Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The U.S. Administration for Children and Families (ACF) administers programs focusing on the well-being of children and the self-sufficiency of families. Some services at ACF include programs involving persons with developmental disabilities, child care, child welfare services, prevention and treatment of child abuse and neglect, runaway and homeless youth, Head Start, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), and child support enforcement issues. ACF also supports an Healthy Marriage Initiative which focuses on low-income married couples with children, the Fatherhood Initiative, and the Family Violence Prevention and Services Program. ACF provides consumers with referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. The agency also publishes newsletters, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child care, Child support, Domestic violence, Family centered care, Family economics, Family relations, Family support programs, Fathers, Head Start, Spanish language materials, Training materials, Young children

Annotation: Attendance Works is a national organization dedicated to improving policy, practice, and research around school attendance. The website offers materials, research, and success stories about reducing chronic absence. Attendance Works also offers technical assistance to school districts and communities.

Keywords: Family school relations, Policy development, Research, School attendance, School districts, Schools, Technical assistance

Annotation: Child Trends is a nonprofit research organization that works to improve the lives and prospects of children and youth through high-quality research. Clients include researchers, policymakers, funders, and practitioners. Services include high-level analyses and helping organizations make their direct services more effective. Resources include indicators of children's well-being, a searchable database of evaluated programs serving children and youth and research based on those evaluations, and a national knowledge center providing insight on U.S. Latino children and families. Child Trends also hosts a newsroom and blog.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Child health, Community programs, Data analysis, Data collection, Family relations, Health statistics, Information sources, Model programs, Program descriptions, Research, Statistical analysis

Annotation: The Children's Aid Society (CAS) Carrera Adolescent Sexuality and Pregnancy Prevention Program (developed under the direction of the Bernice and Milton Stern National Adolescent Sexuality Training Center) serves as a primary pregnancy prevention model that uses a holistic aproach to help adolescents develop personal goals while increasing their sexual literacy and knowledge about the consequences of sexual activity. The program, which has been replicated across in states across the country, emphasizes the importance of education and employment. The Web site provides links to additional resources on sexuality education and adolescentr pregnancy prevention.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Family relations, Parent education, Sexuality education

Annotation: Founded in 1993, the Collaborative Family Healthcare Coalition (CFHcC) functions as a communication network and information clearinghouse for the healthcare professionals who are its members. Resources include an annual conference, maintenance of Web site databases and listings, and the publishing of a quarterly newsletter, "Working Together."

Keywords: Family centered services, Collaboration, Families, Health personnel, Physician patient relations

Annotation: CYFERnet is a national network of land grant university faculty and county extension educators working to support community-based educational programs for children, youth, parents and families. CYFERnet is funded as a joint project of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Institute for Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and the Cooperative Extension System. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Community based services, Child development, Educational programs, Family relations, Government programs, MCH programs, Parenting skills, Youth development

Annotation: The Federation for Children with Special Needs (FCSN) is a nonprofit organization that provides information, support, and assistance to parents of children with disabilities, their professional partners, and their communities.

Keywords: Parent professional relations, Advocacy, Agent Orange, Children with special health care needs, Family support, Information services, Parent education, Young children

Annotation: The National Center on Fathers and Families (NCOFF) is an interdisciplinary policy research center which works to expand the knowledge base on father involvement and family development, strengthen practice, and contribute to the advancement of policy through research, practice, and policy analysis. NCOFF bases its work on seven core areas that affect father involvement: joblessness, father presence, father's expression of care, importance of co-parenting, transition from biological to committed parent, intergenerational learning, and systemic barriers. Research and information on each topic is accessible online through the FatherLit Research Database. Publications include full-text briefs, literature reviews, working papers, and a state policy series. The center appears to have gone dormant in 2001, but materials are still posted to the Web site.

Keywords: Family relations, Father child relations, Fathers, Online databases, Parental rights, Program descriptions, Publications, Research reviews

Annotation: The National Council on Family Relations (NCFR) is a nonprofit organization of professionals in education, social work, counseling, psychology, sociology, psychotherapy, home economics, anthropology, and health. It provides information on cross-cultural families, family violence, adolescent issues, working families, and other related concerns, and it sponsors a national program to certify family life educators. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. The organization's publications include Family Relations, Journal of Marriage and Family, the NCFR Report, and Zippy News (weekly updates sent to e-mail subsribers). A publications and products catalog is available. NCFR also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Child health, Family life education, Family relations, Family support services, Family violence

Annotation: The National Family Preservation Network (NFPN) serves as a national voice for the preservation of families, through initiatives in the areas of family preservation, reunification, and father-involvement. NFPN offers research-based tools, training resources, and technical assistance to public and private child- and family-serving agencies.

Keywords: Child protective services, Child welfare, Families, Family centered services, Family preservation, Family support services, Father child relations, Fathers

Annotation: The National Partnership for Community Leadership (NPCL), formerly known as the National Center for Strategic Nonprofit Planning and Community Leadership, is a nonprofit organization created for charitable and educational purposes. The organizations works to strengthen community leadership through family and neighborhood empowerment and to improve the governance and administration of nonprofit, tax-exempt organizations. NPCL offers an array of services to community-based organizations, including guidance on starting nonprofit organizations, financial and program management services, outreach and service delivery, administrative support, and leadership development. The organization has developed the Partners for Fragile Families program, which is a national initiative working at the federal, state, and local levels to help fathers overcome poverty and build stronger links to their children and their children's mothers.

Keywords: Strategic plans, Community programs, Family support programs, Father child relations, Fathers, Initiatives, Leadership training

Annotation: The National PTA is a nonprofit association of parents, educators, and students whose mission is to advocate for children in the schools, the community, and before governing bodies, and to encourage parent and public involvement in the public schools. The organization sponsors Building Successful Partnerships, a parent involvement initiative which focuses on increasing the level of awareness and the implementation of the National Standards for Parent/Family Involvement Program in schools. The National PTA also provides information on parenting techniques and activities for promoting family interaction. Online information is provided on legislative issues affecting children and on local PTA activities throughout the country. The National PTA sponsors an annual conference.

Keywords: Child advocacy, Family school relations, Parent education programs, Parent participation, Teachers