Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 7 (7 total).

AdoptUSKids

Annotation: AdoptUSKids works to raise public awareness about the need for foster and adoptive families and supports states, territories, and Tribes in their efforts to find families for children in foster care, particularly the most challenging to place. AdoptUSKids offers a variety of resources, services, and tools to both families and child welfare professionals. One of its core services is to provide technical assistance and resources to states, territories, and Tribes through the National Resource Center for Diligent Recruitment at AdoptUSKids (NRCDR).

Keywords: Adoptive parents, Adoption, . Collaboration, Children, Foster care, Foster parents, Information sources, Public service announcements

Children Awaiting Parents

Annotation: Children Awaiting Parents (CAP) is a national, not-for-profit organization that recruits foster and adoptive families for special needs children who have been waiting the longest for permanent families. CAP serves older and minority children who may have mental, physical and/or emotional disabilities. Photos and narratives of waiting children are posted on the Web site and also provided in The CAP Book, a printed, national photolisting of adoptable children with special needs. The organization also provides a CAP Book CD, featuring national and state contact information, home study procedures, and adoption success stories. The Web site provides pre- and post-adoptive information for prospective parents, as well as registration and other placement assistance for caseworkers. CAP has initiated a program called Faith in Children, a special adoption recruitment campaign to reach out to the community through faith-based organizations and also served as a founding board member of Voice for Adoption, a coalition of 78 special needs adoption organizations, professionals and child welfare advocates addressing the needs of waiting children throughout the United States. In addition, CAP coordinates the Foster/Adoption Network-FAN, which recruits New York State foster and adoptive parents for children with special needs and is comprised of 18 public and private agencies in upstate New York.

Keywords: Information sources, Adoption, Adoptive parents, Affective disorders, Children with special health care needs, Family centered services, Foster care, Foster parents, Psychological needs, Recruitment

Evan B. Donaldson Adoption Institute

Annotation: The Evan B. Donaldson Adoption Institute, founded in 1996, is a national not-for-profit organization devoted to improving adoption policy and practice, improving the quality of information about adoption, and enhancing the understanding and perception of adoption. The institute conducts surveys, publishes reports and other publicattions, and provides a database of adoption literature and an e-mail newsletter.

Keywords: Adoption, Adopted children, Adoptive parents, Biological parents, Foster care

Foster Care and Adoption Resource Center

Annotation: The Foster Care and Adoption Resource Center (FCARC) provides information and resources for Wisconsin's prospective foster and adoptive families; public, tribal, and private agency foster care, child welfare and adoption staff; and youth currently or previously involved with the foster care system. To assist in providing and locating information, the FCARC provides a toll-free information line, e-mail contact, and comprehensive web-based resources.

Keywords: State agencies, Adoption, Child advocacy, Child welfare, Children, Foster care, Foster parents, Parent support services, Resource centers, Wisconsin

Healthy Foster Care America

Annotation: Healthy Foster Care America (HFCA) is an initiative of the American Academy of Pediatrics and its partners to improve the health and well-being outcomes of children and adolescents in foster care. Partners have included representatives from child welfare, family practice, social work, nursing, government, the legislative and judicial fields, child psychiatry and psychology, education, advocacy organizations, alumni, and families. HFCA partners encourage collaboration among the various disciplines working with children and adolescents in foster care in an effort to develop a collaborative action plan to improve the health and well-being of these children. The Web site provides information for professionals and families on health issues and needs, health care systems, data, policy statements, and adovcacy.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child care, Child health, Child protective services, Child welfare, Foster care, Foster children, Foster parents

National Foster Parent Association (NFPA)

Annotation: The National Foster Parent Association (NFPA) is a non-profit, volunteer organization that supports support foster parents in achieving safety, permanence and well-being for the children and youth in their care. NFPA promotes communication and cooperation among foster parents, foster parent associations, child care agencies and other child advocates; strives to improve the foster care system; encourages the recruitment and retention of foster parents; and provides information on current issues and events regarding foster care. In addition, NFPA provides training programs, technical assistance, education materials, and information and referral services.

Keywords: Advocacy, Foster children, Information dissemination, Foster care, Adolescent health, Child health, Educational materials, Foster parents, Recruitment, Referrals, Technical assistance, Training, Youth services

National Resource Center for Permanency and Family Connections, Fostering Connections

Annotation: Fostering Connections provides information on the Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act of 2008, Children's Bureau policy and guidance, and related resources and websites. Topics include adoption, education, health care, psychotropic and prescription medications, kinship/guardianship, emancipating/older youth, family connections grantees, tribal issues, siblings, and training. Fostering Connections is a component of the National Resource Center for Permanency and Family Connections.

Keywords: Adoption, Family centered services, Foster care, Foster children, Foster parents, Information dissemination, Resource centers

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.