Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University is an interdisciplinary and multi-format collection on ethical issues related to health care, biomedical research, biotechnology, and the environment. It includes special collections on genetics and ethics, Islamic and Jewish ethics, and a variety of digital archives. It provides reference services and database instruction at no charge to health care professionals, educators, students, and the general public.

Keywords: Bioethics, Genetic engineering, Libraries

Annotation: The Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO) represents nearly 700 biotechnology companies, academic institutions, and state biotechnology centers in 47 states and more than 20 nations. BIO members are involved in the research and development of health care, agricultural and environmental biotechnology products. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. BIO publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Biotechnology, Genetic engineering

Annotation: The Council for Biotechnology Information is a coalition of biotechnology companies that aims to create a public dialogue and share information about biotechnology that is based on scientific research, expert opinion, and published reports. The council provides public information through its Web site, consumer-oriented brochures and printed materials, advertising, and a toll-free number. Topics addressed include environmental protection, better nutrition, feeding the world's population, the delivery of medicines through food, and food safety.

Keywords: Biotechnology, Drug administration routes, Environment, Food safety, Food supply, Genetic engineering, Hunger, Nutrition

Annotation: The Council for Responsible Genetics (CRG) monitors and analyzes the social impact of the biotechnological industry nationwide and internationally. Members include scientists, trade unionists, bioethicists, environmentalists, public health experts, and other concerned citizens. The council raises issues for public debate, submits comments on pending regulations, provides speakers, and produces educational materials on various biotech issues. Publications include a bimonthly magazine, GeneWATCH. Since 1983, GeneWATCH has covered a broad spectrum of issues, from genetically engineered foods to biological weapons, genetic privacy and discrimination, reproductive technologies, and human cloning.

Keywords: Biotechnology, Public health, Ethics, Genetic engineering, Genetics, Legal issues

Annotation: The Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) is a research organization that provides grants in support of science education. Publications include a series of reports on basic biomedical research for the public and for use in schools. A publications list is available.

Keywords: Cystic fibrosis, Gene therapy, Genes Genetic engineering, Genetic testing, Genetics, Grant, Muscular dystrophy, Neurofibromatosis, Philanthropy, Research