Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 9 (9 total).

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Annotation: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) supports research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services. AHRQ supports the National Guideline Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines; the National Quality Measures Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets; the Patient Safety Network, a collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources; and the Effective Health Care Program, a collection of research centers working to provide evidence on health care interventions.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Safety, Clearinghouses, Clinical medicine, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Health disparities , Health policy, Medical technology, Patient care management, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, Research, Service delivery, Spanish language materials, State Children's Health Insurance Program, Training, Treatment outcomes

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) represents over 7,500 child and adolescent psychiatrists, physicians with at least five years of additional training beyond medical school in adult, child, and adolescent psychiatry. Academy members actively research, diagnose, and treat emotional, developmental, behavioral, and mental disorders affecting children, adolescents, and their families. The Academy provides public information, including a referral service that works with child advocacy groups, parents, teachers, and other medical and mental health professionals. Some family materials are available in Spanish, Arabic, Hebrew, Icelandic, Malaysian, Polish, Spanish, and Urdu. The academy publishes a catalog, a newsletter and a journal. The academy also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Psychiatry, Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Behavior, Child mental health, Children, Conferences, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health services, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Training

American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM)

Annotation: The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) is the professional organization for nurse-midwives in the United States. It works to improve services for mothers and babies in cooperation with other allied groups. The organization publishes the Journal of Nurse-Midwifery and Women's Health and provides a list of accredited, university-affiliated nurse-midwifery education programs. Information is available in Spanish, French, and Asian languages, and ACNM sponsors an annual conference. ACNM also provides a Web site for consumers called mymidwife.org.

Keywords: Nurse midwives, Childbirth, Conferences, Ethics, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Labor, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Standards

Guttmacher Institute ( )

Annotation: The Guttmacher Institute is a nonprofit corporation for research, policy analysis, and public education in the field of reproductive health. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. The institute publishes Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health, International Family Planning Perspectives, The Guttmacher Policy Review, fact sheets, briefing papers, and special reports. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages. The institute also has a list service, accessible through its Web site. The International Data Center allows users to build, download, and print custom tables, graphs, and maps using information from countries and regions.

Keywords: Pregnancy, Adolescent pregnancy, Data, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Information services, Listservs, Medical research, Online systems, Policy analysis, Prenatal care, Public education, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Hmong Health Education Network

Annotation: The Hmong Health Education Network provides access to health information for Hmong people and those who provide health, education, and social services to the Hmong community. The Network's bilingual Web site provides links to resources on preventive health care, cultural healing traditions, and family health topics such as asthma, mental health, and dental surgery. The project is funded by the National Library of Medicine and managed by the Northern Wisconsin Area Health Education Center (NAHEC). The network also provides an online discussion list.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Cultural competence, Cultural sensitivity, Foreign language materials, Health promotion, Hmong, Hmong people, Information sources, Listserves, Preventive health services, Publications

National Council on Folic Acid (NCFA)

Annotation: The National Council on Folic Acid (NCFA) is a partnership of overĀ 80 national organizations and associations, state folic acid councils, and government agencies whose mission is to improve health by promoting the benefits and consumption of folic acid. NCFA is managed by the National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition through a cooperative agreement with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The council distributes guidelines on folic acid consumption for women of childbearing age and promotes emerging and new science on folic acid (especially as it relates to maternal and child health). NCFA distributes monthly news alerts and provides electronic access to sources of information on folic acid (available in multiple languages).

Keywords: Nutrition, . Foreign language materials, Consumer education, Folic acid, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Neural tube defects, Preventive health services, Public health nutrition

National Health Resource Center on Domestic Violence

Annotation: The National Health Resource Center on Domestic Violence focuses on strengthening health care response to domestic violence. The Center provides resources, training materials, and technical assistance to health care professionals, domestic violence experts, survivors, and policy makers at all levels. The center provides an online toolkit for health care providers and DV advocates to prepare a clinical practice to address domestic and sexual violence, including screening instruments, sample scripts for providers, patient and provider educational resources. The Center also hosts national conferences and produces an e-bulletin, an online materials index, and a webinar series. Materials are available in Spanish, Asian, and other languages.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Domestic violence, Foreign language materials, Information services, Injury prevention, Spanish language materials, Women's health

PATH Vaccine Resource Library

Annotation: The PATH Vaccine Resource Library provides resources on immunization and vaccines, including materials for parents and adolescents, tools to assist in advocating for stronger immunization programs, training and clinical materials, publications focusing on service delivery issues, information on injection safety and immunization financing, and links to related organizations. Materials are available in some non-English languages, including Spanish and French.

Keywords: Immunization, Spanish language materials, Foreign language materials, International health, Vaccines

Youth Indicators, 2005: Trends in the Well-Being of American Youth

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.