Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 14 (14 total).

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP)

Annotation: The Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP) supports state maternal and child health programs and provides national leadership on issues affecting women and children. AMCHP accomplishes its mission through the active participation of its members and partnerships with government agencies, families and advocates, health care purchasers and providers, academic and research professionals, and others at the national, state, and local levels. AMCHP tracks and analyzes emerging policy issues that impact family health and distributes the information to subscribers electronically via the AMCHP Legislative Alert. Issues areas include adolescent and school health; best practices; child health; data and assessment; family involvement; Medicaid, State Children's Health Insurance Program, and welfare; mental health; and women's and perinatal health. It also has a National Center for Health Reform Implementation.

Keywords: Maternal health, Advocacy, Block grants, CSHN programs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Federal MCH programs, Guidelines, Models, Professional societies, Public policies, State programs, Technical assistance, Title V

Healthy Start EPIC Center

Annotation: The Healthy Start EPIC Center provides training, consultation, and technical resources to community-based agencies working to give every child a healthy start. Healthy Start grantees can request technical assistance and receive help achieving their program goals. The Healthy Start EPIC Center is operated by the National Institute for Children's Health Quality.

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Prevention programs, Resource centers

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB)

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) is charged with primary responsibility for promoting and improving the health of our Nation's mothers and children. As part of the Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, MCHB administers Title V of the Social Security Act. MCHB's mission is to provide national leadership and to work in partnership with States, communities, public-private partners, and families to strengthen the maternal and child infrastructure, assure the availability and use of medical homes, and build knowledge and human resources in order to assure continued improvement in the health, safety, and well-being of the maternal and child health population. MCHB administers major programs including the Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant, the Healthy Start Initiative, the Emergency Medical Services for Children Program, Traumatic Brain Injury, and the Universal Newborn Hearing Screening Program. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. MCHB also provides a national hotline for prenatal care information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Brain injuries, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Emergency medical services for children, Federal agencies, Healthy Start, Hearing screening, Hotlines, Infant health, MCH programs, MCH services, Maternal health, Perinatal health, Title V programs

Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology and Statistics Program (MCHESP)

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology and Statistics Program (MCHESP) helps MCH practitioners on the federal, state, and local levels to improve their capacity to gather, analyze, and use data for planning and policymaking. The website provides information about the graduate student epidemiology program including internships for public health students, the DataSpeak web conference series, and supported projects. Additional resources include publishing technical assistance, publications (chartbooks and databooks), and research and data.

Keywords: Distance education, Epidemiology, Federal programs, Graduate education, MCH research, Planning, Policy development, Population surveillance, Public health infrastructure, Statistical data, Technical assistance

MCH Training and Research Resource Center (MCHTRRC)

Annotation: The MCH Training and Research Resource Center (MCHTRRC) provides technical support to the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) Division of MCH Workforce Development, and the MCHB Extramural Research Program. Activities of the MCHTRRC focus on: (1) strategic planning and partnerships development; (2) communications and information dissemination; and (3) performance measure reporting; and (4) data analysis and information management. It is funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Child health, Federal MCH programs, Maternal health, Research, Resource centers, Training programs

MCH Training Grantee Network

Annotation: The MCH Training Grantee Network provides technical support and services to grantees of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau's Training Program, including Web development, elearning, video project consultation, digital storytelling, consultation, and technical training and tutorials. It also maintains Web sites for these grantee groups: developmental behavioral pediatrics (DBP), leadership competencies, leadership and education in adolescent health (LEAH), nutrition, pediatric pulmonary centers (PPC), and workgroups.

Keywords: Leadership training, Federal MCH programs, MCH training

National Coordinating and Evaluation Center for the Sickle Cell Disease Newborn Screening Program (NCEC SCDAA )

Annotation: The National Coordinating and Evaluation Center for the Sickle Cell Disease Newborn Screening Program (NCEC SCDAA) works with grantees of the national Sickle Cell Disease and Newborn Screening Program, which is comprised of 17 funded community based sickle cell disease (SCD) projects and the NCEC SCDAA. The community–based SCD projects partner with state newborn screening programs, comprehensive sickle cell treatment centers, and health care professionals to provide support to infants screened positive for SCD and trait and their families. The projects work cooperatively and with theNCEC SCDAA to implement a model program of SCD carrier follow-up to include notification, extended family testing, counseling and education of affected individuals and families. The Sickle Cell Disease Newborn Screening Program is administered by the Division of Services for Children with Special Health Care Needs in Health Resources and Services Administration's (HRSA) Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, National MCH resource center, Resource centers, Sickle cell disease, Technical assistance

National Coordinating Center for the Regional Genetic and Newborn Screening Service Collaboratives

Annotation: The National Coordinating Center for the Genetics and Newborn Screening Regional Service Collaboratives (NCC) -- which was established along with seven Genetics and Newborn Screening Regional Collaborative Groups (RCs) in 2004 -- is part of the federal initiative to improve the health of children and their families by promoting the translation of genetic medicine into public health and health care services. The NCC provides infrastructure, coordination, technical assistance, and resources to the various RCs. The coordinating center also facilitates local projects and uses communities identified through the RCs to pilot test materials for policymakers, health professionals and families. Technical assistance is provided to the RCs in the areas of telemedicine, legal issues, and the assessment of state and federal legislation that may affect the delivery of genetic and newborn screening services. NCC's webcasts on topics such as financing of newborn screening and genetic services and the use of telegenetics to increase access to services are archived at www.mchcom.com. Other online resources include a page for parents and families; resources for professionals; links to glossaries and reference services; newsletters, reports, and other publications; and advocacy and support group information. The NCC is formed as a partnership with the Genetic Services Branch of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (HRSA) through a cooperative agreement with the American College of Medical Genetics (ACMG). The NCC is organized around a central office and an Advisory Committee which includes the seven RCs and representatives of national organizations that serve as resources to the NCC and the RCs.

Keywords: Genetics, Resource centers, Federal programs, Genetic services, Genetics education, National MCH resource center, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, Public health, Regional genetics networks

State Public Health Autism Resource Center (SPHARC)

Annotation: The State Public Health Autism Resource Center (SPHARC) is a resource center for state Title V agencies (supported through the MCH Block Grant) and others interested in improving systems for children, youth, and families with autism spectrum disorders and developmental disabilities. The SPHARC Web site provides state snapshots, promising practices, and other resources to support states as they develop and implement systems to improve the health and well-being of infants, children, and adolescents with autism and other special health care needs.

Keywords: Autism, Block grants, CSHN programs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Federal MCH programs, Maternal health, Models, National MCH resource center, Resource centers, State programs, Technical assistance, Title V

Title V Information System (TVIS)

Title V Information System, State MCH Applications and Contact Information

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Home Visiting and Early Childhood Systems (MCHB DHVECS)

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Research (MCHB DoR)

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Office of Epidemiology and Research (MCHB OER)

Annotation: The Office of Epidemiology and Research (OER) provides a central location for all maternal and child health (MCH) data and research. The office administers funds and other resources for grants, contracts, and cooperative agreements; provides leadership in assisting in the development of the National Survey on Child Health and the National Survey on Children with Special Health Needs; coordinates the Health Information Technology efforts of the Bureau; and disseminates information on data collection and analysis on women of childbearing age, infants, children, and children with special health care needs.

Keywords: Federal agencies, Health surveys, MCH training, Research methodology, Technical assistance, Title V programs

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.