Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 11 (11 total).

A Heartbreaking Choice

Annotation: A Heartbreaking Choice provides resources and support for expectant parents who have received a diagnosis that their unborn child has a serious fetal anomaly or other live-threatening health problem that makes it unlikely that the baby will survive and thrive. For those who have made the decision to end their pregnancy when faced with such a grim diagnosis, this organization provides support groups, an online discussion forum, a confidential list service, an online memorial for grieving parents, personal stories, and feature articles to help these parents cope with their loss.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Support groups

Association for Recognizing the Life of Stillborns (ARLS)

Center for Loss in Multiple Birth (CLIMB, Inc.)

Annotation: The Center for Loss in Multiple Birth (CLIMB, Inc.) is an organization of parents who have experienced the death of one or both twins (or higher multiple births) during pregnancy, birth, infancy, or childhood. The Center provides services to individuals in the U.S., Canada, and abroad which include referrals; a quarterly newsletter; an online discussion forum; a parent contact list; samples of birth/memorial announcements; a library; publications; and assistance to twins clubs, loss groups, authors, and researchers. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, Chinese, and Russian. Training seminars are sponsored upon request.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Multiple births, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Centering Corporation

Annotation: The Centering Corporation provides grief literature, videotapes, workshops and referrals. The Centering Corporation offers literature through their publications catalog on a number of topics including premature infants, adoption, miscarriage, newborn and child death, and death of a parent. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also sponsors workshops and conferences, publishes a magazine, Grief Digest, and provides materials for children.

Keywords: Bereavement, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Pregnancy loss, Premature infants, Spontaneous abortion

Compassionate Friends (TCF)

Annotation: Compassionate Friends is a non-profit self-help organization that offers friendship and understanding to families who have experienced the death of a child of any age, from any cause. The group provides support to bereaved parents, grandparents, and siblings. Compassionate friends was founded in 1969; the first of 600 U.S. chapters were organized in 1972. The organization offers brochures & videos. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also publishes a catalog and a national magazine, and sponsors several regional meetings and a conference each year. Contact the national office for chapter information in your area.

Keywords: Child death, Support groups, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Connor Kirby Infant Memorial Foundation

Honored Babies

Annotation: Honored Babies is a support and resource organization for women whose babies have died, whether from miscarriage, ectopic pregnancy, pregnancy termination, stillbirth, neonatal death, or infant death. The Web site includes articles, poetry, and reflects from parents who have lost a child; a memorial page; links to online support groups and recommended reading; and a free downloadable brochure for support staff to provide to parents.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Infant mortality, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion, Support groups

International Stillbirth Alliance (ISA)

Annotation: The International Stillbirth Alliance (ISA) is a non-profit coalition of organizations dedicated to understanding the causes and prevention of stillbirth. The alliance works to reduce the risk of stillbirth and to enhance bereavement care of families who experience stillbirth through public awareness initiatives, community engagement, development and promotion of best clinical practice standards, and facilitating high quality collaborative research. The website contains news, information about events, publications, and other resources for families, health professionals, and researchers.

Keywords: Fetal death, Infant death, Stillbirth

Resolve Through Sharing Bereavement Services (RTS)

Annotation: Resolve Through Sharing (RTS), also operated with the name Bereavement Services, is a comprehensive approach to caring for families whose babies have died during pregnancy or shortly after birth. RTS provides workshops and training, videos, and other educational materials. A free catalog is available that explains the program's history, support materials, and bereavement education programs. Some materials are available in French and Spanish.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support (SHARE)

Annotation: Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support serves those whose lives are touched by the death of an infant through early pregnancy loss, stillbirth, or in the first few months of life. SHARE contributes information packets, correspondence, and support free of charge to bereaved parents. Additional services include training and conferences, support resources such as a bimonthly newsletter, a chat room, online catalog, and message boards. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Pregnancy loss, Ectopic pregnancy, Fetal death, Grief, Information services, Molar pregnancy, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Spontaneous abortion, Support groups

SIDS and Kids Australia

Annotation: SIDS and Kids, a nonprofit organization in Australia, is dedicated to saving the lives of babies and children during pregnancy, birth, infancy and childhood and supporting bereaved families. SIDS and Kids works to find answers for parents by funding and supporting vital research into stillbirth, SIDS and safe sleeping practices. Activities include world class research; evidence based education and bereavement support; and advocacy. Materials include a safe sleep app in Arabic, Chinese, English, Hindi, and Vietnamese and printed information in Arabic, Assyrian, Bosnian, Burmese, Cantonese (Chinese), Chin, Croatian, Dari, Dinka, English, Farsi, Greek, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Karen, Khmer, Korean, Laotian, Macedonian, Malay, Mandarin (Chinese), Maori, Nuer, Portuguese, Russian, Serbian, Sinhalese, Somali, Spanish, SudaneseArabic, Swahili, Thai, Tigrinya, Turkish, and Vietnamese.

Keywords: Advocacy, Australia, Fetal death, Grief, Bereavement counselors, Infant death, Infant mortality, Injury prevention, Research, SIDS

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.