Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) provides on-line global nutrition information. FNIC is one of several information centers located at the National Agricultural Library (NAL), part of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Agricultural Research Service (ARS). FNIC staff provide information on food, human nutrition, and food safety. FNIC's 1800+ links to nutrition information and databases can be accessed from the FNIC Web site. The organization also produces subject-specific bibliographies called Resource Lists that are available online at: http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/pubs_and_db.html. Services to consumers include inquiry responses, publications, reference information, and searchable databases. Some materials are available in Spanish and other languages.

Keywords: Nutrition, Adolescent pregnancy, Child nutrition, Food service, Food technology, Information services, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: The National Food Service Management Institute (NFSMI), part of the School of Applied Science at The University of Mississippi, is a federally-funded national center dedicated to applied research, education and training, and technical assistance for child nutrition programs. NFSMI offers onsite training seminars and online courses designed to support the professional development of child nutrition program and child care personnel at all levels of responsibility. The Institute also delivers free training resources that managers can use to train their staff. The Applied Research Division conducts comprehensive, needs-based studies that focus on areas that directly impact the success of child nutrition programs. NFSMI also operates a Help Desk that provides a direct link to experts who can answer a wide range of questions on all aspects of child nutrition program management.

Keywords: Child nutrition, Food safety, Food service

Annotation: The School Nutrition Association (NSA), formerly the American School Food Service Association, is a national, non-profit professional organization representing more than 55,000 members who provide meals to students across the country. The association and its members are dedicated to feeding children affordable, safe, and nutritious meals. The association distributes information on school food and nutrition programs and child nutrition legislation and seeks to encourage and promote the maintenance and improvement of school food and nutrition programs. NSA offers certification and credentialing programs; sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars; and publishes a variety of materials, including a monthly magazine, an e-newsletter, training materials, and an online research journal. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Nutrition, Certification, Child nutrition, Conferences, Group feeding, Nutrition programs, Online databases Professional societies, Publications, School food services, Spanish language materials

Annotation: Team Nutrition is an initiative of the USDA Food and Nutrition Service to support child nutrition programs through training and technical assistance for foodservice, nutrition education for children and their caregivers, and school and community support for healthy eating and physical activity. The initiative provides resources to schools and child care facilities participating in the federal child nutrition program including educational materials and a newsletter. The website contains a graphics library, information on local wellness policy and training grants, and other resources.

Keywords: Child care centers, Child nutrition programs, Communities, Federal programs, Food consumption, Food service, Grants, Nutrition education, Physical activity, School age children, Schools, Students, Technical assistance, Training