Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (91 total).

5p– Society (Five P Minus Society)

Annotation: The 5p– Society is a parent support organization for families of children with 5p– Syndrome (also known as Cri-du-Chat and Cat Cry Syndrome). The society's mission is to encourage and facilitate communication among families having a child with 5p–Syndrome and to spread the awareness and education of the syndrome to these families and their service providers. The society works with leading genetics and medical researchers to further research efforts, and holds an annual national meeting. Publications are available to consumers. Publications include the 5p– Newsletter.

Keywords: Cri du chat syndrome, Family support services, Information services, Parent groups, Support groups, Medical research

U.S. Administration for Children and Families (ACF)

Annotation: The U.S. Administration for Children and Families (ACF) administers programs focusing on the well-being of children and the self-sufficiency of families. Some services at ACF include programs involving persons with developmental disabilities, child care, child welfare services, prevention and treatment of child abuse and neglect, runaway and homeless youth, Head Start, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), and child support enforcement issues. ACF also supports an Healthy Marriage Initiative which focuses on low-income married couples with children, the Fatherhood Initiative, and the Family Violence Prevention and Services Program. ACF provides consumers with referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. The agency also publishes newsletters, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child care, Child support, Domestic violence, Family centered care, Family economics, Family relations, Family support programs, Fathers, Head Start, Spanish language materials, Training materials, Young children

Al-Anon Family Groups (Al-Anon/Alateen)

Annotation: Al-Anon Family Groups (Al-Anon/Alateen) is a self-help fellowship that offers a program of recovery for the relatives and friends of alcoholics. Members share their experience, strength, and hope in order to solve their common problems. Al-Anon is not allied with any sect, denomination, political entity, organization, or institution. On behalf of the group it serves, the organization registers local meetings, sponsors training seminars, and develops education books, audiovisuals, booklets, and brochures about recovery from the effects of living with the disease of alcoholism. Some of these materials are available in Spanish and French. They also publish a newsletter and catalog.

Keywords: Alcoholism, Alcohol abuse, Educational materials, Family recovery, Substance abuse, Support groups

Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (AG Bell)

Annotation: The Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing is a membership-based information center on hearing loss, emphasizing the use of technology, speech, speechreading, residual hearing, and written and spoken language. AG Bell focuses specifically on children with hearing loss, providing ongoing support and advocacy for parents, professionals and other interested parties. AG Bell publishes books and brochures on the subject of hearing loss, auditory approaches in education, advocacy, employment, and advances in hearing technology. AG Bell also publishes a magazine, Volta Voices, and a scholarly journal, The Volta Review, and offers resource-referral services to individuals with questions about hearing loss and auditory approaches. AG Bell provides financial aid to qualifying applicants for mainstreamed, auditory-based education at the preschool, school-age, and university levels. Regional conferences and biennial conventions are held to educate both members and non-members on issues relating to hearing loss. AG Bell also provides governmental and education advocacy services through its state chapters, children's rights coordinators, and international affiliates.

Keywords: Deafness, Family support services, Hearing disorders, Lip reading training, Professional training

Alliance for Early Success

Annotation: The Alliance for Early Success (formerly the Birth to Five Policy Alliance) provides leadership, funding, and curates technical assistance to improve state policies that lead to better health and economic outcomes, especially for the most vulnerable young children. The alliance brings state, national, and funding partners together to improve state policies for children, from birth through age 8. The website provides information about partnerships and grants. Resources address three policy areas (health, family support, and learning) and three policy foundations (standards, screening and assessment, and accountability). The alliance also published a blog.

Keywords: Child development, Collaboration, Family support, Grants, Health policy, Leadership, Learning, Public private partnerships, Socioeconomic status

Alliance for Transforming the Lives of Children

Annotation: The Alliance for Transforming the Lives of Children (TLC) promotes optimal human development from preconception through early childhood, offering guidance about consciously conceiving, birthing, and nurturing children. The Alliance synthesyzes age-old wisdom and leading scientific research in its efforts to champion a compassionate culture, capable of enjoying, learning from, and responsively and lovingly interacting with children. TLC hosts an online discussion group, produces an electronic newsletter, and provides parent mentoring and educational services through its WarmLine family support program. The alliance also posts annoted reading lists and publications produced by affiliate organizations.

Keywords: , Mentors, Human development, Child care, Community participation, Family support programs, Infant care, Parent education, Parenting, Preconception care, Prenatal care

American SIDS Institute (ASI)

Annotation: The American SIDS Institute (ASI) is a national nonprofit health care organization dedicated to the prevention of sudden infant death and the promotion of infant health. ASI's mission is to: conduct research related to the cause of sudden infant death and its prevention; provide clinical services to assist pediatricians in managing high risk infants; provide education about prevention methods aimed at the public and medical community; and offer family support services including crises phone counseling, grief literature, and referrals.

Keywords: Consumer education, Family support, Infant health, Infant mortality, Prevention programs, Professional education, Research, SIDS

American Society for Deaf Children (ASDC)

Annotation: The American Society for Deaf Children (ASDC) provides information and support to parents and families of deaf or hearing-impaired children. The society offers assistance with educational or legal problems related to rearing a hearing-impaired child. Services are also provided to the public. Publications include a journal and a quarterly newsletter, The Endeavor. Some materials are available in Spanish, and the ASDC sponsors a biennial convention, a "First Year Free" program, and a listserv.

Keywords: Civil rights, Deafness, Disabilities, Family support services, Hearing disorders, Information services, Parent groups

Annie E. Casey Foundation (AECF)

Annotation: One of the Annie E. Casey Foundation's main objectives is to provide the best available data and analysis on critical issues affecting disadvantaged children and families, as well as the knowledge and tools that practitioners, policymakers, and citizens need to advance their efforts on behalf of children. For more than half a century the foundation has worked to improve the futures for kids at risk of poor outcomes. Their mission encompasses direct support services to vulnerable children and families, and in recent years has used major grant making to support demonstrations, evaluations, and advocacy aimed at helping large public systems, as well as nonprofit networks, to become more effective in their efforts on behalf of struggling families and at-risk kids.

Keywords: Child health, Data, Data analysis, Family support, Grants, High risk children, Low income groups, Poverty

Any Baby Can (ABC)

Annotation: Established in 1982, Any Baby Can (ABC) is a networking effort to link all services for high-risk babies and children with developmental delays in San Antonio and Austin, Texas, and in the surrounding region. The organization also provides support services for families in crisis situations and sponsors A Vision for Children Center advocacy and networking coalition as well as training seminars. Any Baby Can has been nationally recognized for innovative efforts that include the ABC Baby Helpline, Crisis Fund for Infants, and intergenerational Family Friends. Any Baby Can created the Texas Respite Resource Network, Children's Transplant Association of Texas, the Sudden Infant Death Syndrome Support Group of San Antonio, and the Tiny Trax program for very low birth weight babies. Publications include a quarterly newsletter, brochures, and a childhood development checklist. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: High risk infants, Advocacy, Early intervention, Family support, Infant stimulation, Support groups, Texas

ARCH National Respite Network and Resource Center (ARCH)

Annotation: ARCH National Respite Network and Resource Center assists and promotes the development of quality respite and crisis care programs in the United States. The ARCH National Respite Network includes the National Respite Locator, a service to help caregivers and professionals locate respite services in their community; the National Respite Coalition, a service that advocates for preserving and promoting respite in policy and programs at the national, state, and local levels; and the Respite Technical Assistance Center, which is funded by the U.S. Administration on Aging. ARCH National Respite Network and Resource Center is a project of the Chapel Hill Training-Outreach Project.

Keywords: Advocacy, Coalitions, Crisis intervention, Family support services, Information networks, Life course, Resource centers, Respite care, Special health care needs, Technical assistance

Association for Children with Down Syndrome (ACDS)

Annotation: The Association for Children with Down Syndrome (ACDS) Strives to provide an environment that helps infants, toddlers, and preschool children with Down syndrome to participate in mainstream school and community activities through its early intervention and pre-school service. In addition to conducting research, ACDS provides resources, referrals, and programs for children 5-21 with Down syndrome and helps educate the community through workshops, conferences, and publications (including the bimonthly ACDS Newsletter). A catalog of publications and audiovisual materials is available, and materials are provided in Spanish. ACDS also provides residential services to young adults with Down Syndrome and other developmental disabilities.

Keywords: Chromosome abnormalities, Down syndrome, Family support services, Geneticdisorders, Information services, Medical research, Mental retardation, Public awareness materials

Beach Center on Disability

Annotation: The Beach Center on Disability is a research and training center that focuses on families of people with disabilities. The center is funded in part by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research, Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, U.S. Department of Education, and by private endowments. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. The center publishes a catalog and newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. The center's Web site provides lists of groups and organizations in each state.

Keywords: Family support, Children, Developmental disabilities, Family resource centers, Technology dependence

Bethesda Communities

Annotation: Bethesda Lutheran Communities offers Christian education and residential rehabilitation services to people with mental retardation. It also offers short term and respite care, a fully accessible camp, day services, and case management. In addition to its main campus in Watertown, WI, Bethesda operates 37 community living facilities in ten states. Through its National Christian Resource Center, Bethesda offers free information and referral services nationwide, systems advocacy, resources for special religious education, staff training video modules, and workshops for religious and secular providers. Conferences and training seminars are sponsored as well. Publications include a catalog and newsletter. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Case management Religious organizations, Developmental disabilities, Family support, Mental retardation, Respite care

Birth Defect Research for Children (BDRC)

Annotation: Birth Defect Research for Children (BDRC), formerly the Association of Birth Defect Children (ABDC), disseminates information on birth defects, especially those that may be caused by environmental substances such as drugs, pesticides and other chemicals, and radiation. It also provides referrals and helps people with birth defects to cope with problems associated with physical malformation. The 501 (c) (3) organization sponsors a national parent matching program that links families of children with similar birth defects, and in 1993 it established a National Birth Defect Registry that collects information on birth defects, learning disabilities, cancers, and other childhood disabilities that may be related to environmental exposure of either parent during or before pregnancy. Publications include fact sheets on the most common categories of birth defects as well as environmental toxins that have been linked to birth defects.  A free monthly newsletter is sent out electronically.  Parents may subscribe on the BDRC web site.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Environmental exposures, Family support services, Information services

Build Initiative

Annotation: BUILD is a national initiative that helps state leaders prepare young children aged birth to five to succeed by helping their families access high quality early learning; family and parenting support; early intervention for children with special needs; and comprehensive health mental health and nutritional services. BUILD assists states in planning and implementing a comprehensive early childhood “system of systems” that crosses policy domains and helps ensure that families get the services they need. It was created in 2002 by the Early Childhood Funders Collaborative (ECFC), a consortium of private foundations.

Keywords: Child mental health, Early intervention, Families, Family support services, Infants, Young children, Special health care needs

California Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) Program

Annotation: The California Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) Program is dedicated to Sudden Infant Death support, awareness, and risk reduction. Information is provided on grief and bereavement, SIDS facts, and infant care practices for reducing the risk of SIDS. Information is available for SIDS professionals, SIDS Coordinators, and families. Numerous materials are available in Spanish, and occasionally in Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Tagalog, and VIetnamese. The program is under the direction of the California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Division.

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Consumer education materials, Family support, Infant death, Infant mortality, Parent support, SIDS, Spanish language materials

Cancer Care

Annotation: Cancer Care is a nonprofit organization that helps people with cancer and their families to cope with the disease. The organization provides psychological, social, and educational services and financial assistance for people in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut. Individual counseling, information, and referrals and group counseling and education programs are offered nationally through the Cancer Care Counseling Line (1 800 813-HOPE). Services are also offered online. Cancer Care also provides publications, including a newsletter, and sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops. Some materials are available in Spanish. All services are free of charge.

Keywords: Cancer, Family support services, Support groups, Financial support, New York, New jersey, Connecticut

Candlelighters Childhood Cancer Foundation (CCCF)

Annotation: The Candlelighters Childhood Cancer Foundation (CCCF) is an international network of parents of children with cancer, survivors of childhood cancer, and interested professionals. The foundation identifies patient and family needs so that medical and social systems can respond adequately, eases frustrations and fears through sharing of feelings and experiences, provides guidance in coping with the effects of the disease on the child and family, and exchanges information on research, treatment, medical institutions, and community resources. Other activities include an ombudsman program for help with legal issues related to employment, insurance, or second opinions. CCCF also sponsors conferences and workshops and maintains a listserv. Publications include books and a resource catalog. Publications for families include Know Before You Go; Educating the Child with Cancer; You are Not Alone; and a quarterly newsletter called Candlelighter's Quarterly.

Keywords: Cancer, Children, Family support services, Information services, Parent groups

Child Welfare Information Gateway (CWIG)

Annotation: The Child Welfare Information Gateway provides information services to child welfare and related professionals and the public as the clearinghouse for the Children’s Bureau, compiling, synthesizing, and disseminating resources to promote the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families. The Information Gateway provides access to publications, websites, and online databases covering a range of topics, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, foster care, adoption, and the content areas for which the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA) members provide support.

Keywords: Adopted children, Adoptive parents, Biological parents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children with special health care needs, Clearinghouses, Databases, Family violence, Information services, Information dissemination, Adoption, Injury prevention, Spanish language materials, Support groups

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.