Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 19 (19 total).

ARCH National Respite Network and Resource Center (ARCH)

Annotation: ARCH National Respite Network and Resource Center assists and promotes the development of quality respite and crisis care programs in the United States. The ARCH National Respite Network includes the National Respite Locator, a service to help caregivers and professionals locate respite services in their community; the National Respite Coalition, a service that advocates for preserving and promoting respite in policy and programs at the national, state, and local levels; and the Respite Technical Assistance Center, which is funded by the U.S. Administration on Aging. ARCH National Respite Network and Resource Center is a project of the Chapel Hill Training-Outreach Project.

Keywords: Advocacy, Coalitions, Crisis intervention, Family support services, Information networks, Life course, Resource centers, Respite care, Special health care needs, Technical assistance

Beach Center on Disability

Annotation: The Beach Center on Disability is a research and training center that focuses on families of people with disabilities. The center is funded in part by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research, Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, U.S. Department of Education, and by private endowments. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. The center publishes a catalog and newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. The center's Web site provides lists of groups and organizations in each state.

Keywords: Family support, Children, Developmental disabilities, Family resource centers, Technology dependence

Blue Star Families

Annotation: Blue Star Families is an organization by military families for military families aimed at supporting and empowering families, providing unflitered feedback to legislators, and helping non-profits connect the services they provide to military families. Founded in 2008, it has over 70 chapters on military bases and National Guard sites around the U.S. It has implemented a biennial Military Families Top Issues Survey. Its website provides blogs, media contacts, a resources list, and descriptions of programs, including Operation Appreciation, Books on Bases Smiles on Faces, Blue Star Museums (offering programs for military families), and other resources.

Keywords: Families, Family resource centers, Military

Center for Parent Information and Resources (CPIR)

Annotation: The Center for Parent Information and Resources (CPIR) serves as a central source of information and products for the community of Parent Training Information (PTI) Centers and the Community Parent Resource Centers (CPRCs) so that they can focus their efforts on serving families of children with disabilities. The Center also works to increase the coordination of parent training efforts throughout the network and to increase Parent Centers’ knowledge and capacity in specific domains. CPIR's online resource cover key topics, K-12 issues, early intervention/early childhood, and parent centers' 14 priorities. Users can customize their online searches by audience, format, language, and resource producer. Resources are available in English and Spanish. It is funded by the Office of Special Education Programs at the U.S. Department of Education. This center continues the work of the Technical Assistance ALLIANCE for Parent Centers.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Early intervention, Family centered services, Information sources, Parenting, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Special education

Exceptional Children's Assistance Center (ECAC)

Annotation: The Exceptional Children's Assistance Center (ECAC) is a private nonprofit parent organization committed to improving the lives and education of all children, with a special emphasis on children with disabilities. ECAC upholds the right of all individuals, from all backgrounds and cultures, to an appropriate education and other needed services. The center seeks to make that right a reality by providing information, education, outreach, and support to and for families with children across the state of North Carolina. Through its Parent Training and Information Center and the Family to Family Health Information Center, ECAC offers parent-to-parent support, information packets, a referral service, parent education workshops and webinars, a lending library, and other resources and services.

Keywords: Family resource centers

Family Support Network of North Carolina (FSN-NC)

Annotation: The mission of the Family Support Network of North Carolina (FSN-NC) is to enhance the lives of North Carolina's children who have special needs or are at risk by providing support and information to families, by promoting family support, and by encouraging collaboration among families and service providers in the design and delivery of services. The Central Directory of Resources (CDR) provides printed information about disabilities and disability-related issues, and referrals to service agencies, support groups and advocacy organizations at the local, state and national level. Printed information is available to callers in North Carolina, and some materials are available in Spanish. Local Family Support Network programs provide a variety of community-based services, including peer support, workshops, NICU programs, sibling activities, and outreach to foster families with children with special needs throughout North Carolina. Family Support Network of North Carolina publishes a summer camp directory for children with special health needs in North Carolina.

Keywords: Family resource centers, Family support services, Medically fragile children, North Carolina, Stress management

Family Voices

Annotation: Family Voices aims to achieve family-centered care for children and adolescents with special health care needs. Family Voices provides families with tools to make informed decisions, advocate for improved public and private policies, build partnerships with professionals, and serve as trusted health care resources. Family Voices provides technical assistance, training, and connections among Family-to-Family Health Information Centers and partnering organizations. The website features health information and resources including publications, news, projects, events, and advocacy efforts.

Keywords: Parent groups, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Consumer education, Family resource centers, Health insurance, Health policy, Legislation, Medicaid, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, State children's health insurance program, State programs

Family-to-Family Health Information Centers (F2F HICs)

Annotation: Family-to-Family Health Information Centers (F2F HICs) are family-staffed organizations that assist families of children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) and the professionals who serve them. F2F HICs provide support, information, resources, and training on health itopics such as health insurance availability; early screening and intervention; the medical home, appropriate transition services for youth; and leadership and decision-making capacity for all families. The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Maternal Child Health Bureau (MCHB) provides the primary funding support for the centers.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Family resource centers

FRIENDS National Resource Center for Community-Based Child Abuse Prevention (FRIENDS CBCAP)

Annotation: The FRIENDS National Resource Center for Community-Based Child Abuse Prevention (CBCAP) Programs provides training and technical assistance to federally funded CBCAP Programs. The Center assists in building networks, collecting data, promoting stakeholder involvement, and providing access to resources. The Web site provides access to online learning tools, print materials, a listserv, weblinks, and information on upcoming meetings and events. The Center is a participant in the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA).

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, Community programs, Family centered services, Family resource centers, Family support programs, Parent support services, Prevention programs, State programs

Georgetown University, Institute for Reproductive Health (IRH)

Annotation: The Institute for Reproductive Health, formerly the Institute for International Studies in Natural Family Planning, located at Georgetown University, conducts research and provides technical assistance on improving access to natural methods and expanding family planning options for women and couples worldwide. The Institute's work focuses on developing simple new natural methods, providing technical assistance to strengthen service provision, developing appropriate training programs and teaching aids, conducting clinical and operations research, and collaborating with international organizations. The Institute has developed the "Standard Days Method" (SDM) - a natural method of family planning developed for women with menstrual cycles between 26 and 32 days (described in the results of a clinical trial published in the May 2003 issue of the journal Contraception). The Institute provides referrals and maintains an online resource library. Some materials are available in French and Spanish.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Family planning, Family planning, Family planning education, Information services, Medical research, Natural family planning, Resource centers

Matrix Parent Network and Resource Center

Annotation: The Matrix Parent Network and Resource is a nonprofit organization founded in 1983 to provide training and information to parents of infants, toddlers, children, and youth with all disabilities – physical, cognitive, emotional and learning. Matrix provides support, advice, information and referrals to families of children with special needs from birth through age 26 in the California counties of Marin, Napa, Sonoma, and Solano. The network also provides online information by topic, print and electronic newsletters, and resources guides for online users. Matrix also serves as the Regional Parent Technical Assistance Center for Region VI, providing assistance to Parent Centers in nine western states and territories to ensure they have the information and training needed to provide quality services to families in their areas.

Keywords: Family resource centers

National Military Family Association (NMFA)

Annotation: The National Military Family Association (NMFA) advocates for improvements in the quality of military family life. The association works to educate military families concerning their rights, benefits, and services and to promote and protect the interest of military families by influencing the development and implementation of legislation and policies affecting them. NMFA produces a variety of publications including newsletters, fact sheets, news updates, position papers, and toolkits for children and youth in military families, and communities that support them.

Keywords: Families, Family resource centers, Military

National Resource Center for Family Centered Practice (NRC/FCP)

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Family Centered Practice (NRC/FCP) works to promote culturally responsive family centered services through research and evaluation, training and technical assistance, and information dissemination. The Research and Evaluation Division works with state and local agencies to design evaluations, identify outcome measures, and conduct evaluations of family centered programs. Training is developed in partnership with agency staff and is based on assessment of the agency's needs and desired outcomes. The center provides technical assistance in the areas of program/policy development, community involvement and collaboration, cultural competence, and evaluation. Publications include an annual serial, Prevention Report which describes new practice approaches and research findings and reviews new books and materials.

Keywords: Child health, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, Families, Family centered services, Family support, Information services, Resource centers

National Resource Center for Permanency and Family Connections, Fostering Connections

Annotation: Fostering Connections provides information on the Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act of 2008, Children's Bureau policy and guidance, and related resources and websites. Topics include adoption, education, health care, psychotropic and prescription medications, kinship/guardianship, emancipating/older youth, family connections grantees, tribal issues, siblings, and training. Fostering Connections is a component of the National Resource Center for Permanency and Family Connections.

Keywords: Adoption, Family centered services, Foster care, Foster children, Foster parents, Information dissemination, Resource centers

Ohio Coalition for the Education of Children with Disabilities (OCECD)

Annotation: The Ohio Coalition for the Education of Children with Disabilities (OCECD) is a statewide, nonprofit organization that serves families of infants, toddlers, children, and youth with disabilities in Ohio, and the agencies who provide services to them. The coalition's mission is to ensure that every Ohio child with special needs receives a free, appropriate, public education in the least restrictive environment to enable that child to reach his/her highest potential. Programs are designed to help parents become informed and effective representatives for their children in all educational settings. PACER's Family-to-Family Health Information Center provides a single source of information, including resources and support, for families whose children have disabilities and complex health care needs. The coalition provides programs for Native American, African American, Hispanic/Latino, Somali and Southeast Asian communities, and many publications have been translated into Hmong, Somali and Spanish. Other programs focus on grandparents, housing, and bullying prevention. Through the Technical Assistance ALLIANCE for Parent Centers, PACER offers consultation and technical assistance to the over 100 parent centers across the nation funded under the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).

Keywords: Special education, Children with special health care needs, Early Intervention, Education programs, Family resource centers, Nuvee, Ohio, Parenting, Public policies, Support groups

PACER Center

Annotation: The PACER Center is a parent training and information center for families of children and youth with all disabilities from birth through 21 years old. Located in Minneapolis, PACER provides information, support, workshops, and referrals to families and professionals in Minnesota and across the country. The organization sponsors conferences, produces a variety of publications (with some materials available in Spanish and Asian languages), and develops and develops specialized websites. PACER’s National Bullying Prevention Center provides resources designed to benefit all students, including those with disabilities.

Keywords: Assistive devices, Affective disorders, Behavior disorders, Children, Disabilities, Family resource centers, Mainstreaming, Parent education, Parenting, Parents, Special education, Supported employment, Training, Transitions, Young children

Parent Information Center of Delaware

Annotation: The Parent Information Center of Delaware serves as the northeast regional center for the Technical Assistance Alliance for Parent Centers. It serves Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands. Regional offices provide technical assistance, conduct an annual conference for parent center staff, and facilitate Individualized Technical Assistance Agreements (ITAGS).

Keywords: Family resource centers

Parents Helping Parents (PHP)

Annotation: Parents Helping Parents (PHP) is a nonprofit, family resource center that benefits children with special needs. This includes children of all ages (birth through life) and all backgrounds who have a need for special services due to any special need, including but not limited to illness, cancer, accidents, birth defects, neurological conditions, premature birth, learning or physical disabilities, mental health issues, and attention deficit (hyperactivity) disorder. PHP's mission is to help children with special needs receive the resources, love, hope, respect, health care, education, and other services they need to reach their full potential by providing them with strong families, dedicated professionals, and responsive systems to serve them. PHP provides assistive technology services through its iTech Center, hosts an online resource directory, and maintains the PHP Community Disability Library, which includes an online catalog.

Keywords: Disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Family resource centers, Health educaton, Learning disabilities, Mental disorders, Parent groups, Parents, Siblings, Spanish language materials, Support groups

University of Maryland School of Medicine, Center for Infant and Child Loss

Annotation: The Center for Infant and Child Loss assists Maryland families as they learn to live with the loss of their child and to have hope for the future. The Center's programs reach out to bereaved families and the community and foster hope by offering public education, health professional training, and instruction for emergency responders and others who may provide support. Each of the Center's four programs is designed to meet individual, family, and community needs. For those families who do experience the sudden death of an infant or child, the Center makes immediate contact to give them available information about the cause of death and support in their grief. The Center produces a newsletter titled Insights.

Keywords: Infant death, Bereavement counselors, Child death, Community outreach, Families, Family centered services, Family resource centers, Family support programs, Maryland, Professional training, Public education, SIDS, State organizations, State programs

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.