Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (75 total).

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access)

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP)

Annotation: The Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP) supports state maternal and child health programs and provides national leadership on issues affecting women and children. AMCHP accomplishes its mission through the active participation of its members and partnerships with government agencies, families and advocates, health care purchasers and providers, academic and research professionals, and others at the national, state, and local levels. AMCHP tracks and analyzes emerging policy issues that impact family health and distributes the information to subscribers electronically via the AMCHP Legislative Alert. Issues areas include adolescent and school health; best practices; child health; data and assessment; family involvement; Medicaid, State Children's Health Insurance Program, and welfare; mental health; and women's and perinatal health. It also has a National Center for Health Reform Implementation.

Keywords: Maternal health, Advocacy, Block grants, CSHN programs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Federal MCH programs, Guidelines, Models, Professional societies, Public policies, State programs, Technical assistance, Title V

Center for Early Childhood Mental Health Consultation (CECMHC)

Annotation: The Center for Early Childhood Mental Health Consultation (CECMHC) was funded as an Innovation and Improvement Project by the Office of Head Start in October 2008. The 3-year grant brings together a group of university researchers to develop strategies to help Head Start programs build a strong mental health foundation for their children, families and staff. The site provides materials for Healthy Start staff and for families.

Keywords: Child mental health, Federal programs, Head Start, Parenting

U.S. Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP)

Annotation: The Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) under the U.S. Department of Agriculture develops the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, the Food Guide Pyramid, the Interactive Healthy Eating Index, Expenditures on Children by Families, the Cost of Food at Home, the Nutrient Content of the U.S. Food Supply, and the new ChooseMyPlate initiative. CNPP staff help to define and coordinate nutrition education policy within USDA and to translate nutrition research into information and materials for consumers; policymakers; and professionals in health, education, industry, and media. The Center publishes a journal, Family Economics and Nutrition Review, and distributes publications for health professionals and consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Center also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Conferences, Coordination, Dietary guidelines, Family economics, Federal agencies, Food consumption, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Information sources, Information sources, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Public policies, Public policy, Publications, Spanish language materials

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Office of Minority Health and Health Equity (CDC OMHHE)

Annotation: CDC;s Office of Minority Health and Health Equity (formerly the Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities) aims to accelerate CDC’s health impact in the U.S population and to eliminate health disparities for vulnerable populations as defined by race/ethnicity, socio-economic status, geography, gender, age, disability status, risk status related to sex and gender, and among other populations identified as at-risk for health disparities.

Keywords: Minority health, Federal agencies, Health policy, Health programs, Information services, Minority groups, Technical assistance

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS)

Annotation: The Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) is a surveillance project of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and state health departments. PRAMS collects state-specific, population-based data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy. Selected resources, which can be downloaded from the Web site, include reports on PRAMS and postpartum depression, PRAMS and unintended pregnancy, a list of publications that use multistate PRAMS data, and a list of states that use PRAMS data (along with links to lists of state publications using PRAMS data). Instructions on how to request PRAMS data are also provided on the Web site.

Keywords: Data, Data analysis, Data collection, Federal agencies, Federal programs, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Risk assessment, Statistics

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)

Annotation: The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is a consortia structure based on the agency's four key lines of business including (1) Medicare health plans operations, (2) financial management and fee for service operations, (3) Medicaid and children's health operations; and (4) quality improvement and survey and certification operations. Ten regional offices represent the agency in delivering key messages; putting into practice regulations, policy, and program guidance; and monitoring programs and evaluation of contractors/grantees. The website provides information on Medicare; Medicaid; the Children's Health Insurance Program; regulations and guidance; research, statistics, data, and systems; outreach and education; and tools. CMS was previously called the Health Care Financing Administration.

Keywords: Health care financing, Conferences, Data analysis, Diagnosis related groups, EPSDT, Federal agencies, Health insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, Program evaluation, Publications, Quality assurance, Spanish language materials, State agencies, State children's health insurance program, State programs, Statistics, Training, immunization

CPONDER

Annotation: CPONDER, CDC's PRAMS Online Data for Epidemiologic Research, provides access to data collected through the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System surveys. The web-based query system contains data that may be analyzed by state, by year, and by topic. Results are returned in the form of a table and graph that users can copy into a document or spreadsheet.

Keywords: Data analysis, Federal programs, Online systems, Pregnancy, Risk assessment, Statistics

Data2010: The Healthy People 2010 Database

Dental Professional Advisory Committee (DePAC)

Annotation: The Dental Professional Advisory Committee (DEPAC) provids advice and consultation to the Surgeon General of the U.S. Public Health Service (USPHS) on issues related to professional practices and personnel activities of Civil Service and Commissioned Corps dentists. The DEPAC provides similar assistance to the USPHS Chief Dental Officer and, upon request, to USPHS dental program directors.

Keywords: Advisory committees, Federal programs, Oral health, Public health dentistry

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is responsible for the federal government's health, welfare, and income security plans and programs. The department administers the Public Health Service (including the Health Resources and Services Administration, the National Institutes of Health, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) and the Health Care Financing Administration, among other agencies.

Keywords: Health policy, Federal agencies, Federal programs, Public health

Directory of Health and Human Services Data Resources

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) is responsible for the federal government's health, welfare, and income security plans and programs. The department administers the Public Health Service (including the Health Resources and Services Administration, the National Institutes of Health, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) and the Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services, among other agencies.

Keywords: Health policy, Data, Directories, Federal agencies, Federal programs, Online databases, Public health, Social security, Statistics

Every Child Matters Education Fund

Annotation: The Every Child Matters Education Fund, using public education campaigns, provides opportunities for focusing public attention on important children’s issues including the prevention of child abuse and neglect, improving the health of low-income children, and finding solutions in child care, early childhood education, after-school programs, and responsible decisions on federal budget and tax issues. The fund also conducts opinion polls, nationally and in specific states, about how voters view children's issues in the context of federal elections. The Web site provides data on children's issues in all 50 states, lists federal and state elected and appointed officials, and provides information on assistance programs in each state.

Keywords: Child advocacy, Federal programs, Public awareness campaigns, State programs

U.S. Food and Nutrition Service (FNS)

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Service (FNS), formerly called Food and Consumer Service, responds to inquiries and provides information and publications on federal maternal and child nutrition programs, including the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC), Child Nutrition Programs, Food Stamp Program, and Commodity Supplemental Food Program (CSFP). Some materials are available in Spanish. FNS publishes a newsletter, sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops, and offers a variety of resources and information online, including links to related nutrition programs and access to e-mail discussion groups.

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Commodity food supplemental programs, Conferences, Federal programs, Maternal nutrition programs, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, Supplemental food programs, Training, WIC program

Healthy Meals Resource System

Healthy Start EPIC Center

Annotation: The Healthy Start EPIC Center provides training, consultation, and technical resources to community-based agencies working to give every child a healthy start. Healthy Start grantees can request technical assistance and receive help achieving their program goals. The Healthy Start EPIC Center is operated by the National Institute for Children's Health Quality.

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Prevention programs, Resource centers

HealthyPeople.gov

Annotation: The Healthy People Consortium comprises a group of agencies and organizations committed to achieving the goals and objectives of Healthy People, a national framework for public health prevention priorities and actions. The website includes information and resources on the history and development of Healthy People, what’s new for Healthy People, and planning and evaluating interventions to achieve Healthy People objectives. Information about the consortium partners, webinars and events, and tools for professionals are also available.

Keywords: Health statistics, Data, Federal programs, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Public health

Heartland Regional Genetics and Newborn Screening Collaborative

Annotation: The Heartland Regional Genetics and Newborn Screening Collaborative -- formerly the Great Plains Regional Network -- encompasses the eight states of Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, and South Dakota, all working together to promote access to quality clinical genetic services, genetic testing, and public health programs for the citizens of the states within the Heartland collaborative. The collaborative works to improve access to expanded newborn screening, professional and public genetics literacy, equitable access to genetics evaluation, counseling and testing services, and cooperation between neighboring states within the region. The collaborative aims to facilitate and promote collaboration, assessment, planning, program development and evaluation, education, research and public policy activities related to these issues. The web site is designed to facilitate communication within the collaborative and to inform the collaborative of regional genetics resources, projects and events. The collaborative is one of seven Genetics and Newborn Screening Regional Collaborative Groups (RCs) designated by the Genetics Services Branch, Bureau of Maternal and Child Health, Health Resources and Services Administration in 2004.

Keywords: Genetics, Genetic services, Newborn infants, Neonatal screening, Regional genetics network, Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Public health, Federal programs

HRSA In Your State

U.S. Indian Health Service, Head Start Program

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) Head Start Program promotes health activities that are proven to improve health outcomes for American Indian and Alaska Native Early Head Start and Head Start grantees, centers, staff, children, and communities by reducing the risks of chronic disease. Specific goals include the following: (1) to support the Office of Head Start and the health objectives and performance standard requirements; (2) to assist grantees in the development of health programs for children, family, staff, and community; (3) to develop programs that promote health lifestyle activities; and (4) to assist Head Start grantees in developing local and community partnerships. The Web site features a section specifically devoted to Head Start providers and another to Head Start families; information about the program's mission and focus areas (health priorities, challenges, and trends); resources and links; and contacts. A search tool provides access to information about specific IHS Head Start programs.

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Early intervention, Federal programs, Head Start, Health promotion, Program development, Young children

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.