Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: CHOICE is a community-based organization dedicated to increasing awareness of and access to sexual health services, especially among underserved populations who traditionally experience barriers to care. CHOICE operates five bi-lingual (Spanish-English) hotlines and programs of community education and outreach. The hotlines include: the CHOICE Hotline for general reproductive and women's health information, serving the five-county Philadelphia area; the Pennsylvania Department of Public Health AIDS Fact Line for information about HIV/AIDS related issues which serves the entire state; the Children's Health Line which helps families obtain free or low cost health care and insurance coverage for their children; the CHOICE Teen Line, which provides sexual health counseling and education to young callers; and the Blueprint for a Safer Philadelphia Community Hotline that is part of a local effort to reduce youth homicides through a public health model. CHOICE is on the list of instructional resources recommended and approved by the Philadelphia School District to provide sexual health education in the City's public schools. CHOICE is currently active in 180 schools, after-school programs, community sites, hospitals, and churches. CHOICE offers online resources in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Gynecology, AIDS, Advocacy, Advocacy, Child care, Children, Family planning, HIV, Health education, Health insurance programs, Hotlines, Information services, Maternal care, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Annotation: The Developing Families Center (DFC) is a collaboration between three separate nonprofit organizations: the Family Health & Birth Center, The Healthy Babies Project, and the United Planning Organization Early Childhood Development Center to provide one stop, comprehensive health, child development and social services and supports to childbearing and childrearing families in Wards 5 and 6 in Washington, DC.

Keywords: Community programs, District of Columbia, Families, Family planning: Child development, Pregnancy

Annotation: The Links Foundation is a nonprofit organization operated exclusively for charitable and educational purposes. The Foundation is empowered to design support and conduct educational activities useful to individuals, groups and communities. The Foundation also provides services to youth which are directed toward upgrading both their academic and technical skills, charitable services to senior citizens, and supporting the defense of individual and group human and civil rights. The Links Foundation also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Adolescents, Blacks, Family planning programs, Minority groups, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: The National Wraparound Initiative (NWI) is a collaborative effort that promotes the implementation of high quality wraparound (a team-based, holistic approach to service and support planning for children, youth, and their families) . NWI seeks to accomplish this work through the creation of a learning and sharing community that includes a range of stakeholders (caregivers, educators, mental health professionals, etc.) with a high level of expertise in Wraparound. NWI provides conceptional background materials, implementation and fidelity tools, and handbooks for team participants.

Keywords: Collaboration, Child health programs, Community based services, Family support services, Holistic health, Program planning, Youth services

Annotation: The Population Resource Center (PRC) is a nonprofit organization, founded in 1975, which serves as a resource for policymakers in government, business and the not-for-profit sector on the relationship of demographic trends to socio-economic, political, and environmental issues. The center provides briefings, discussions, presentations, and publications offered by experts in the fields of demographic research, population, international affairs, economic development, reproductive health, family planning, and the environment. The organization publishes a quarterly newsletter, PRC Focus, and an annual report.

Keywords: Demography, Economics, Educational programs, Environment, Family planning, Reproductive health

Annotation: Power to Decide, previously the National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unpllanned Pregnancy (NCPTUP), founded in 1996 as the National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization which seeks to improve the well-being of children, youth, and families through reducing the rate of adolescent pregnancy by one third by the year 2005. In 2008, the mission was expanded to include unplanned pregnancies among 20-somethings. Resources for professionals include fact sheets, statistical compilations, journal articles, conference proceedings, and individual state data on adolescent pregnancy and adolescent pregnancy prevention. Services to consumers include publications addressed to parents, adolescents, and faith communities. Press releases are also provided to the media. The campaign has a resource bureau that fills requests for speakers, consultants, key contacts in each state, publications, and other resources; some materials are available in Spanish. The name was changed in December 2017.

Keywords: Prevention programs, Abstinence, Adolescent pregnancy, Contraception, Family planning, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, Statistics, Young adults

Annotation: State Family Planning Administrators (SFPA), a professional association of administrators of publicly subsidized state-level family planning programs, provides training for its members and for service delivery staff. Past projects have addressed preconceptional health care, maternal substance use, sexually transmitted disease services, and the impact of managed care on family planning. SFPA provides a forum to exchange ideas and strategies which improve services and promote policies which foster quality family planning as an essential component of health care for all. The association also sponsors a national conference for state administrators and their staff.

Keywords: Family planning, Healthy Start, Reproduction, Reproductive health, State programs, Women', s health