Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Baltimore City Health Department advocates, leads, and provides services of the highest quality in order to promote and protect the health of the residents of all ages of Baltimore. Services areas include sexually transmitted infections, HIV/AIDS, Substance abuse, mental health and violence, acute and communicable diseases, chronic diseases as well as animals, bio-terrorism and natural disasters in businesses, homes, and neighborhoods.

Keywords: Health agencies, Local MCH programs, Local government, Maryland

Annotation: The Bipartisan Policy Center (BPC), founded in 2007, is a non-profit organization that works to promote health, security, and opportunity for all Americans. The center's policy solutions are the product of informed deliberations by former elected and appointed officials, business and labor leaders, and academics and advocates representing the political spectrum. Topics include health, energy, national and homeland security, the economy, housing, immigration, infrastructure, and governance.

Keywords: Economics, Government, Health, Policy analysis, Policy development

Annotation: The Cascade Policy Institute is a free-market think-tank located in Oregon, focused on issues of individual liberty, educational choice, and limited government. It is a non-profit organization. In addition to the publication of papers, a newsletter, and research, the institute hosts speakers on public policy issues and facilitates Children's Scholarship Fund -- Portland, which provides private scholarships for several hundred low income K-12 students to attend the private schools of their choice.

Keywords: Economics, Government, Oregon

Annotation: The Cato Institute (named after the Cato's Letters, libertarian pamphlets circulated during the American Revolution) is a nonpartisan think-tank focused on issues of individual freedom, limited government, free markets and international affairs. The Institute, a nonprofit organization, publishes books, reports, a catalog, the Cato Journal and Regulation magazine. It also sponsors conferences and provides some resources in Spanish.

Keywords: Civil rights, Government role, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Council of State Governments (CSG) is a nonpartisan, multibranch organization of the states and U.S. territories that champions excellence in state government. The Council works with state leaders across the nation and through its regions to put the best ideas and solutions into practice. CSG conducts research, maintains a national information data base, produces numerous leading publications, showcases innovative state programs, promotes federal-state partnerships and conducts leadership development programs.

Keywords: Housing, Human services, Legislation, State government

Annotation: CYFERnet is a national network of land grant university faculty and county extension educators working to support community-based educational programs for children, youth, parents and families. CYFERnet is funded as a joint project of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Institute for Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and the Cooperative Extension System. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Community based services, Child development, Educational programs, Family relations, Government programs, MCH programs, Parenting skills, Youth development

Annotation: The DC Health Resources Partnership (DCHRP) seeks to expand the community health care capacity for individuals with intellectual and other developmental disabilities in Washington, DC. Funded by the D.C. Mental Retardatrion and Developmental Disabilities Administration, the partnership is a collaboration between a number of community partners, including Georgetown University's Department of Family Medicine, DC Area Health Education Center, Inc., George Washington University Medical Center, D.C. Primary Care Association, Project Action, DC State Policy Council on Family Supports, the Arc of DC, the Quality Trust for Individuals with Disabilities, and the DC Coalition of Service Providers. The partnership, which is administered through GU's Center for Child and Human Development, convenes expert panels (these groups meet four times annually), provides an online database of Washington-area providers, and posts information and publications for consumers and professionals on its Web site.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Regional programs, Collaboration, Community programs, Health care systems, Local government, Online databases, Special health care services

Annotation: The Healthy Child Care America (HCCA) campaign is a nationally focused initiative jointly sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Child Care Bureau (CCB) and Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) and was originally implemented from 1995 through 2005. The campaign focused on linking together pediatricians, other health professionals, child care providers, and parents to ensure that all children have access to quality, nurturing child care environments and a medical home. The campaign continues to be funded though the Child Care and Health Partnership grant from the CCB and MCHB. The website contains health and safety fact sheets, a list of child care contacts for the American Academy of Pediatrics, policy materials, and other resources.

Keywords: Government programs, Child health, Access to health care, Campaigns, Child care, Child safety, Information dissemination, Provider networks

Keywords: Federal agencies, Federal programs, Government financing, Health Resources and Services Administration

Annotation: The Institute for Youth, Education and Families, launched by the National League of Cities (NLC), is a national resource and advocacy center formed to strengthen the capacity of municipal leaders to enhance the lives of youth and families using partnerships and collaboration to promote measurable improvements in youth, education, and family outcomes. The institute provides information and technical assistance to municipal leaders; collects and synthesizes information on youth, education, and families across the country; and advocates the importance of youth, education, and family issues in municipal life and the involvement of youth in addressing those issues effectively. Action kits, toolkits, strategy guides, case studies, and research reports are available on the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, City government, Collaboration, Community programs, Education, Electronic publications, Families, Youth

Annotation: The League of Women Voters (LWV), a nonpartisan political organization, encourages the informed and active participation of citizens in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy. The Barbara Stahler E-Library provides users with access to LWV's publications (including public policy statements), historical documents, and video archives. Full-text documents exploring current health issues can be downloaded from the Web site.

Keywords: Women, Advocacy, Government, Health policy, Political processes, Public policies

Annotation: NACW is a non-partisan membership organization composed of regional, state, county and local commissions created to improve the status of women. NACW serves as a national voice for commissions for women in the United States, its territories, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NACW advocates on myriad public issues in efforts to attain equity and justice for women and their families in the home and in the workplace. NACW helps low income women become self-sufficient, encourages job development, and supports women's health initatives, research, and other action agendas.

Keywords: Low income groups, Women, Advocacy, Employment, Gender discrimination, Government, Public policies, Research, Women', Work family issues, s health

Annotation: The National Association of Local Boards of Health (NALBOH) informs, guides, and serves as the national voice for boards of health. NALBOH delivers technical expertise in governance and leadership, board development, health priorities, and public health policy. The website contains governance, accreditation, and partner resources; news; information about NALBOH membership and NALBOH's annual conference; and webinar recordings.

Keywords: Accreditation, Governing boards, Government programs, Government role, Health policy, Local government, Policy development

Annotation: The National Cancer Institute's (NCI's) Web site Cancer.gov provides accurate, up-to-date information on many types of cancer, information on clinical trials, resources for people dealing with cancer, and information for researchers and health professionals. NCI offers referrals, inquiry responses, publications (including fact sheets, news updates, a journal, and an online catalog), reference information, searchable databases, and training seminars. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages.

Keywords: Cancer, Government financing, Medical research, Online databases

Annotation: The National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH), a component of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), strives to promote health and quality of life by preventing or controlling those diseases or deaths that result from interactions between people and their environment. Programs and campaigns include vessel sanitation, healthy places, poisoning prevention, and air pollution and resipratory health. Information is also provided on asthma and emergency response. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information and publications, including a newsletter. The center also sponsor conferences and training seminars and workshops. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Congenital abnormalities, Data, Developmental disabilities, Environmental health, Environmental influences, Government financing, Hazardous materials, Lead poisoning, Medical research, Reproductive hazards, Teratology

Annotation: The National Contact Center (NCC), formerly known as the Federal Information Center, responds to inquiries about federal programs, benefits, and services, and processes requests for consumer publications. NCC maintains a toll-free information line and provides access to information and publications through USA.gov

Keywords: Federal government, Information services

Annotation: The National Governors Association (NGA) was founded in 1908 as the National Governors' Conference. NGA, an organization of the governors of the 50 states and the American commonwealths and territories, is concerned with shaping policies both at the state and national level. The NGA's standing committees are Economic Development and Commerce, Human Resources, and Natural Resources. The association informs governors about maternal and child health issues through a cooperative agreement with the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, and its nonprofit Center for Best Practices manages a variety of federal grants, foundation activities, and state demonstration programs. The organization provides referrals, responses, to inquiries, and a variety of publications (a catalog is available). NGA also sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Keywords: Public policies, Child health, Federal grants, Health care financing, Maternal health, Professional societies, State government

Annotation: The NGA Center for Best Practices helps governors and their key policy staff develop and implement innovative solutions to challenges facing their states. Through the staff of the NGA Center, governors and their policy advisors can (1) quickly learn about what works, what doesn't, and what lessons can be learned from other governors grappling with the same problem; (2) obtain assistance in designing and implementing new programs or in making current programs more effective; and (3) receive up-to-date, comprehensive information about what is happening in other state capitals and in Washington, D.C., so governors are better prepared to react to emerging issues.

Keywords: Model programs, Program development, State government, State initiatives

Annotation: The National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR) seeks to improve oral, dental, and craniofacial health through research, research training, and the dissemination of health information. The oral health section of NIDCR’s website provides information sorted by diseases and conditions, prevention, children’s oral health, oral complications of systemic diseases, and special health care needs. NIDCR’s National Oral Health Information Clearinghouse (NOHIC) also provides information and materials on topics relating to special care in oral health. NOHIC produces and distributes consumer- and professional-education materials and maintains information on organizations involved with special care.

Keywords: Craniofacial abnormalities, Federal government, Oral health, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The National Oral Health Information Clearinghouse (NOHIC), a service of the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, responds to inquiries from health professionals and the public, produces and distributes education materials, and provides information on oral health topics. Publications, some in Spanish, can be viewed and ordered online.

Keywords: Craniofacial abnormalities, Federal government, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs