healthy People 2020, Local government, Model programs, Needs assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, State government

Annotation: The United States Conference of Mayors (USCM) is the official nonpartisan organization of cities with populations of 30,000 or more. The primary roles of The U.S. Conference of Mayors are to: promote the development of effective national urban/suburban policy; strengthen federal-city relationships; ensure that federal policy meets urban needs; provide mayors with leadership and management tools; and create a forum in which mayors can share ideas and information. It has programs on numerous health, environment, and other topics focused on the well-being of city residents. It provides publications, videos, a best practices database, and other resources.

Keywords: Community programs, I Model programs, Local government, Policies, Urban population

Keywords: Budgets, Costs, Data sources, Federal agencies, Government financing, Government programs, Statistics