Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Fetal Alcohol Syndrome Family Resource Institute (FAS*FRI) is a grassroots partnership of parents and other professionals working together to support families raising individuals disabled by prenatal alcohol exposure. The mission of FAS*FRI is to identify, understand, and care for individuals with FAS and to prevent future generations with this disability. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. FAS*FRI publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Fetal alcohol syndrome

Annotation: The National Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (NOFAS) is a non-profit public health advocacy organization that develops and implements innovative ideas in prevention, education, intervention, and public policy in the United States and internationally. It provides materials for educators, advocacy groups, expectant mothers, those living with fetal alcohol spectrum disorders, and health care professionals.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug use during pregnancy, Family support programs, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Teratogens, Teratology

Annotation: Prevention First, Inc. (PFI) provides current, comprehensive information and training on alcohol and other drug abuse prevention for Illinois residents. Through training, consultation, information services, and advocacy, PFI tries to promote health and wellness among individuals, organizations, and communities. Services to consumers include reference information and publications. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. PFI publishes a catalog and newsletter. The organization also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Substance abuse prevention, Advocacy, Alcoholism, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Health promotion, Illinois, Information services, Training

Annotation: The Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASD) Center for Excellence is a project of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) devoted to preventing and treating FASD. The center has congressional mandates to: 1) study innovative clinical interventions and service delivery improvement strategies; 2) identify communities with exemplary comprehensive systems of care; 3) provide technical assistance to communities without comprehensive systems of care; 4) provide training to individuals in various service systems dealing with persons and families affected by FASD; 5) develop innovative techniques to prevent alcohol use by women in childbearing years; and 6) perform other functions, to the extent authorized by the Secretary of Health and Human Services, after consideration of recommendations made by the National Task Force on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome. The Information Resource Center within the FASD Center for Excellence maintains an online database of selected journal articles, reports, books, and other materials to identify evidence-based information on FASD. The FASD Center also publishes special reports and provides public access (by appointment) to its Viewing Library located in Rockville, Maryland.

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Alcohol abuse, Disorders, Drug affected children, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Online databases, Preventive health services, Resource centers , Service delivery systems, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment services, Technical assistance, Teratology

Annotation: The Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders Center for Excellence (FASD CFE) of the U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration facilitates the development and improvement of behavioral health prevention and treatment systems in the United States by providing national leadership and facilitating collaboration in the field. The website provides resources on state systems, screening and intervention programs, native communities, education, and events.

Keywords: Federal agencies, Fetal alcohol syndrome, State initiatives

Annotation: The Fetal Alcohol and Drug Unit (FADU) is a research unit dedicated to the prevention, intervention and treatment of Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (FAS) and Fetal Alcohol Effects (FAE). The unit conducts research on fetal alcohol and drug effects across the life span; disseminates information on fetal alcohol and drug effects; provides training in human behavioral teratology; and provides consultation services for individuals of any age thought to be affected by prenatal exposure to alcohol. Links to FADU publications and other FAS/FAE resources are located on the Web site.

Keywords: Fetal alcohol syndrome, Alcohol abuse, Drug use during pregnancy, Fetal alcohol effects, Information sources, Maternal fetal exchange, Medical research, Preventive health services, Teratogens, Teratology, Training

Annotation: The Wisconsin Clearinghouse For Prevention Resources is an official information and materials resource for the state of Wisconsin that also serves schools, agencies, programs, community groups, and businesses nationwide. Its goal is to strengthen individuals, families, and communities. The Clearinghouse provides a wide range of educational materials and services to prevention specialists, counselors, and other professionals. Topics include alcohol and other drugs, curricula and teacher resources, high-risk youth and high-risk behaviors, resources for programs and professionals, tobacco and smoking, fetal alcohol syndrome, primary prevention and health promotion, mental health, and families and substance abuse prevention. Posters, publications and videotapes are available. Some materials are available in Spanish, plus a few items also available in Chinese, Vietnamese, Cambodian, and Korean. The organization publishes a quarterly newsletter.

Keywords: Alcoholic beverages, Audiovisual materials, Curricula, Educational materials, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Health promotion, High risk adolescents, Mental health, Recreational drug use, Self help clearinghouses, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Teratology, Tobacco, Wisconsin