Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 18 (18 total).

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (H-CUP)

Annotation: The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) is a family of health care databases and related software tools and products developed through a federal-state-industry partnership and sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUP databases bring together the data collection efforts of state data organizations, hospital associations, private data organizations, and the federal government to create a national information resource of client-level health care data. HCUP includes a collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States, with all-payer, encounter-level information beginning in 1988. The databases enable research on a broad range of health policy issues, including cost and quality of health services, medical practice patterns, access to health care programs, and outcomes of treatments at the national, state, and local market levels. H-CUPnet, a free, online query system based on data from HCUP, provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department use.

Keywords: Databases, Federal initiatives, Health care costs, Health care utilization, Health policy, Hospitals, Public private partnerships, Research

Center for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation (Innovation Center)

Annotation: The Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation (Innovation Center), in partnership with the health care industry, the business community, and clients and their families, examines new care and payment models that improve and sustain the Medicare and Medicaid/Children's Health Insurance Programs for beneficiaries and the health care system at large. Website contents include news, events, and funding opportunities.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Diffusion of innovation, Federal grants, Federal initiatives, Health care financing, Medicaid, Medicare, Program improvement

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, DES Update

Annotation: CDC's DES Update is a national health education program funded by the U.S. Congress and developed in partnership with the National Cancer Institute (NCI) and many other organizations. The DES Update has been developed to provide the public and health care providers with the most current and accurate information about DES, including resources to help people learn about related health risks and find current research related to DES exposure.

Keywords: Diethylstilbestrol, Estrogens, Federal initiatives, Men's health, Pregnancy, Premature labor, Public awareness campaigns, Teratogens, Women's health

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Public Health Law Program (CDC PHLP)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Public Health Law Program (CDC PHLP) has these goals: to improve the understanding and use of law as a public health tool; to develop CDC’s capacity to apply law to achievement of its Health Protection Goals; and to develop the legal preparedness of the public health system to address all public health priorities. The program (1) develops practical, law-centered tools for practitioners and policy makers in all relevant sectors; (2) engages practitioners and policy makers in identifying priorities and in developing and applying legal tools; (3) addresses all four core elements of public health legal preparedness: laws and legal authorities; competencies; coordination across sectors and jurisdictions; and, scientific and best-practices information; (4) provides consultation to CDC programs and partners; and (5) establishes partnerships linking CDC and all partners active in public health law.

Keywords: Collaboration, Federal initiatives, Legal issues, Public health

DataFerrett (DataFerrett)

Annotation: DataFerrett (FERRETT stands for Federated Electronic Research, Review, Extraction, and Tabulation Tool) is a data analysis and extraction tool-with recoding capabilities-to customize federal, state, and local data. DataFerrett helps users locate and retrieve data regardless of where the data resides. Users can also develop and customize tables and select the results to create a graph or map for a visual depiction of the data. Data may also be saved to a "databasket " for reuse.

Keywords: Data analysis, Data sources, Federal initiatives

Health Indicators Warehouse (HIW)

Annotation: The Health Indicators Warehouse (HIW) is the data hub for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Community Health Data Initiative, providing a single source for national, state, and community health indicators. The HIW meets the needs of multiple population health initiatives and facilitates harmonization of indicators across initiatives. Content and functionalities include the ability to map, graph, and trend indicators; links from indicators to evidence-based interventions; web services and peer-to-peer business application capability; and supporting descriptive indicator definitions, methods, data sources, and other descriptive data needed to facilitate appropriate use of indicators.

Keywords: Community health, Data, Federal initiatives, Population surveillance

Healthy Meals Resource System

Let's Move

Annotation: The Let’s Move! campaign, started by First Lady Michelle Obama, has an ambitious national goal of solving the challenge of childhood obesity within a generation so that children born today will reach adulthood at a healthy weight. Let’s Move! will combat the epidemic of childhood obesity through a comprehensive approach that will engage every sector impacting the health of children and will provide schools, families and communities simple tools to help kids be more active, eat better, and get healthy.

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Child health, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Public awareness campaigns

National Center for Injury Prevention and Control (NCIPC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) began studying motor vehicle, home, and recreational injuries in the early 1970s and violence prevention in 1983. From these early activities grew a national program to reduce injury, disability, death, and costs associated with injuries outside the workplace. in June 1992, CDC established the National Center for Injury Prevention and Control (NCIPC). As the lead federal agency for injury prevention, NCIPC works closely with other federal agencies; national, state, and local organizations; state and local health departments; and research institutions. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. NCIPC publishes a newsletter, supports research, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Agricultural injuries, Bicycle helmets, Car seats, Data, Domestic violence, Federal initiatives, Gun violence, Head injuries, Household injuries, Injuries, School injuries, School violence, Sports injuries, Unintentional injuries, Violence

National Dental Practice-Based Research Network (NDPBRN)

Annotation: The National Dental Practice-Based Research Network (NDPBRN) provides an opportunity for oral health professionals to propose or participate in research studies that address day-to-day issues in oral health care. The NDPBRN's headquarters at the University of Alabama at Birmingham serves as the national administrative hub that leads and oversees six regional research sites in Rochester, NY; Gainesville, FL; Birmingham, AL; Minneapolis, MN: San Antonio, TX; and Portland, OR. The website provides regional contact information; study highlights; and news, announcements, and participant interviews.

Keywords: Dentistry, Federal initiatives, Information networks, Oral health, Research, Resources for professionals

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)

Annotation: The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) is the federal agency responsible for conducting research and making recommendations for the prevention of work-related injury and illness. NIOSH responds to inquiries from consumers for referrals and reference information and provides technical assistance for its research programs. Publications include an electronic newsletter, a science blog, and a variety of downloadable brochures and other documents (many materials are available in Spanish). The Institute also maintains a listserv and sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Keywords: Occupational safety and health, Agricultural injuries, Data, Environmental exposure, Federal initiatives, Injury prevention, Prenatal care, Public education, Regulations, Reproductive hazards, Reproductive health, Resources for professionals, Women's health, Workplace health promotion

National Partnership for Action to End Health Disparities (NPA)

U.S. Office of the Surgeon General

Annotation: The Office of the Surgeon General, part of the Department of Health and Human Services' Office of Public Health and Science, works to protect, advance, and improve the health of the United States through educating the public, advocating for effective disease prevention and health promotion programs and activities, and providing scientifically based health policy analysis and advice to the President and the Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS) on health, medical, and health system issues. The Surgeon General's Office also oversees the U.S. Public Health Service Commissioned Corps, public health professionals who respond to both current and long-term health needs of the country and are responsible for emergency preparedness and response activities in the event of a public health emergency. An online library provides access to information on the Healthy People initiative as well as links to reports, press releases, conference proceedings, and full text copies of the Surgeon General's speeches and statements.

Keywords: Federal agencies, Federal initiatives, Health education, Health objectives, , Health promotion, Information sources, Public Health Service

SaferProducts.gov

Annotation: Mandated by law as part of the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act, SaferProducts. gov provides an online database for consumers to submit reports of injury or risk from products or substances, to review safety reports alongside manufacturers’ comments about those reports, and to search for safety information. A video provides step-by-step instructions for filing reports. The Consumer Product Safety Commission reviews all reports, transmits qualifying reports to the manufacturer, and allows 10 days for response and comments. At that time (if all requirements are met), the report and the manufacturer's comments are posted on the site. The database is publicly available and searchable by product and/or by date.

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Injuries, Product safety

Secretary's Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality (SACIM)

Annotation: The Secretary’s Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality (SACIM) was formed in 1991 to advise the Secretary on Department of Health and Human Services’ programs that are directed at reducing infant mortality and improving the health status of pregnant women and infants. The Committee represents a public and private partnership at the highest level to provide guidance and to focus attention on the policies and resources required to address the reduction of infant mortality. The Committee provides advice on how best to coordinate the variety of federal, state, local and private programs and efforts that are designed to deal with the health and social problems impacting on infant mortality. SACIM advises the Secretary and the Administrator of the Health Resources and Services Administration on Department programs, including implementation of the Healthy Start Initiative and relevant objectives from Healthy People 2020: Keeping the Nation Healthy.

Keywords: Advisory committees, Federal initiatives, Infant mortality, Prevention programs

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee (IACC) has been established in accordance with the Combating Autism Act of 2006 (P.L. 109-416) to develop and annually update a strategic plan for the conduct of, and support for, autism spectrum disorder (ASD) research, including proposed budgetary requirements. Committee membership consists of these Federal agencies: Department of Health and Human Services (HHS),Administration for Children and Families (ACF); Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS); Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC); Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA); National Institutes of Health (NIH); Office on Disability; Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA); and the Department of Education (ED).

Keywords: Autism, Children with special health care needs, Federal agencies, Federal initiatives, Research, Strategic plans

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Home Visiting and Early Childhood Systems (MCHB DHVECS)

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders Center for Excellence (FASD CFE)

Annotation: The Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders Center for Excellence (FASD CFE) of the U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration facilitates the development and improvement of behavioral health prevention and treatment systems in the United States by providing national leadership and facilitating collaboration in the field. The website provides resources on state systems, screening and intervention programs, native communities, education, and events.

Keywords: Federal agencies, Fetal alcohol syndrome, State initiatives

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.